United States · Money service business

Remitly, Inc.

Remitly, Inc. is a Delaware corporation headquartered in Seattle. The US Department of the Treasury registers it as a money services business, and it holds state money transmitter licences under NMLS ID 1028236. These include a licence from the New York State Department of Financial Services. The firm is a wholly owned subsidiary of Remitly Global, Inc., which is listed on Nasdaq. It sends international money transfers from the United States for consumers and businesses. Two of its products run under other firms' licences: Lead Bank issues the Remitly debit card, and the Remitly Wallet is provided by Stripe Payments Company.

Licences and registrations

Held by Remitly, Inc. (LEI 254900MONORRA8AB4X24). 2 entries on 2 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
MSB Registrant SearchFinCEN —Money Transmitter / Remittance Not published by the register United States Active 2025-09-15 —
  • Money remittance
  • Prepaid access
Search the register ↗
Money Services Business RegistryFINTRAC MSB (foreign indicator not selected)Money Transmitter / Remittance M15444251 Canada Ceased 2015-03-17 Ended 2015-07-21
  • Money remittance
Search the register ↗
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

10,200,000

active customers · Group · 30 Jun 2026 · interim report ↗

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

100% Remitly Global, Inc.

Firm type

Money remittance

Trades as Remitly

Ownership
Remitly Global, Inc., a Delaware company listed on Nasdaq, owns 100% of the firm.
Direct parent
Remitly Global, Inc., United States 100%
Head office
401 Union Street, Suite 1000, 98101 Seattle, United States (registered office: C/O Corporation Service Company, 251 Little Falls Drive, Wilmington, DE 19808, United States)
Founder
Matt Oppenheimer

Online

Websites & references
remitly.com ↗
ir.remitly.com ↗ investor relations site of the parent, Remitly Global, Inc.
news.remitly.com ↗ newsroom
careers.remitly.com ↗ careers site
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗ · YouTube ↗ · TikTok ↗
Sources · 12 pages consulted
  1. remitly.com/us/en/home/licenses
  2. remitly.com/us/en/home/agreement
  3. remitly.com/us/en/landing/remitly-card
  4. assets.ctfassets.net/fzn2n1nzq965/7MFQVxwZ78XPpxkG93b59V/6d178cdc9844ffa9fcc28445ff4d0a98/remitly-wallet-tos-2
  5. remitly.com/us/en/home/about
  6. ir.remitly.com/
  7. ir.remitly.com/corporate-governance/management
  8. ir.remitly.com/static-files/534c81c2-004b-4415-8479-4669e2a6273d
  9. ir.remitly.com/news-releases/news-release-details/remitly-reports-record-second-quarter-results-and-rais
  10. ir.remitly.com/news-releases/news-release-details/remitly-appoints-sebastian-j-gunningham-chief-executiv
  11. ir.remitly.com/news-releases/news-release-details/remitly-launches-global-card-worlds-first-card-built-c
  12. remitly.com/blog/money-transfer/what-is-remitly-one/

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Several models
Licensed firm it operates under
Lead Bank, United States issuer of the Remitly debit card pursuant to licensing by Visa U.S.A. Inc.

The firm transmits money under its own state money transmitter licences and its registration with the US Department of the Treasury as a money services business. Lead Bank issues the Remitly debit card. The Remitly Wallet is a money transmission service of Stripe Payments Company, which holds its own licence. Coastal Community Bank issues Remitly Pay Later credit, which Remitly services.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FinCEN) United States Money services business registration (money transmitter, prepaid access) — In its own name Active —
US state regulators (NMLS) United States Money transmitter licences in 48 states, plus Washington, D.C., Puerto Rico, Guam and the Northern Mariana Islands 1028236 In its own name Active remitly.com ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Not disclosedThe firm does not state on its US pages how it protects funds held for money transfers. Its wallet terms state that Remitly Wallet balances are held by Stripe Payments Company, a licensed money transmitter.assets.ctfassets.net ↗
Card issuer
Lead Bank United States remitly.com ↗
Deposit-holding bank
Stripe Payments Company United States assets.ctfassets.net ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
Visa Through a partner remitly.com ↗
ACH Access not stated remitly.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • International money transfer
  • Cash pick-up
  • E-money wallet
  • Debit cards
  • Payouts and mass payments

The firm sends money from the United States to recipients in other countries, by bank deposit and cash pick-up among other methods. According to the group, its network covers more than 175 countries. Its wallet, debit card and Pay Later credit are provided with partner firms.

Its User Agreement limits the money transfer service to US residents. The firm states that it is authorised to transmit money in all US states and Washington, D.C.

Payment volume
USD 86bnsend volume, last twelve monthsGroup · 30 Jun 2026 · company statement ↗
Sells to
Consumers · Small businesses · Platforms and marketplaces
Serves customers in 4 countries
United States · Puerto Rico · Guam · Northern Mariana Islands

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Sebastian J. Gunningham Chief Executive Officer (Remitly Global, Inc.) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · ir.remitly.com ↗
Chair
Matt Oppenheimer Chairman of the Board and co-founder (Remitly Global, Inc.) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · ir.remitly.com ↗
Chief financial officer
Vikas Mehta Chief Financial Officer (Remitly Global, Inc.) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · ir.remitly.com ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Other

    The Remitly group launched the Remitly Global Card, a Visa debit card issued by Lead Bank, in a phased rollout.

    ir.remitly.com ↗
  2. Leadership

    Remitly Global appointed Sebastian J. Gunningham as chief executive. Co-founder Matt Oppenheimer moved to the role of chairman.

    ir.remitly.com ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Licence no. · FINTRAC-MSB
M15444251
BIC
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
How the LEI was matched
Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address
Elucidate firm ID
97ffdc878bdf
Merged register entry
94cb8d6af7b5 · FINTRAC-MSB

Profile

Type
Money service businessRemittance, currency exchange, cheque cashing and money orders. Usually registered with an anti-money-laundering supervisor rather than licensed prudentially. Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
AML registration onlyRegistered with an anti-money-laundering supervisor (FinCEN, FINTRAC, HMRC, AUSTRAC, Hong Kong Customs…) without a prudential licence.
Main licence class
Money Transmitter / Remittance
Activities
  • Money remittance
  • Prepaid access
Licensed in
United States · North America
First registered
2025-09-15

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

Addresses

Address on the register
401 Union Street, Suite 1000, Seattle, 98101
Country
United States

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

Identified by
Name and postal address, with its LEI
Postal address
Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line
<FinInstnId>
  <LEI>254900MONORRA8AB4X24</LEI>
  <Nm>Remitly, Inc.</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>98101</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>Seattle</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>US</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>401 Union Street, Suite 1000</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Registers for this page

  • MSB Registrant Search—Financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FinCEN) · source ↗ as at 24 September 2026
  • Money Services Business Registry—Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (FINTRAC) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

Book a demo