Ireland · Crypto

Virtu Financial Ireland Limited

Virtu Financial Ireland Limited is a private limited company incorporated in Ireland in 2009, with its registered office in Dublin. The Central Bank of Ireland authorises it as a MiFID investment firm (reference C93329). Since 28 April 2026 it has also been authorised as a crypto-asset service provider under the Markets in Crypto-Assets Regulation (MiCA). It is a subsidiary of Virtu Financial, Inc., a company listed on the New York Stock Exchange. It trades on its own account as a market maker and liquidity provider, and it exchanges crypto-assets as principal for institutional regulated clients only.

BICVIFIIE21XXX LEI549300XG5LFGN1IGYC71 Licence no.549300XG5LFGN1IGYC71 Passive participant (no connection)This BIC is registered for identification only. The institution has no direct connection to the Swift network. Messages and payments reach it through a correspondent bank. The “1” in the eighth character of VIFIIE21 marks a passive participant. Market operator · 4 MICs 1 branch code Group: Virtu Financial, Inc. Claim this profile

Licences and registrations

Held by Virtu Financial Ireland Limited (LEI 549300XG5LFGN1IGYC71). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
ESMA interim MiCA register of crypto-asset service providersCentral Bank of Ireland (CBI)Linked by LEI. Published by the register. Crypto-asset service providerCrypto-Asset Service Provider 549300XG5LFGN1IGYC71 Ireland Active 2026-04-28 —
  • Crypto-assets
Search the register ↗
  • Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
  • The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

European registers

ESMA · MiFID II register

Register as at 2026-09-28

EntryCompetent authorityAuthorisedServices or instruments
Investment services (MiFID II) Central Bank of Ireland (CBI) 2012-08-01 A1 A2 A3 B4
Systematic internaliser Central Bank of Ireland (CBI) 2018-01-03 CRFT DPRS SHRS

Service codes follow MiFID II Annex I: A for investment services, B for ancillary services. Hover a code for its meaning.

Entries are matched on the LEI. Each register is quoted as its publisher lists it.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

BIC
VIFIIE21XXX head office
Connection to Swift
Passive participant (no connection)This BIC is registered for identification only. The institution has no direct connection to the Swift network. Messages and payments reach it through a correspondent bank. The “1” in the eighth character of VIFIIE21 marks a passive participant.
Swift GPI
Not on the member list
Payment schemes and systems
No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
Branch codes
1 branch code
BIC first registered
2009-09-05
Last updated
2017-12-16

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

Virtu Financial, Inc.

Firm type

Investment or brokerage

Trades as Virtu Financial

Ownership
The firm is a subsidiary of Virtu Financial, Inc., which is listed on the New York Stock Exchange and consolidates it in its accounts.
Direct parent
Virtu Financial, Inc. ↗, United States
Head office
North Dock One, Fifth Floor, 91-92 North Wall Quay, D01 H7V7 Dublin, Ireland
Company register
Companies Registration Office (Ireland) 471719
Incorporated
11 Jun 2009

Online

Websites & references
virtu.com ↗
ir.virtu.com ↗ group investor relations site
portal.virtu.com ↗ group client portal
Wikipedia ↗ group article
Wikidata Q113466695 ↗
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · Instagram ↗
Sources · 12 pages consulted
  1. registers.centralbank.ie/FirmDataPage.aspx?firmReferenceNumber=C93329
  2. registers.centralbank.ie/FirmRegisterDataPage.aspx?firmReferenceNumber=C93329&register=80
  3. amf-france.org/en/warnings/white-lists/daspcasp/virtu-financial-ireland-limited
  4. virtu.com/regulatory-disclosures/
  5. virtu.com
  6. virtu-www.s3.dualstack.us-east-1.amazonaws.com/uploads/documents/Pillar%20III%202025%20Disclosure%20-%20VFIL%20%28Final%29.pdf
  7. virtu-www.s3.dualstack.us-east-1.amazonaws.com/uploads/documents/VFIL%20Commercial%20Policy%20%28Crypto%29.pdf
  8. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/FC035106
  9. ir.virtu.com/news-releases/news-release-details/virtu-financial-obtains-mica-license
  10. centralbank.ie/news/article/press-release-warning-unauthorised-firm-virtu-financial-(clone)-30-july-2019
  11. virtune.com/en/investor-relations/authorised-participant
  12. en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Virtu_Financial

