Germany · Payments & e-money
VR Payment GmbH
VR Payment GmbH, formerly CardProcess GmbH, is a limited company based in Frankfurt am Main. The Federal Financial Supervisory Authority (BaFin) authorises it as an electronic money institution. It describes itself as a wholly owned subsidiary of DZ BANK AG and part of the Volksbanken Raiffeisenbanken cooperative financial network. It offers German merchants card acceptance, girocard network operation, terminals and e-commerce payments. Under an agreement announced in July 2026, its credit card issuing processing is to move to Atruvia AG from 1 January 2027.
Licences and registrations
Held by VR Payment GmbH (LEI 8945003QQ1SZLZ9H1231). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.
| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EBA PSD2 RegisterFederal Financial Supervisory Authority | Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution | 124190 | Germany | Active | 2018-07-05 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
- Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
- Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.
Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Customers
Not published
Ownership
Group subsidiary
100% DZ BANK AG Deutsche Zentral-Genossenschaftsbank, Frankfurt am Main
Firm type
Merchant acquiring and processing
Trades as VR Payment
- Ownership
- The firm describes itself as a 100% subsidiary of DZ BANK AG, the central institution of the German cooperative banks.
- Direct parent
- DZ BANK AG Deutsche Zentral-Genossenschaftsbank, Frankfurt am Main, Germany 100%
- Head office
- Platz der Republik, 60325 Frankfurt am Main, Germany
- Company register
- Amtsgericht Frankfurt am Main HRB 114198
- Former name
- CardProcess GmbH
Online
- Websites & references
- vr-payment.de ↗
report.vr-payment.de ↗ annual report site (Report 2025)
status.vr-payment.info ↗ system status page
cardprocess.de ↗ former domain (CardProcess)
Wikipedia ↗ - Official social accounts
- LinkedIn ↗ · Instagram ↗ · YouTube ↗ · Xing ↗
Sources · 15 pages consulted
- vr-payment.de/impressum
- bafin.de/SharedDocs/Veroeffentlichungen/DE/Massnahmen/60b_KWG_84_WpIG_und_57_GwG/meldung_240719_VR
- vr-payment.de/unternehmen-unser-management
- vr-payment.de/unternehmen-daten-und-fakten
- vr-payment.de/unternehmen
- vr-payment.de/agb
- vr-payment.de/agb?file=files%2Fx_content%2Fvrpayment_docs%2Fagb%2Fanlagen_zum_serviceantrag%2FVRP_GB_Ka
- vr-payment.de/unternehmen-geschaeftsbereich
- vr-payment.de/unternehmen-medieninformationen
- report.vr-payment.de/
- report.vr-payment.de/gremien/
- atruvia.de/pressemitteilungen/02-07-2026-zukunftssicher-aufstellen-atruvia-dz-bank-und-vr-payment-bu
- pressebox.de/pressemitteilung/cardprocess-gmbh/VR-Payment-auf-der-EuroShop-2026/boxid/1286981
- de.wikipedia.org/wiki/VR_Payment
- vr-payment.de/files/AGB/Archiv/Vertragsbedingungen_Maestro_Akzeptanz_VR_pay.pdf
Authorisation
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Operates under
- Its own licences
The Federal Financial Supervisory Authority (BaFin) authorises the firm as an electronic money institution under the German Payment Services Supervision Act (ZAG). Its register entry also covers acquiring, money remittance, payment initiation and account information services. The firm also says Die Deutsche Kreditwirtschaft has certified it as a technical network operator for girocard.
| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Federal Financial Supervisory Authority (BaFin) Germany | E-Geld-Institut (electronic money institution) | 124190 | In its own name | Active | vr-payment.de ↗ |
Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.
Partners and safeguarding
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Safeguarding
- Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm's distance-selling card acceptance terms (April 2025) say it holds funds from card issuers and card schemes that are due to merchants in an account at DZ BANK. The funds earn no interest for the merchant.
- Safeguarding bank
- DZ BANK AG Germany
- Payment schemes and card networks
- girocard Direct vr-payment.de ↗
Visa Access not stated vr-payment.de ↗
Mastercard Access not stated vr-payment.de ↗
Wero Access not stated report.vr-payment.de ↗
Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.
