- Directory
- United Kingdom
- Nium Fintech Limited
United Kingdom · Payments & e-money
Nium Fintech Limited
Trading asNium · Instarem
Nium Fintech Limited is a private limited company incorporated in England and Wales. The FCA authorises it as an electronic money institution under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011, reference 901024. It is a wholly owned subsidiary of Nium Pte. Ltd. of Singapore and provides the Nium group's services in the United Kingdom. It offers multi-currency accounts, cross-border payouts, FX and card issuing to businesses, mostly through platforms that integrate its services. It was formerly named Instarem Limited and also trades as Instarem.
Licences and registrations
Held by Nium Fintech Limited (LEI 254900K4204VHFEGSW95). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.
| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FCA Financial Services Register - E-Money InstitutionsFCA | Authorised E-Money InstitutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution | 901024 | United Kingdom | Active | 2020-08-18 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
Trading names on the register: Nium (FCA-EMI), Instarem (FCA-EMI)
- Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
- Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.
Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Ownership
Group subsidiary
100% Nium Pte. Ltd.
Firm type
FX and business payments
Trades as Nium
- Ownership
- According to its 2024 accounts, Nium Pte. Ltd. of Singapore owns 100% of the firm and is both its immediate and ultimate parent.
- Direct parent
- Nium Pte. Ltd., Singapore 100%
- Head office
- Ground Floor, 52-54 Gracechurch Street, EC3V 0EH London, United Kingdom
- Company register
- Companies House 09039850
- Incorporated
- 14 May 2014
- Founders
- Prajit Nanu · Michael Bermingham
- Former name
- INSTAREM LIMITED
Online
- Websites & references
- nium.com ↗
docs.nium.com ↗ developer documentation (group)
instarem.com ↗ Instarem brand site (group)
Wikipedia ↗ group article - Official social accounts
- LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · YouTube ↗
Sources · 15 pages consulted
- register.fca.org.uk/s/firm?id=0010X00004cbzk3QAA
- find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/09039850/officers
- find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/09039850/persons-with-significant-control
- find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/09039850/filing-history
- find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/09039850/filing-history/MzQ4Njg1NTc1N2FkaXF6a2N4/document?format=xhtml&download=1
- nium.com/
- nium.com/licenses
- nium.com/legal
- nium.com/legal/end-customer-terms
- nium.com/about-us
- instarem.com/licenses/
- nium.com/newsroom/nium-raises-us50-million-in-series-e-round-to-expand-real-time-payments-global-i
- prnewswire.com/news-releases/nium-acquires-cypher-expanding-its-fiat-to-on-chain-money-movement-infrastr
- fintechfutures.com/m-a/nium-acquires-cypher
- en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nium
Authorisation
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Operates under
- Its own licences
The FCA authorises the firm as an electronic money institution under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011, reference 901024, to issue e-money and provide payment services. Its terms state it is also authorised to issue payment cards in the UK as a member of the applicable card networks.
| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) United Kingdom | Authorised Electronic Money Institution | 901024 | In its own name | Active | register.fca.org.uk ↗ |
Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.
Partners and safeguarding
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Safeguarding
- Segregated safeguarding accountsAccording to its 2024 accounts, the firm holds customer funds in designated segregated bank accounts under its FCA safeguarding obligations.
- Payment schemes and card networks
- Visa Access not stated nium.com ↗
Mastercard Access not stated nium.com ↗
Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.
Products and markets
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
The firm provides e-money accounts, domestic and cross-border payments, FX and card issuing in the UK, mainly to businesses using third-party platforms that integrate Nium's services.
The firm provides the Nium group's services in the United Kingdom under its FCA authorisation. Group affiliates serve the EEA and other markets under their own licences.
- Payment volume
- USD 84bnpayments processed over the last 12 months (group)
- Sells to
- Platforms and marketplaces · Enterprises · Financial institutions · Small businesses
- Serves customers in
- United Kingdom
- Latest funding round
- Series E · USD 50m Jun 2024
Leadership
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Executive
- Spencer James Douglas Hanlon Director; Chief Operating Officer (Nium group)
- Executive
- Anupam Pahuja Director; Chief Business Officer (Nium group)
- Compliance / MLRO
- Amaresh Mohan Chief Risk and Compliance Officer (Nium group)
- Chief executive
- Prajit Nanu Founder and CEO (Nium group)
- Chief financial officer
- Andre Mancl Chief Financial Officer (Nium group)
Recent events
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
-
Merger / acquisition
The Nium group acquired Cypher, a crypto-native non-custodial wallet and card issuing company, on undisclosed terms.
prnewswire.com ↗ -
Leadership
The Nium group appointed Sekhar Cidambi as CTO, Amaresh Mohan as Chief Risk and Compliance Officer and Danielle Gotkis as CMO.
fintechfutures.com ↗ -
Other
The firm moved its registered office to Ground Floor, 52-54 Gracechurch Street, London EC3V 0EH on 1 December 2025.
find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗ -
Other
The firm allotted new shares on 23 October 2025, raising its issued share capital to GBP 25,321,927.
find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗ -
Leadership
Anupam Pahuja became a director of the firm on 27 June 2025, the day Prajit Nanu ceased to be a director.
find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗ -
Leadership
Pratik Gandhi ceased to be a director of the firm on 31 October 2024.
find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗ -
Funding
Nium Pte. Ltd. raised USD 50 million in a Series E round at a post-money valuation of USD 1.4 billion.
nium.com ↗
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
- Licence no. · FCA-EMI
- 901024
- BIC
- Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
- How the LEI was matched
- Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives
- Elucidate firm ID
- e3a36058fae6
Profile
- Type
- Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
- Regulation
- Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
- Main licence class
- E-Money / Stored Value Institution
- Activities
- Payment services
- E-money / stored value
- Licensed in
- United Kingdom · Europe & Central Asia
- First registered
- 2020-08-18
- Website
- www.nium.com ↗
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
- Direct parent
- Nium Pte. Ltd. · Singapore2549001M1QCD7NV2FL63 ↗
The Nium Pte. Ltd. group has 6 institutions in the directory, in 6 countries: 2 hold a BIC and 4 do not.
Including Nium Europe B.V., Nium Canada Corporation, Nium Limited, Nium Pte. Ltd., Nium Pty Limited.
See the Nium Pte. Ltd. group →Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.
Addresses
- Address on the register
- Ground Floor, 52-54 Gracechurch Street, London, EC3V 0EH
- Country
- United Kingdom
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.
- Identified by
- Name and postal address, with its LEI
- Postal address
- Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in two address lines
<FinInstnId>
<LEI>254900K4204VHFEGSW95</LEI>
<Nm>Nium Fintech Limited</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<PstCd>EC3V 0EH</PstCd>
<TwnNm>London</TwnNm>
<Ctry>GB</Ctry>
<AdrLine>Ground Floor</AdrLine>
<AdrLine>52-54 Gracechurch Street</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.
The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.
Sources & method
Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.
An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.
Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Register for this page
- FCA Financial Services Register - E-Money Institutions—Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
- Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence
A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.
Book a demo