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The Central Bank of Ireland authorises the firm as a MiFID investment firm under S.I. No. 375/2017. The same regulator lists it as an authorised crypto-asset service provider under MiCA, effective 28 April 2026, for exchanging crypto-assets for funds and for other crypto-assets.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Central Bank of Ireland Ireland Investment Firm - MiFID (authorised under Regulation 8(3) of S.I. No. 375/2017 European Union (Markets in Financial Instruments) Regulations 2017) C93329 In its own name Active registers.centralbank.ie ↗
Central Bank of Ireland Ireland Crypto-Asset Service Provider (Article 63 of Regulation (EU) 2023/1114) C93329 In its own name Active registers.centralbank.ie ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Not applicableThe firm's 2025 Pillar III disclosure reports no client money held and no client assets safeguarded or administered.virtu-www.s3.dualstack.us-east-1.amazonaws.com ↗
Crypto-asset custody
Not disclosedIt exchanges crypto-assets for funds and for other crypto-assets as a principal liquidity provider, for institutional regulated clients only. It does not disclose a custody arrangement.virtu-www.s3.dualstack.us-east-1.amazonaws.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Crypto trading

It trades financial instruments on its own account as a market maker and liquidity provider. It streams executable crypto-asset quotes, against funds or other crypto-assets, to onboarded institutional regulated clients.

According to its parent, its MiCA authorisation allows it to provide crypto-asset services in all 27 EU member states from Ireland.

Sells to
Financial institutions · Enterprises
Serves customers in 27 countries
Ireland · Austria · Belgium · Bulgaria · Croatia · Cyprus · Czechia · Denmark · Estonia · Finland · France · Germany · Greece · Hungary · Italy · Latvia · Lithuania · Luxembourg · Malta · Netherlands · Poland · Portugal · Romania · Slovakia · Slovenia · Spain · Sweden

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Compliance / MLRO
Fergus Rooney VFIL Chief Compliance Officer Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · virtu.com ↗
Executive
Desmond Carbery Executive Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · virtu-www.s3.dualstack.us-east-1.amazonaws.com ↗
Executive
Michael Nestor Executive Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · virtu-www.s3.dualstack.us-east-1.amazonaws.com ↗
Executive
David Furlong Non-Executive Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · virtu-www.s3.dualstack.us-east-1.amazonaws.com ↗
Executive
Joe Molluso Non-Executive Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · virtu-www.s3.dualstack.us-east-1.amazonaws.com ↗
Executive
Aogán Foley Independent Non-Executive Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · virtu-www.s3.dualstack.us-east-1.amazonaws.com ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Licence

    The Central Bank of Ireland authorised the firm as a crypto-asset service provider under MiCA with effect from 28 April 2026.

    registers.centralbank.ie ↗
  2. Other

    Companies House recorded the firm's London branch (FC035106) as closed on 15 August 2025.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Regulator warnings

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Impersonation Central Bank of Ireland, Ireland

    The Central Bank of Ireland warned that an unauthorised firm calling itself Virtu Financial (United Kingdom) had copied details of the firm.

    centralbank.ie ↗

Entries on regulators’ consumer-warning lists that name the firm or its brand. An impersonation warning is about fraudsters posing as the firm, not about the firm itself.