Products and markets
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
It runs a girocard terminal network and acquires card payments for merchants, in shops and online, and sells terminals, softPOS, mPOS, an omnichannel payment gateway and Wero for e-commerce. According to the firm, it also processes 7.4 million credit cards for cooperative banks.
It serves merchants mainly in Germany and sells largely through the Volksbanken Raiffeisenbanken. It also publishes card scheme fee sheets for France, Luxembourg, Austria and Switzerland.
- Payment volume
- EUR 49bncashless turnover of its merchant customers
- Sells to
- Small businesses · Enterprises · Financial institutions
- Serves customers in
- Germany
Leadership
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Chief executive
- Carlos Gómez-Sáez Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Vorsitzender der Geschäftsführung
- Chair
- Dr. Imke Jacob Vorsitzende des Aufsichtsrats (Chair of the Supervisory Board)
- Chief financial officer
- Patrick Dittmer Chief Financial and Risk Officer (CFRO), Geschäftsführer
- Executive
- Dr. Helmut Wißmann Chief Product & Technology Officer (CPTO), Geschäftsführer
- Executive
- Tariq Noori Chief Operating Officer (COO) und Generalbevollmächtigter
Recent events 1 enforcement or investigation item
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
-
Other
Atruvia and DZ BANK agreed that credit card issuing processing moves from VR Payment to Atruvia from 1 January 2027.
atruvia.de ↗ -
Other
The firm and the cooperative financial network began offering Wero payments to online merchants.
pressebox.de ↗ -
Leadership
Dr. Helmut Wißmann, formerly managing director of paydirekt, joined the management board as Chief Product & Technology Officer.
vr-payment.de ↗ -
Leadership
Dr. Imke Jacob of DZ BANK became chair of the supervisory board, succeeding Thomas Ullrich, who left on 30 June 2025.
report.vr-payment.de ↗ -
Enforcement
BaFin fined the firm EUR 40,000 for supervisory failures that led to breaches of anti-money-laundering record-keeping duties and monitoring system deficiencies.
bafin.de ↗ -
Leadership
The firm appointed Tariq Noori, formerly of DZ BANK, as Chief Operating Officer and Generalbevollmächtigter.
vr-payment.de ↗
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
- Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
- 124190
- BIC
- Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
- How the LEI was matched
- Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address
- Elucidate firm ID
- 4d5c57c23bc9
Profile
- Type
- Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
- Regulation
- Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
- Main licence class
- E-Money / Stored Value Institution
- Activities
- Money remittance
- Payment services
- Card acquiring
- Payment initiation
- Account information
- E-money / stored value
- Licensed in
- Germany · Europe & Central Asia
- First registered
- 2018-07-05
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
- Direct parent
- DZ Bank AG Deutsche Zentral-Genossenschaftsbank, Frankfurt am Main · Germany529900HNOAA1KXQJUQ27 ↗
The DZ Bank AG Deutsche Zentral-Genossenschaftsbank, Frankfurt am Main group has 24 institutions in the directory, in 8 countries: 23 hold a BIC and 1 does not.
Including DZ Bank AG, Deutsche Zentral- Genossenschaftsbank, Reisebank AG, Teambank AG, DZ Bank AG Deutsche Zentral Genossenschaftsbank Frankfurt Am Main, DZ Bank AG Deutsche Zentral Genossenschaftsbank,new York Branch.
See the DZ Bank AG Deutsche Zentral-Genossenschaftsbank, Frankfurt am Main group →Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.
Addresses
- Address on the register
- Platz der Republik | 60325 Frankfurt am Main, Frankfurt am Main, 60325
- Country
- Germany
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.
- Identified by
- Name and postal address, with its LEI
- Postal address
- Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in two address lines
<FinInstnId>
<LEI>8945003QQ1SZLZ9H1231</LEI>
<Nm>VR Payment GmbH</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<PstCd>60325</PstCd>
<TwnNm>Frankfurt am Main</TwnNm>
<Ctry>DE</Ctry>
<AdrLine>Platz der Republik | 60325</AdrLine>
<AdrLine>Frankfurt am Main</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
- The address line repeats the town or postcode. Remove the repeat if your payment system rejects it.
CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.
The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.
Sources & method
Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.
An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.
Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Register for this page
- EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
- Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence
A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.
Book a demo