Ireland · Payments & e-money

Optal Financial Europe Limited

Optal Financial Europe Limited is a private limited company registered in Ireland under company number 612228, based in Dublin 4. The Central Bank of Ireland authorised it as an electronic money institution on 8 March 2019, under reference C176000. It trades as Optal and WEX and belongs to the WEX group, whose ultimate parent is WEX Inc. of the United States. It provides business-to-business payments using virtual Mastercard account numbers, and WEX completed its acquisition of Optal in December 2020.

Licences and registrations

Held by Optal Financial Europe Limited (LEI 254900HL5541TJQUXK22). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterCentral Bank of Ireland Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution C176000 Ireland Active 2019-03-08 —
  • Money remittance
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • E-money / stored value
Search the register ↗

Trading names on the register: WEX (EBA-PSD2)

  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

Firm type

FX and business payments

Trades as WEX

Ownership
The firm belongs to the WEX group, and its LEI record names WEX Inc., listed on the New York Stock Exchange, as the ultimate parent.
Ultimate owner
WEX Inc., United States
Head office
3rd Floor, Fleming Court, Fleming's Place, D04 N4X9 Dublin 4, Ireland
Company register
CRO 612228

Online

Websites & references
wexinc.com ↗
developer.wexinc.com ↗ WEX group developer and payments API portal
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗ · YouTube ↗
Sources · 11 pages consulted
  1. registers.centralbank.ie/FirmRegisterDataPage.aspx?firmReferenceNumber=C176000&register=63
  2. wexinc.com/regulatory-information/wex-group-regulated-entities/
  3. wexinc.com/regulatory-information/
  4. wexinc.com/industries/travel/
  5. centralbank.ie/news/article/optal-financial-europe-(clone)---central-bank-of-ireland-issues-warning-on-u
  6. centralbank.ie/news/article/imperial-trust-loans---central-bank-of-ireland-issues-warning-on-unauthorise
  7. fsma.be/en/optal-financial-europe-clone
  8. ir.wexinc.com/news/news-details/2020/WEX-Completes-Acquisition-of-eNett-and-Optal/default.aspx
  9. irishtimes.com/business/financial-services/fast-growing-fintech-optal-opens-dublin-base-for-eu-business-
  10. wexinc.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/Wex-NewCo-MS-statement-2026.pdf
  11. lei.bloomberg.com/leis/view/254900HL5541TJQUXK22

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The Central Bank of Ireland authorised the firm as an electronic money institution under Regulation 9 of the European Communities (Electronic Money) Regulations 2011. Its register entry lists three payment services: executing payment transactions on a credit line, issuing and acquiring payment transactions, and money remittance. The authorisation is passported by freedom of services to 29 EEA states.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Central Bank of Ireland Ireland Electronic Money Institution authorised pursuant to Regulation 9 of the European Communities (Electronic Money) Regulations 2011 C176000 In its own name Active registers.centralbank.ie ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Not disclosedThe firm does not publish its safeguarding arrangements.
Payment schemes and card networks
Mastercard Access not stated irishtimes.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Card-issuing platform
  • Payouts and mass payments
  • Merchant acquiring

The firm issues virtual Mastercard account numbers that businesses use to pay suppliers. The WEX group sells this service mainly to online travel agencies and other travel intermediaries.

The Central Bank of Ireland register shows the firm providing services from Ireland into 29 other EEA states on a freedom-of-services basis.

Sells to
Enterprises · Platforms and marketplaces
Serves customers in 30 countries
Ireland · Austria · Belgium · Bulgaria · Croatia · Cyprus · Czechia · Denmark · Estonia · Finland · France · Germany · Greece · Hungary · Iceland · Italy · Latvia · Liechtenstein · Lithuania · Luxembourg · Malta · Netherlands · Norway · Poland · Portugal · Romania · Slovakia · Slovenia · Spain · Sweden

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

The research found no fines, investigations, security incidents, licence changes or corporate events from the last three years.

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Regulator warnings

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Impersonation Central Bank of Ireland, Ireland

    The Central Bank of Ireland warned about an unauthorised clone firm posing as Optal Financial Europe Limited. It stated there was no connection between the clone and the authorised firm.

    centralbank.ie ↗
  2. Impersonation Central Bank of Ireland, Ireland

    The Central Bank of Ireland warned that an unauthorised lender, Imperial Trust Loans, was passing itself off as Optal Financial Europe Limited. It stated there was no connection between the two.

    centralbank.ie ↗
  3. Impersonation Financial Services and Markets Authority (FSMA), Belgium

    The Belgian FSMA published a warning about a clone firm using the name Optal Financial Europe.

    fsma.be ↗

Entries on regulators’ consumer-warning lists that name the firm or its brand. An impersonation warning is about fraudsters posing as the firm, not about the firm itself.

Identifiers

Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
C176000
BIC
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
How the LEI was matched
Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address
Elucidate firm ID
2ea38c998d7f

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Main licence class
E-Money / Stored Value Institution
Activities
  • Money remittance
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • E-money / stored value
Licensed in
Ireland · Europe & Central Asia
First registered
2019-03-08

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

Ultimate parent
Wex Inc. · United StatesT9M5IGROL1TL1G5OV478 ↗

The Wex Inc. group has 2 institutions in the directory, in 2 countries: none holds a BIC.

Including Optal Financial Limited.

See the Wex Inc. group →

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

Addresses

Address on the register
3rd Floor Fleming Court, Flemings Place, Dublin 4, D04 N4X9
Country
Ireland

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

Identified by
Name and postal address, with its LEI
Postal address
Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in two address lines
<FinInstnId>
  <LEI>254900HL5541TJQUXK22</LEI>
  <Nm>Optal Financial Europe Limited</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>D04 N4X9</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>Dublin 4</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>IE</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>3rd Floor Fleming Court</AdrLine>
    <AdrLine>Flemings Place</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Register for this page

  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

Book a demo