France · Payments & e-money

Swan

SWAN is a French simplified joint-stock company (SAS) based in Paris. The Autorité de Contrôle Prudentiel et de Résolution (ACPR) authorises it as an electronic money institution under bank code 17328. The authorisation dates from 4 June 2020. The firm is venture-backed, and its investors include Eight Roads, Lakestar, Accel, Creandum, Hexa and Bpifrance. Under the Swan brand, it provides white-label business accounts, Mastercard cards and payments that software platforms embed for their users. It holds these accounts under its own licence. Camille Tyan became chief executive on 1 December 2025, succeeding co-founder Nicolas Benady.

BICNo BIC LEINo LEI mapped Licence no.853827103

Licences and registrations

Held by Swan. 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterPrudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution 853827103 France Active 2020-06-04 —
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • E-money / stored value
Search the register ↗
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory. No LEI is matched to this entry, and BICs are linked by LEI only.

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Venture-backed

Firm type

Banking as a service

Trades as Swan

Ownership
Venture investors own the firm, and no controlling shareholder is disclosed. Eight Roads led its latest round, with Lakestar, Accel, Creandum, Hexa and Bpifrance taking part.
Head office
91 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, 75008 Paris, France
Company register
RCS Paris 853 827 103
Incorporated
9 Sep 2019
Founders
Nicolas Benady · Nicolas Saison · Mathieu Breton

Online

Websites & references
swan.io ↗
docs.swan.io ↗ developer documentation
status.swan.io ↗ status page
trust.swan.io ↗ trust centre
support.swan.io ↗ support centre
banking.swan.io ↗ web banking for account holders
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · GitHub ↗
Sources · 14 pages consulted
  1. swan.io/legal-notice
  2. swan.io/termsandconditions
  3. regafi.fr/spip.php?cat=22-TBR07&id_secteur=1&lang=fr&page=export&retrait=0&sort=id_desc&type=advanc
  4. swan.io/company
  5. swan.io/blog-posts/swans-shareholder-letter-2026
  6. swan.io/blog-posts/swan-appoints-camille-tyan-as-ceo
  7. swan.io/blog-posts/swan-secures-eu42m-to-lead-embedded-banking-in-europe
  8. eightroads.com/en/news/swan-raises-eur42m-to-transform-embedded-finance
  9. finextra.com/pressarticle/103361/swan-appoints-camille-tyan-deputy-ceo
  10. frenchtechjournal.com/swan-nicolas-benady-37m-series-b-fintech/
  11. accel.com/noteworthies/our-investment-in-swan-turning-the-embedded-finance-dream-into-a-reality
  12. fintechbelgium.be/members/swan
  13. lb.lt/en/sfi-financial-market-participants/swan
  14. uzraudziba.bank.lv/en/market/payment-service-providers/electronic-money-institutions/service-providers-from-

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The ACPR authorises the firm as an electronic money institution under bank code 17328. The firm provides payment services in other EEA states under the EU passport. Partner platforms that distribute its accounts may act as its agents or as banking and payment intermediaries (IOBSP).

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Autorité de Contrôle Prudentiel et de Résolution (ACPR) France Établissement de monnaie électronique (electronic money institution); REGAFI identifier 86245 17328 In its own name Active swan.io ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Segregated safeguarding accountsAccording to the firm, it segregates client funds in an account at its banking partner BNP Paribas. It states that the French deposit guarantee fund (FGDR) covers these funds up to EUR 100,000 per client if BNP Paribas defaults.swan.io ↗
Safeguarding bank
BNP Paribas France swan.io ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
Mastercard Direct fintechbelgium.be ↗
SEPA Credit Transfer Access not stated swan.io ↗
SEPA Direct Debit (Core and B2B) Access not stated swan.io ↗
Swift Access not stated swan.io ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Banking as a service
  • E-money wallet
  • Debit cards
  • Card-issuing platform
  • Domestic payments
  • International money transfer
  • Merchant acquiring

Swan provides EUR payment accounts with local IBANs, Mastercard physical and virtual cards, SEPA transfers and direct debits, and Swift transfers. Software platforms embed these under their own brand for small businesses, freelancers and individuals.

Its terms admit customers resident or established in the EEA. According to its June 2026 shareholder letter, it concentrates on France, Germany, Spain, the Netherlands, Italy and Belgium.

Sells to
Platforms and marketplaces · Small businesses · Consumers
Serves customers in 6 countries
France · Germany · Spain · Netherlands · Italy · Belgium
Latest funding round
Series B extension · EUR 42m Jan 2025Led by Eight Roadseightroads.com ↗

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Camille Tyan CEO Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · swan.io ↗
Chief financial officer
Grégory Desmaretz CFO Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · swan.io ↗
Compliance / MLRO
Matthieu Piraud Chief Risk and Compliance Officer Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · swan.io ↗
Founder
Nicolas Saison Co-founder, CPO and board member Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · swan.io ↗
Executive
Florent Poissonnet CTO Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · swan.io ↗
Executive
Hélène Sohier Chief Operations Officer Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · swan.io ↗

Recent events 1 enforcement or investigation item

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Leadership

    Co-founder Nicolas Benady moved to an adviser role and remained on the board, according to the CEO's June 2026 shareholder letter.

    swan.io ↗
  2. Other

    Swan disclosed that its partner Pennylane will progressively bring its banking in-house, with a transition from 2028.

    swan.io ↗
  3. Incident

    The CEO's shareholder letter stated that in 2025 KYC processing times were too long and payment incidents multiplied.

    swan.io ↗
  4. Leadership

    Camille Tyan became CEO on 1 December 2025, and co-founder Nicolas Benady became President.

    swan.io ↗
  5. Funding

    Swan raised EUR 42 million as a Series B extension led by Eight Roads, with existing investors taking part.

    eightroads.com ↗
  6. Leadership

    Swan appointed Camille Tyan, supervisory board chairman since 2020, as deputy CEO.

    finextra.com ↗
  7. Funding

    Swan raised EUR 37 million in a Series B round led by Lakestar.

    frenchtechjournal.com ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
853827103
BIC
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
LEI
No LEI mapped
Elucidate firm ID
67c41e8eb038

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Main licence class
E-Money / Stored Value Institution
Activities
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • E-money / stored value
Licensed in
France · Europe & Central Asia
First registered
2020-06-04

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

No LEI is matched to this entry, so GLEIF relationship records cannot be linked.

Addresses

Address on the register
91 Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, PARIS, 75008
Country
France

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

Identified by
Name and postal address. No LEI or clearing code is mapped in the directory
Postal address
Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line
<FinInstnId>
  <Nm>SWAN</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>75008</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>PARIS</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>FR</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>91 Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
  • CBPR+ does not accept the character é in names and addresses. Transliterate before sending.

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Register for this page

  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

Book a demo