Portugal · Payments & e-money

Ifthenpay Lda

IFTHENPAY, LDA is a Portuguese private limited company based in Santa Maria da Feira. The Banco de Portugal authorises it as a payment institution under register number 8707, with activity since 1 April 2014. Payten Holding S.A., part of the Warsaw-listed Asseco South Eastern Europe group, acquired 80% of the firm on 13 October 2023. Under the ifthenpay brand, businesses use it to collect payments by Multibanco reference, MB WAY, Payshop, cards, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Pix and SEPA direct debit, online and at payment terminals.

BICIFLDPTP2XXX LEI9845001E48WI813CF323 Licence no.8707 Reverse billingThe institution is connected to Swift. Messages sent to it are billed to the institution, not to the sender. The “2” in the eighth character of IFLDPTP2 marks reverse billing. Head-office BIC only Claim this profile

Licences and registrations

Held by Ifthenpay, Lda (LEI 9845001E48WI813CF323). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterBank of PortugalLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. Payment institutionPayment Institution 8707 Portugal Active 2014-04-01 —
  • Money remittance
  • Payment services
Search the register ↗

Trading names on the register: IFTHENPAY (EBA-PSD2)

  • Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
  • The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

BIC
IFLDPTP2XXX head office
Connection to Swift
Reverse billingThe institution is connected to Swift. Messages sent to it are billed to the institution, not to the sender. The “2” in the eighth character of IFLDPTP2 marks reverse billing.
Swift GPI
Not on the member list
Payment schemes and systems
No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
Branch codes
None: head-office BIC only
BIC first registered
2019-08-04
Last updated
2021-03-18

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

36,000

merchants · This entity · 29 Sep 2026 · company statement ↗

Employees

25

headcount · This entity · 24 Feb 2026 · company statement ↗

Ownership

Group subsidiary

80% Payten Holding S.A.

Firm type

Merchant acquiring and processing

Trades as ifthenpay

Ownership
Payten Holding S.A., a subsidiary of Asseco South Eastern Europe S.A., holds 80% of the firm, and according to press reports each of the two co-founders holds 10%.
Direct parent
Payten Holding S.A., Poland 80%
Ultimate owner
Asseco South Eastern Europe S.A., Poland
Head office
Rua do FeiraPark, n.º 50, Ala Esquerda do Rés-do-Chão, Edf. FeiraPark, São João de Ver, 4520-632 Santa Maria da Feira, Portugal (registered office: Rua S. José, N.º 771, 4535-404 Santa Maria de Lamas (Santa Maria da Feira), Portugal (address on the Banco de Portugal register and GLEIF record))
Company register
Portuguese NIPC (company number) 510450024
Founders
Filipe Moura · Nuno Breda

Online

Websites & references
ifthenpay.com ↗
helpdesk.ifthenpay.com ↗ help centre
ifthenpay.com/docs/en ↗ API documentation
backoffice.ifthenpay.com ↗ merchant back office
pinpay.pt ↗ Pinpay PIN-based payment service site
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗ · YouTube ↗ · GitHub ↗
Sources · 10 pages consulted
  1. bportugal.pt/en/entidadeautorizada/ifthenpay-lda
  2. ifthenpay.com/?lang=pt
  3. ifthenpay.com/assets/files/CONTRATO-IFTHENPAY-PT.pdf
  4. ifthenpay.com/accounts-and-reports/?lang=pt
  5. see.asseco.com/about/group-structure/
  6. asee.io/wp-content/uploads/2025/12/Group-Asseco-SEE-Management-report-Consolidated-and-Standalone
  7. payten.com/en/news-events/news/payten-continues-expansion-its-e-commerce-payment-business-across-eur
  8. jornaleconomico.sapo.pt/noticias/ifthenpay-viu-ebitda-crescer-21-em-2025-e-em-2026-quer-aumentar-o-volume-de-nego
  9. executivedigest.sapo.pt/volume-de-negocios-da-ifthenpay-cresce-16-em-2026-para-813-me/
  10. helpdesk.ifthenpay.com/pt-PT/support/solutions/articles/79000080704-quem-%C3%A9-a-ifthenpay

