France · Payments & e-money

Alma

Alma is a French société par actions simplifiée (SAS) with its head office in Neuilly-sur-Seine. The Autorité de contrôle prudentiel et de résolution (ACPR) authorises it as both a payment institution and a financing company (société de financement), under CIB code 17408. Venture investors fund the firm, including Cathay Innovation, Eurazeo, Bpifrance, Seaya Ventures, Picus Capital and Tencent. It lets online and in-store merchants offer customers payment in 2 to 4 instalments, 10 or 12 instalment credit and pay-later options.

Licences and registrations

Held by Alma (LEI 969500GKKNYQSUM84673). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterPrudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority Payment institutionPayment Institution 839100575 France Active 2021-05-10 —
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • Account information
Search the register ↗
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

23,000

merchants · Group · 31 Dec 2025 · company statement ↗

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Venture-backed

Firm type

Lending or buy now, pay later

Trades as Alma

Ownership
Venture investors hold the firm, including Cathay Innovation, Eurazeo, Bpifrance (Large Venture), Seaya Ventures, Picus Capital, Tencent, GR Capital and Roosh Ventures. Their stakes are not disclosed.
Head office
176 Avenue Charles de Gaulle, 92200 Neuilly-sur-Seine, France
Company register
RCS Nanterre 839 100 575
Incorporated
2018
Founders
Louis Chatriot · Guillaume Desloges

Online

Websites & references
almapay.com ↗
docs.getalma.eu ↗ developer documentation
status.getalma.eu ↗ status page
dashboard.getalma.eu ↗ merchant dashboard
help.almapay.com ↗ help centre
Wikipedia ↗
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗
Sources · 9 pages consulted
  1. regafi.fr/spip.php?cat=21-TBR07&id_secteur=1&lang=fr&page=export&retrait=0&sort=sta_asc&type=advanc
  2. almapay.com/fr-FR/legal/mentions-legales
  3. almapay.com/fr-FR/clients
  4. almapay.com/fr-FR/presse
  5. datocms-assets.com/63692/1773656560-communique-de-presse-alma-franchit-le-cap-de-la-rentabilite-en-2025.pdf
  6. datocms-assets.com/63692/1681394209-alma-leve-210-millions-deuros-pour-batir-un-commerce-equilibre.pdf
  7. help.almapay.com/hc/fr/articles/4403454068626-Quelles-sont-les-informations-%C3%A0-ajouter-%C3%A0-mes-Cond
  8. prnewswire.com/news-releases/castlelake-announces-forward-flow-agreement-with-alma-to-purchase-over-3-bi
  9. fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alma_(entreprise)

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The ACPR authorises the firm as a payment institution and as a financing company (société de financement), under CIB code 17408. According to the EBA register, its payment services include card acquiring and account information.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Autorité de contrôle prudentiel et de résolution (ACPR) France Établissement de paiement (EBA register national identifier 839100575, since 10 May 2021; REGAFI ID 90786) 17408 In its own name Active help.almapay.com ↗
Autorité de contrôle prudentiel et de résolution (ACPR) France Société de financement (REGAFI ID 90786) 17408 In its own name Active help.almapay.com ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Not disclosedThe pages reviewed do not say how the firm safeguards funds received for merchants.
Payment schemes and card networks
CB (Cartes Bancaires) Access not stated almapay.com ↗
Visa Access not stated almapay.com ↗
Mastercard Access not stated almapay.com ↗
American Express Access not stated almapay.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Buy now, pay later
  • Lending
  • Merchant acquiring
  • Payment gateway

Merchants integrate Alma online or in store to offer payment in 2, 3 or 4 instalments, 10 or 12 instalment credit, pay-later in 15 or 30 days and one-off card payments. Alma pays the merchant upfront and collects the instalments from the consumer.

France is the main market. The firm runs country sites for Belgium, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Spain, Italy, Germany and Portugal, and says it is present in 10 countries.

Payment volume
EUR 2.5bnbusiness volume (volume d'affaires)Group · 31 Dec 2025 · company statement ↗
Sells to
Small businesses · Enterprises · Platforms and marketplaces · Consumers
Serves customers in 8 countries
France · Belgium · Luxembourg · Netherlands · Spain · Italy · Germany · Portugal
Latest funding round
Series C · EUR 115m Feb 2022datocms-assets.com ↗
Total raised
EUR 180m to Feb 2022 · datocms-assets.com ↗

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Louis Chatriot Président of Alma SAS and co-founder and CEO Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · almapay.com ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Other

    Alma reported EUR 2.5 billion of 2025 business volume, EUR 114 million of annual recurring revenue and its first positive net result.

    datocms-assets.com ↗
  2. Funding

    Castlelake agreed to buy over EUR 3 billion of Alma instalment receivables over 2.5 years, with senior financing from BNP Paribas and Santander CIB.

    prnewswire.com ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
839100575
BIC
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
How the LEI was matched
Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address
National bank code
FR-CIB 17408
Elucidate firm ID
f9cd6075ec88

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Main licence class
Payment Institution
Activities
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • Account information
Licensed in
France · Europe & Central Asia
First registered
2021-05-10

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

Addresses

Address on the register
176 avenue Charles de Gaulle, NEUILLY SUR SEINE, 92200
Country
France

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

Identified by
Name and postal address, with its LEI
Postal address
Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line
<FinInstnId>
  <LEI>969500GKKNYQSUM84673</LEI>
  <Nm>ALMA</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>92200</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>NEUILLY SUR SEINE</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>FR</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>176 avenue Charles de Gaulle</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

National bank codes

National bank-code directories, matched by LEI

CodeSchemeName in the directoryCity
17408 FR-CIB ALMA NEUILLY SUR SEINE

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Register for this page

  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

Book a demo