Identifiers

Head-office record

BIC
VIFIIE21XXX
How the BIC breaks down
  1. VIFIBank
  2. IECountry · Ireland
  3. 21Location · passive
  4. XXXBranch · head office
Branch description
Not recorded in the directory
LEI
549300XG5LFGN1IGYC71
LEI record
View on GLEIF ↗
Licence no. · ESMA-CASP
549300XG5LFGN1IGYC71
How the LEI was matched
BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Published by the register.
Register-entry ID
404f8051c913

Profile

Type
CryptoCrypto-asset service providers, virtual-asset trading platforms and stablecoin issuers. Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Register licences
1 entry on 1 register
Activities
  • Crypto-assets
Licensed in
Ireland
Website (register)
www.virtu.com ↗
Country · region
Ireland · Europe & Central Asia
Banking supervision
Not on the ECB's list of supervised entities as of 2026-07-01
Trading venues (MIC)
Operates 4 MICs list of 2026-09-17
OFAC sanctions
No listing cites this BIC
EU sanctions
No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
Country sanctions
No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

Direct parent
Virtu Financial, Inc. · United States5493001OPW2K42CH3884 ↗

The Virtu Financial, Inc. group has 7 institutions in the directory, in 5 countries: 6 hold a BIC and 1 does not.

Including Virtu Financial Singapore PTE. LTD., Virtu Americas LLC, Itg Canada Corp., Virtu Financial Europe Limited, Virtu Itg Hong Kong Limited.

See the Virtu Financial, Inc. group →

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

Addresses

Registered address
SIR JOHN ROGERSONS QUAY WHITAKER COURT, WHITAKER SQUARE C DUBLIN 2 IRELAND
Operational address
SIR JOHN ROGERSONS QUAY WHITAKER COURT, WHITAKER SQUARE C FLOOR 3 DUBLIN DUBLIN DUBLIN 2 IRELAND

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

Identified by
BIC, with its LEI
Roles in CBPR+
Debtor agent, creditor agent or an intermediary agent

CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>VIFIIE21XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>549300XG5LFGN1IGYC71</LEI>
</FinInstnId>

Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>VIFIIE21XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>549300XG5LFGN1IGYC71</LEI>
  <Nm>VIRTU FINANCIAL IRELAND LIMITED</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <TwnNm>DUBLIN</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>IE</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>SIR JOHN ROGERSONS QUAY WHITAKER COURT, WHITAKER SQUARE C DUBLIN 2</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

This BIC is not connected to Swift. Messages reach the institution through a correspondent bank, so it cannot be the instructing or instructed agent.

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

Market identifiers

4 trading venues and reporting services run under this LEI list of 2026-09-17

MICMarketKindCategory
VFGB VIRTU FINANCIAL IRELAND LIMITED (LONDON BRANCH) Operating MIC Systematic internaliser
VFIL VIRTU FINANCIAL IRELAND LIMITEDVFIL Operating MIC Not specified
VFSI VIRTU FINANCIAL IRELAND LIMITED - SYSTEMATIC INTERNALISERVIRTU SI Segment of VFIL Systematic internaliser
VFXO VIRTU FINANCIAL IRELAND LIMITED - OTCVIRTU OTC Segment of VFIL Not specified

Network

Branch codes

BICBranchCityAddressLEIUpdated
VIFIIE21LON LONDON Dublin SIR JOHN ROGERSONS QUAY WHITAKER COURT, WHITAKER SQUARE C FLOOR 3 DUBLIN DUBLIN DUBLIN 2 IRELAND — 2017-12-16

See every BIC in Ireland →

Claim this profile

Work at Virtu Financial Ireland Limited?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

  1. 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
  2. 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
  3. 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Claim received

Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Credits for this page

  • Wikidata—CC0, matched on the BIC or LEI recorded in Wikidata. It is community-edited, so check key facts.
  • ESMA interim MiCA register of crypto-asset service providers—European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
  • European registers—Source: European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA), MiFID II/MiFIR register (investment firms, trading venues, systematic internalisers, data reporting services providers). Matched on LEI by Elucidate.
  • Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: virtu.com (official website) · original.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

Book a demo