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The Banco de Portugal authorises and supervises the firm as a payment institution under register number 8707. The firm states that it is authorised to operate in European Economic Area countries, but does not say in how many host states it is passported.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Banco de Portugal Portugal Payment institution (Instituição de Pagamento) 8707 In its own name Active bportugal.pt ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm states that merchants' funds pass through a bank account in its name, used solely for this service and opened expressly on behalf of the users of the payment service.ifthenpay.com ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
Multibanco (payment references) Access not stated ifthenpay.com ↗
MB WAY Access not stated ifthenpay.com ↗
Payshop Access not stated ifthenpay.com ↗
SEPA Core Direct Debit Access not stated ifthenpay.com ↗
Visa Access not stated ifthenpay.com ↗
Mastercard Access not stated ifthenpay.com ↗
Pix Access not stated ifthenpay.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Payment gateway
  • Merchant acquiring

It lets merchants collect payments through Portuguese methods such as Multibanco references, MB WAY and Payshop, alongside cards, wallets, Pix and SEPA Core direct debits, with daily settlement to the merchant's SEPA bank account.

The firm states that it may operate across the European Economic Area under its Portuguese authorisation. Its co-founders said in February 2026 that it was growing in Spain and had started operating in Croatia.

Revenue
EUR 8.13mThis entity · 31 Dec 2025 · company statement ↗
Payment volume
EUR 1.8bntotal payments processed (approximate)This entity · 31 Dec 2025 · company statement ↗
Sells to
Small businesses · Enterprises · Public sector · Other
Serves customers in 2 countries
Portugal · Spain

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Founder
Carlos Filipe Quintas Moura (Filipe Moura) Manager (gerente) and co-founder Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · bportugal.pt ↗
Founder
Nuno André Coutinho Freitas Breda (Nuno Breda) Manager (gerente) and co-founder Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · bportugal.pt ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Merger / acquisition

    Payten Holding S.A., part of the Asseco South Eastern Europe group, acquired 80% of the firm's shares on 13 October 2023.

    asee.io ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Head-office record

BIC
IFLDPTP2XXX
How the BIC breaks down
  1. IFLDBank
  2. PTCountry · Portugal
  3. P2Location · reverse billing
  4. XXXBranch · head office
Branch description
Not recorded in the directory
LEI
9845001E48WI813CF323
LEI record
View on GLEIF ↗
Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
8707
How the LEI was matched
BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address.
Register-entry ID
9e0f12f562a2

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Register licences
1 entry on 1 register
Activities
  • Money remittance
  • Payment services
Licensed in
Portugal
Country · region
Portugal · Europe & Central Asia
Banking supervision
Not on the ECB's list of supervised entities as of 2026-07-01
Trading venues (MIC)
No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
OFAC sanctions
No listing cites this BIC
EU sanctions
No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
Country sanctions
No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

Addresses

Registered address
IFTHENPAY RUA S. JOSE 771 SANTA MARIA DA FEIRA 4535-404 PORTUGAL
Operational address
IFTHENPAY RUA S. JOSE 771 SANTA MARIA DA FEIRA 4535-404 SANTA MARIA DA FEIRA PORTUGAL

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

Identified by
BIC, with its LEI
Roles in CBPR+
Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents

CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>IFLDPTP2XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>9845001E48WI813CF323</LEI>
</FinInstnId>

Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>IFLDPTP2XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>9845001E48WI813CF323</LEI>
  <Nm>IFTHENPAY LDA</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <TwnNm>SANTA MARIA DA FEIRA</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>PT</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>IFTHENPAY RUA S. JOSE 771 SANTA MARIA DA FEIRA 4535-404</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

Claim this profile

Work at Ifthenpay Lda?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

  1. 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
  2. 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
  3. 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Claim received

Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Credits for this page

  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
  • Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: ifthenpay.com (official website) · original.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

Book a demo