France · Payments & e-money

Qonto

Qonto SA is a French société anonyme with its head office in Paris. The Autorité de Contrôle Prudentiel et de Résolution (ACPR) authorises it as a payment institution under CIB 16958, granted on 21 June 2018. It operates in Germany through a branch under the joint supervision of the ACPR and BaFin. It is backed by venture capital investors and has no single controlling shareholder. Under the Qonto brand it offers online business payment accounts, Mastercard business cards, transfers, payment terminals, invoicing, pre-accounting and financing tools. It serves small and medium-sized businesses, self-employed people and associations in eight EU countries. The firm was named OLINDA until January 2026. It applied to the ACPR for a banking licence in July 2025.

BICQNTOFRP1XXX LEI969500OQW41JH71ZPA06 Licence no.819489626 Passive participant (no connection)This BIC is registered for identification only. The institution has no direct connection to the Swift network. Messages and payments reach it through a correspondent bank. The “1” in the eighth character of QNTOFRP1 marks a passive participant. Head-office BIC only Group: Qonto Claim this profile

Licences and registrations

Held by Qonto (LEI 969500OQW41JH71ZPA06). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterPrudential Supervisory and Resolution AuthorityLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. Payment institutionPayment Institution 819489626 France Active 2018-06-21 —
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • Payment initiation
  • Account information
Search the register ↗
  • Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
  • The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

BIC
QNTOFRP1XXX head office
Connection to Swift
Passive participant (no connection)This BIC is registered for identification only. The institution has no direct connection to the Swift network. Messages and payments reach it through a correspondent bank. The “1” in the eighth character of QNTOFRP1 marks a passive participant.
Swift GPI
Not on the member list
Branch codes
None: head-office BIC only
BIC first registered
2018-03-03
Last updated
2026-04-23

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

750,000

customers · This entity · 29 Sep 2026 · company statement ↗

Employees

1,600

headcount · Group · 2 Jul 2026 · company statement ↗

Ownership

Venture-backed

Firm type

E-money and accounts

Trades as Qonto

Standing
The firm was named OLINDA until 29 January 2026. On that date it took the name Qonto and converted from a société par actions simplifiée into a société anonyme with a board of directors, without becoming a new legal person. It moved its registered head office to 6 impasse Bonne Nouvelle, 75010 Paris, from 1 July 2026. In July 2025 it applied to the ACPR for a credit institution (banking) licence. Qonto's own 2026 materials treat that application as pending and describe the firm as a payment institution, not a bank.
Ownership
The firm is privately held by its founders and venture capital investors, which it names as Valar, TCV, Alven, the European Investment Fund, Tencent, DST Global, Tiger Global, Eurazeo, KKR, Insight Partners, Exor Seeds and Gaingels.
Head office
6 impasse Bonne Nouvelle, 75010 Paris, France
Company register
RCS Paris 819 489 626
Incorporated
2016
Founders
Alexandre Prot · Steve Anavi
Former name
OLINDA

Online

Websites & references
qonto.com ↗
legal.qonto.com ↗ legal documents and terms
status.qonto.com ↗ status page
support-fr.qonto.com ↗ help centre (France)
Wikipedia ↗
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗ · Medium ↗
Sources · 13 pages consulted
  1. qonto.com/fr
  2. qonto.com/en-de/imprint
  3. qonto.com/en-de/about
  4. qonto.com/fr/blog/tendances/nouveautes/olinda
  5. qonto.com/fr/payment-methods/card
  6. mesinfos.fr/consulter-annonces-legales/ile-de-france/75-paris/qonto-ex-olinda-db198213c509ea8b9277da1
  7. fintechfutures.com/regulations-compliance/qonto-applies-for-french-banking-licence-with-acpr
  8. finyear.com/qonto-depose-une-demande-de-licence-bancaire
  9. maddyness.com/2026/07/03/qonto-boucle-une-nouvelle-acquisition-pour-se-renforcer-en-matiere-de-comptabi
  10. lemondeduchiffre.fr/a-la-une/80377-qonto-s-offre-acasi-et-bouscule-le-modele-des-cabinets-d-expertise-comptab
  11. lesoutilspro.fr/qonto-10-milliards-bilan-resultats/
  12. planet-fintech.com/Qonto-renforce-son-comite-de-direction-en-nommant-deux-nouveaux-C-levels-en-interne_a4927
  13. en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Qonto

