Finland · Payments & e-money
Visma Payments Oy
Visma Payments Oy is a Finnish limited company based in Lappeenranta. The Finnish Financial Supervisory Authority (FIN-FSA) authorises it as a payment institution. Under the Visma Pay brand it offers Finnish merchants an online payment service that combines bank, card, mobile wallet and invoice payments under one contract. Founded as Paybyway Oy in 2012, it was owned by Bambora AB from 2015, bought by the Visma group in October 2020 and renamed in 2021.
Licences and registrations
Held by Visma Payments Oy (LEI 743700XYF5NFRU352D44). 3 entries on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.
| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EBA PSD2 RegisterFinnish Financial Supervisory Authority | Exempted payment institutionPayment Institution | 24865594 | Finland | Active | 2013-04-16 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
| EBA PSD2 RegisterFinnish Financial Supervisory Authority | Account information service providerAccount Information Service Provider | 24865594 | Finland | Active | 2022-02-23 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
| EBA PSD2 RegisterFinnish Financial Supervisory Authority | Payment institutionPayment Institution | 24865594 | Finland | Active | 2022-02-23 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
- Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
- Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.
Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Customers
Not published
Employees
Not published
Ownership
Group subsidiary
Visma Finland Holding Oy
Firm type
Merchant acquiring and processing
Trades as Visma Pay
- Standing
- The firm was renamed from Paybyway Oy to Visma Payments Oy in 2021. It continues to trade under the Visma Pay brand.
- Ownership
- The firm belongs to the Visma group, and GLEIF records Visma Finland Holding Oy as its direct parent and Visma AS as its ultimate parent.
- Direct parent
- Visma Finland Holding Oy ↗, Finland
- Ultimate owner
- Visma AS, Norway
- Head office
- Brahenkatu 4, 53100 Lappeenranta, Finland
- Company register
- Finnish Trade Register (Business ID) 2486559-4
- Incorporated
- 2012
- Former name
- Paybyway Oy
Online
- Websites & references
- vismapay.fi ↗
vismapay.com ↗ merchant portal and developer documentation
visma.fi ↗ former Visma Pay address on visma.fi, now redirects to vismapay.fi
Wikipedia ↗ - Official social accounts
- LinkedIn ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗ · YouTube ↗
Sources · 12 pages consulted
- vismapay.fi/yritys
- vismapay.fi/
- vismapay.fi/sopimusehdot
- vismapay.fi/kyc
- vismapay.fi/usein-kysyttya
- vismapay.fi/verkkokaupan-maksutavat
- vismapay.fi/alikasittelijat
- vismapay.fi/turvallisuus
- mynewsdesk.com/visma/pressreleases/visma-expands-its-offering-in-online-and-mobile-payments-with-the-acq
- mynt.com/en/press-och-media/mynt-and-visma-pay-announce-partnership
- fi.linkedin.com/company/vismapay
- fi.wikipedia.org/wiki/Visma_Payments
Authorisation
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Operates under
- Its own licences
The Finnish Financial Supervisory Authority (FIN-FSA) authorises the firm as a payment institution. According to the EBA register, the authorisation covers payment services, card acquiring, payment initiation and account information.
| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Finnish Financial Supervisory Authority (FIN-FSA) Finland | Payment institution (maksulaitos) | 24865594 | In its own name | Active | vismapay.fi ↗ |
| Finnish Financial Supervisory Authority (FIN-FSA) Finland | Account information service provider | 24865594 | In its own name | Active | — |
| Finnish Financial Supervisory Authority (FIN-FSA) Finland | Exempted payment institution | 24865594 | Exemption | Status unconfirmed | — |
Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.
Partners and safeguarding
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Settlement bank
- Osuuspankki Finland
- Acquirer / processor
- Bambora AB Sweden
- Payment schemes and card networks
- Visa Access not stated vismapay.fi ↗
Mastercard Access not stated vismapay.fi ↗
Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.
Products and markets
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
It offers online shops and apps in Finland a payment service covering Finnish online-bank payments, Visa and Mastercard cards, MobilePay, Siirto, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Klarna and OP Lasku, plus payment links and shop-in-shop split payouts for marketplaces.
The firm describes its customers as thousands of Finnish merchants and settles to merchants in euros only.
- Sells to
- Small businesses · Enterprises · Platforms and marketplaces
- Serves customers in
- Finland
Recent events
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
-
Other
Visma Pay and Mynt announced a partnership to offer Mynt-issued company cards and spend management to Finnish Visma customers.
mynt.com ↗
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
- Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
- 24865594
- BIC
- Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
- How the LEI was matched
- Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address
- Elucidate firm ID
- c8cc0cfca407
Profile
- Type
- Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
- Regulation
- Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
- Main licence class
- Payment Institution
- Activities
- Payment services
- Card acquiring
- Payment initiation
- Account information
- Licensed in
- Finland · Europe & Central Asia
- First registered
- 2013-04-16
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
- Direct parent
- Visma Finland Holding Oy · Finland5493005224MFZLMFH017 ↗
- Ultimate parent
- Visma AS · Norway5967007LIEEXZXB1YO53 ↗
The Visma AS group has 2 institutions in the directory, in 1 country: none holds a BIC.
Including Oima Oy.
See the Visma AS group →Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.
Addresses
- Address on the register
- Brahenkatu 4, Lappeenranta, 53100
- Country
- Finland
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.
- Identified by
- Name and postal address, with its LEI
- Postal address
- Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line
<FinInstnId>
<LEI>743700XYF5NFRU352D44</LEI>
<Nm>Visma Payments Oy</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<PstCd>53100</PstCd>
<TwnNm>Lappeenranta</TwnNm>
<Ctry>FI</Ctry>
<AdrLine>Brahenkatu 4</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.
The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.
Sources & method
Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.
An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.
Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Register for this page
- EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
- Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence
A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.
Book a demo