Portugal · Payments & e-money
ALTICE Pay, S.A.
Altice Pay, S.A. is a Portuguese public limited company based in Lisbon. The Banco de Portugal authorises it as a payment institution under registration number 8705. MEO, SGPS, S.A. (formerly PT Portugal, SGPS, S.A.), part of the Altice Portugal group, owns all of its shares. Under the MEO Wallet brand, it provides payment accounts and a payment platform for merchants in Portugal, together with a wallet for consumers.
Licences and registrations
Held by ALTICE Pay, S.A. (LEI 894500VERWYG8KWKTX87). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.
| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EBA PSD2 RegisterBank of Portugal | Payment institutionPayment Institution | 8705 | Portugal | Active | 2014-04-03 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
- Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
- Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.
Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Customers
Not published
Employees
Not published
Ownership
Group subsidiary
100% MEO, SGPS, S.A. (formerly PT Portugal, SGPS, S.A.)
Firm type
Merchant acquiring and processing
Trades as MEO Wallet
- Standing
- The firm was incorporated on 13 March 2013 as PT Pay, S.A. and was later renamed Altice Pay, S.A. It began commercial activity on 3 April 2014 after approval by the Banco de Portugal.
- Ownership
- MEO, SGPS, S.A. (formerly PT Portugal, SGPS, S.A.) holds 100% of the firm. According to the firm's 2025 accounts, Altice Portugal, S.A. wholly owned that shareholder at 31 December 2025.
- Direct parent
- MEO, SGPS, S.A. (formerly PT Portugal, SGPS, S.A.) ↗, Portugal 100%
- Ultimate owner
- Altice Portugal, S.A., Portugal
- Head office
- Avenida Fontes Pereira de Melo, n.º 40, 1069-300 Lisboa, Portugal
- Company register
- Conservatória do Registo Comercial de Lisboa / NIPC 510563090
- Incorporated
- 13 Mar 2013
- Former name
- PT Pay, S.A.
Online
- Websites & references
- wallet.pt ↗
developers.wallet.pt ↗ developer documentation
alticepay.pt ↗ Altice Pay payments site (fetch blocked)
Wikipedia ↗ group article - Official social accounts
- None found
- Apps
- App Store ↗ · Google Play ↗
Sources · 9 pages consulted
- wallet.pt/main/institutional
- wallet.pt/assets/docs/rc_anual_dezembro_2025.pdf
- wallet.pt/docs/download/MEO%20Wallet%20-%20TC%20Comerciante
- wallet.pt/
- wallet.pt/s/termos-e-condicoes
- wallet.pt/main/governance
- wallet.pt/main/security
- clientebancario.bportugal.pt/sites/default/files/precario/8705_/8705_PRE.pdf
- en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Altice_Portugal
Authorisation
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Operates under
- Its own licences
The Banco de Portugal authorises the firm as a payment institution under registration number 8705. According to the EBA register, its activities include money remittance and card acquiring.
| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Banco de Portugal Portugal | Instituição de pagamento (payment institution) | 8705 | In its own name | Active | wallet.pt ↗ |
Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.
Partners and safeguarding
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Safeguarding
- Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm states that customer funds go into a bank account opened in its name on behalf of its customers. It also states that balances are not bank deposits and are not covered by the Portuguese deposit guarantee fund.
- Payment schemes and card networks
- Multibanco references Access not stated wallet.pt ↗
MB WAY Access not stated wallet.pt ↗
Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.
Products and markets
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
The firm offers merchants one contract and one integration for card, Multibanco reference, MB WAY and MEO Wallet balance payments, online and in store. Its 2025 annual report describes it as a payment facilitator and names the merchant product as its main source of revenue.
The firm serves merchants and consumers in Portugal, including Madeira and the Azores. It accepts account top-ups only in euros from SEPA-country bank accounts.
- Revenue
- EUR 3.21m
- Sells to
- Small businesses · Enterprises · Consumers
- Serves customers in
- Portugal
Leadership
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Chair
- Gonçalo Nuno Manaças Camolino Presidente do Conselho de Administração (Chair of the Board of Directors)
- Executive
- Ana Sofia Aguiar dos Santos Vogal do Conselho de Administração (Board member)
- Executive
- Gonçalo Fernando de Salvado Marques Oliveira Vogal do Conselho de Administração (Board member)
- Executive
- Pedro Inácio Responsável pela segurança (Head of security)
Recent events
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
-
Other
The statutory auditor gave an unmodified opinion on the 2025 accounts. It added an emphasis of matter that more than half of the share capital had been lost.
wallet.pt ↗ -
Funding
The sole shareholder put EUR 300,000 into the firm through cash capital increases in March and October 2025.
wallet.pt ↗ -
Funding
The sole shareholder put EUR 350,000 into the firm through cash capital increases in March and November 2024.
wallet.pt ↗
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
- Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
- 8705
- BIC
- Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
- How the LEI was matched
- Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address
- Elucidate firm ID
- b2d02fff188a
Profile
- Type
- Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
- Regulation
- Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
- Main licence class
- Payment Institution
- Activities
- Money remittance
- Payment services
- Card acquiring
- Licensed in
- Portugal · Europe & Central Asia
- First registered
- 2014-04-03
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
- Direct parent
- Pt Portugal Sgps, S.A. · Portugal635400PCM3FCOFSFU686 ↗
Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.
Addresses
- Address on the register
- Av. Fontes Pereira de Melo, 40, Lisboa, 1069-300
- Country
- Portugal
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.
- Identified by
- Name and postal address, with its LEI
- Postal address
- Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line
<FinInstnId>
<LEI>894500VERWYG8KWKTX87</LEI>
<Nm>ALTICE Pay, S.A.</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<PstCd>1069-300</PstCd>
<TwnNm>Lisboa</TwnNm>
<Ctry>PT</Ctry>
<AdrLine>Av. Fontes Pereira de Melo, 40</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.
The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.
Sources & method
Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.
An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.
Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Register for this page
- EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
- Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence
A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.
Book a demo