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The ACPR authorises the firm as a payment institution under CIB 16958, granted on 21 June 2018. It serves other EU markets under this licence, and the ACPR and BaFin jointly supervise its German branch. Its application to the ACPR for a credit institution licence, filed in July 2025, was still pending in the firm's 2026 statements.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Autorité de Contrôle Prudentiel et de Résolution (ACPR) France Établissement de paiement (payment institution) 16958 In its own name Active qonto.com ↗
ORIAS (Organisme pour le registre des intermédiaires en assurance) France Insurance intermediary registration 18004091 In its own name Active qonto.com ↗
Autorité de Contrôle Prudentiel et de Résolution (ACPR) France Credit institution licence (application) — In its own name Applied for qonto.com ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm states that part of customer funds is held in segregated accounts at Crédit Mutuel Arkéa, Société Générale, Natixis and Rothschild Martin Maurel. Another part is invested in qualifying money market funds held with Société Générale. The rest is covered by stand-alone guarantees from Crédit Agricole CIB and BNP Paribas.qonto.com ↗
Safeguarding bank
Crédit Mutuel Arkéa France qonto.com ↗
Safeguarding bank · Partner
Société Générale France qonto.com ↗
Safeguarding bank
Natixis France qonto.com ↗
Safeguarding bank
Rothschild Martin Maurel France qonto.com ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
Mastercard Access not stated qonto.com ↗
SEPA Instant Credit Transfer Access not stated qonto.com ↗
SEPA Direct Debit Access not stated qonto.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Domestic payments
  • Debit cards
  • International money transfer
  • Merchant acquiring
  • Lending
  • Account information (open banking)

It offers business payment accounts with Mastercard debit and deferred-debit cards, SEPA Instant and international transfers, payment terminals, e-invoicing, expense management and pre-accounting, and financing such as Pay Later and overdrafts. It also refers customers to partner lenders.

According to the firm, it serves business customers in France, Germany, Spain, Italy, Austria, Belgium, the Netherlands and Portugal under its French payment institution licence. It operates in Germany through a Berlin branch.

Revenue
EUR 495.4mThis entity · 31 Dec 2025 · source ↗
Sells to
Small businesses · Enterprises · Other
Serves customers in 8 countries
France · Germany · Spain · Italy · Austria · Belgium · Netherlands · Portugal
Latest funding round
Series D · EUR 486m Jan 2022
Total raised
EUR 622m to Jan 2022 · planet-fintech.com ↗

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Alexandre Prot Directeur général (CEO) and co-founder Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · qonto.com ↗
Chair
Jean-Pascal Beaufret Président du Conseil d'Administration (Chair of the Board) Confirmed 6 Feb 2026 · mesinfos.fr ↗
Founder
Steve Anavi Directeur général délégué (Deputy General Manager) and co-founder Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · qonto.com ↗
Executive
Malte Dous Permanent Representative, QONTO Zweigniederlassung Deutschland Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · qonto.com ↗
Executive
Stefano Bovo Permanent Representative, QONTO Zweigniederlassung Deutschland Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · qonto.com ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Merger / acquisition

    Qonto took over the assets of Acasi, an online accounting firm in receivership, for EUR 750,000 through the Paris commercial court.

    maddyness.com ↗
  2. Other

    OLINDA took the name Qonto and converted into a société anonyme. Its new board named Jean-Pascal Beaufret chair and Alexandre Prot chief executive.

    mesinfos.fr ↗
  3. Licence

    Qonto applied to the ACPR for a banking licence to expand into lending, savings and investment products.

    fintechfutures.com ↗
  4. Other

    A French court ordered Qonto to reimburse the French Modern Pentathlon Federation EUR 672,139 lost to a scammer in 2023.

    en.wikipedia.org ↗
  5. Leadership

    Qonto appointed Jean-Pierre Mustier, former chief executive of UniCredit, as an independent director.

    finyear.com ↗
  6. Merger / acquisition

    Qonto acquired Regate, a French finance automation platform for small businesses and accountants.

    en.wikipedia.org ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Head-office record

BIC
QNTOFRP1XXX
How the BIC breaks down
  1. QNTOBank
  2. FRCountry · France
  3. P1Location · passive
  4. XXXBranch · head office
Branch description
Not recorded in the directory
LEI
969500OQW41JH71ZPA06
LEI record
View on GLEIF ↗
Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
819489626
How the LEI was matched
BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address.
Register-entry ID
55d8f66e036d
National bank code
Code interbancaire (CIB) 16958

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Register licences
1 entry on 1 register
Activities
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • Payment initiation
  • Account information
Licensed in
France
Country · region
France · Europe & Central Asia
Banking supervision
Not on the ECB's list of supervised entities as of 2026-07-01
Trading venues (MIC)
No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
OFAC sanctions
No listing cites this BIC
EU sanctions
No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
Country sanctions
No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

The Qonto group has 4 institutions in the directory, in 4 countries: all hold a BIC.

Including Olinda S.A.S. - Netherlands Branch, Olinda Sas, Olinda Sas Sucursal En Espana.

See the Qonto group →

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

Addresses

Registered address
18, RUE DE NAVARIN PARIS 75009 FRANCE
Operational address
18 RUE DE NAVARIN PARIS 75002 PARIS FRANCE

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

Identified by
BIC, with its LEI
Roles in CBPR+
Debtor agent, creditor agent or an intermediary agent

CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>QNTOFRP1XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>969500OQW41JH71ZPA06</LEI>
</FinInstnId>

Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>QNTOFRP1XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>969500OQW41JH71ZPA06</LEI>
  <Nm>QONTO</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <TwnNm>PARIS</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>FR</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>18, RUE DE NAVARIN PARIS 75009</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

This BIC is not connected to Swift. Messages reach the institution through a correspondent bank, so it cannot be the instructing or instructed agent.

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

Payment schemes and systems

EPC registers of 2026-09-11 · ECB T2 list of 2026-07-02 · ECB TIPS list of 2026-09-01 · SIX Bank Master valid on 2026-09-28

Scheme or systemSinceRegistered withNote
SEPA Credit TransferISO 20022 messages 2018-08-06 Head office —
SEPA Instant Credit TransferISO 20022 messages 2021-12-06 Head office —
SEPA Direct Debit CoreISO 20022 messages 2018-08-06 Head office —
SEPA Direct Debit Business-to-BusinessISO 20022 messages 2018-08-06 Head office —
Verification of Payee 2025-09-22 Head office —
TIPS (TARGET Instant Payment Settlement)ISO 20022 messages — Head office —

SEPA dates are when the institution became ready for the scheme. TIPS entries have no joining date.

An institution missing from T2 may still be reachable through an indirect participant. The ECB’s TIPS list does not separate participants from reachable parties. It includes institutions reachable in Swedish kronor as well as in euro.

“ISO 20022 messages” marks a scheme or system whose rulebook or operator specifies ISO 20022 for messages between participants.

National bank codes

Code interbancaire (CIB) · France

1 code

CodeRoutes to BICName in the national fileCity
16958 QNTOFRP1XXX QONTO PARIS

Each code shows the name in the national file. Smaller banks often route through a central institution’s BIC. A code can therefore belong to a different bank than the one on this page.

Claim this profile

Work at Qonto?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

  1. 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
  2. 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
  3. 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Claim received

Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Credits for this page

  • Payment schemes and systems—Source: European Payments Council (EPC) Registers of Participants; matched to BICs by Elucidate. Source: European Central Bank, List of TIPS participants and reachable parties.
  • National bank codes—France (Source: ACPR – REGAFI).
  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
  • Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: qonto.com (official website).

Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

Book a demo