
Portugal · Payments & e-money
Lusopay Instituicao de Pagamento, Lda
Legal name in the LEI recordLUSOPAY INSTITUIÇÃO DE PAGAMENTO, LDA
LUSOPAY, Instituição de Pagamento, Lda is a Portuguese private limited company (Lda) based in São Félix da Marinha, Vila Nova de Gaia. Banco de Portugal authorises it as a payment institution under register number 8700. The firm says its licence allows it to operate in all EU countries. It sells payment collection services to businesses, sole traders, associations and public bodies. These include Multibanco and Payshop references, MB WAY, direct debits, card acceptance online and at card terminals, and PIX. It was founded in 2007 as Magnimeios, Lda. It began operating as a payment institution on 12 July 2011 and took its current name in August 2014.
Licences and registrations
Held by Lusopay Instituição de Pagamento, Lda (LEI 213800ALAYXML9EXV983). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.
| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EBA PSD2 RegisterBank of PortugalLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. | Payment institutionPayment Institution | 8700 | Portugal | Active | 2011-07-12 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
Trading names on the register: LUSOPAY (EBA-PSD2)
- Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
- Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
- Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
- The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
- BIC
- LIPDPTP2XXX head office
- Connection to Swift
- Reverse billingThe institution is connected to Swift. Messages sent to it are billed to the institution, not to the sender. The “2” in the eighth character of LIPDPTP2 marks reverse billing.
- Swift GPI
- Not on the member list
- Payment schemes and systems
- No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
- Branch codes
- None: head-office BIC only
- BIC first registered
- 2024-04-10
- Last updated
- 2024-04-10
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Customers
Not published
Employees
Not published
Ownership
Privately held
Firm type
Merchant acquiring and processing
Trades as Lusopay
- Ownership
- The firm is a private limited company with share capital of EUR 125,000. Its shareholders are not disclosed in the sources reviewed.
- Head office
- Estrada de Brito, 536, 4410-206 São Félix da Marinha, Portugal
- Company register
- NIPC 508285410
- Incorporated
- 2007
- Former names
- Magnimeios Instituição de Pagamento, Lda · Magnimeios, Lda
Online
- Websites & references
- lusopay.com ↗
app.lusopay.com ↗ customer area (homebanking) - Official social accounts
- None found
Sources · 10 pages consulted
- bportugal.pt/en/entidadeautorizada/lusopay-instituicao-de-pagamento-lda
- lusopay.com
- lusopay.com/termos-de-adesao
- lusopay.com/en/sobre
- lusopay.com/contactos
- lusopay.com/documentos-legais
- lusopay.com/cartoes
- lusopay.com/instituicao-de-pagamento/
- lusopay.com/politica-de-privacidade/
- clientebancario.bportugal.pt/sites/default/files/precario/8700_/8700_pre.pdf
Authorisation
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Operates under
- Its own licences
Banco de Portugal authorises the firm as a payment institution under register number 8700. The firm says it registered this licence with the central banks of all EU member states in December 2015 and January 2016.
| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Banco de Portugal Portugal | Payment institution (Instituição de Pagamento) | 8700 | In its own name | Active | bportugal.pt ↗ |
Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.
Partners and safeguarding
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Safeguarding
- Not disclosedThe firm's terms state that it complies with Banco de Portugal requirements for protecting customer funds. They do not describe the method or name a safeguarding bank.
- Payment schemes and card networks
- Multibanco references (SIBS) Access not stated lusopay.com ↗
MB WAY (SIBS) Access not stated lusopay.com ↗
Payshop Access not stated lusopay.com ↗
SEPA Direct Debit Through a partner lusopay.com ↗
Visa Access not stated lusopay.com ↗
Mastercard Access not stated lusopay.com ↗
PIX Access not stated lusopay.com ↗
Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.
Products and markets
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
It lets merchants collect payments through Multibanco and Payshop references, MB WAY, SEPA direct debits, Visa, Mastercard and Maestro cards (online, by payment link and at card terminals) and PIX. It also sells a PEP and sanctions screening service.
It serves mainly merchants in Portugal. The firm says it is authorised to operate in every EU country under its Portuguese licence.
- Sells to
- Small businesses · Enterprises · Public sector · Other
- Serves customers in
- Portugal
Leadership
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Executive
- José António da Silva Ferreira Ribeiro Manager (gerente)
- Executive
- Paulo Jorge de Freitas Alexandre Manager (gerente)
- Executive
- Vanessa Martins Named contact, Compliance Department, fraud reporting section
Recent events
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
-
Other
The firm began offering direct debit collection and card terminals accepting debit and credit cards, Google Pay and Apple Pay.
lusopay.com ↗
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
Head-office record
- BIC
- LIPDPTP2XXX
- How the BIC breaks down
- LIPDBank
- PTCountry · Portugal
- P2Location · reverse billing
- XXXBranch · head office
- Branch description
- Not recorded in the directory
- LEI
- 213800ALAYXML9EXV983
- LEI record
- View on GLEIF ↗
- Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
- 8700
- How the LEI was matched
- BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address.
- Register-entry ID
- 84e1d6ccc926
Profile
- Type
- Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
- Regulation
- Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
- Register licences
- 1 entry on 1 register
- Activities
- Money remittance
- Payment services
- Card acquiring
- Licensed in
- Portugal
- Country · region
- Portugal · Europe & Central Asia
- Banking supervision
- Not on the ECB's list of supervised entities as of 2026-07-01
- Trading venues (MIC)
- No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
- OFAC sanctions
- No listing cites this BIC
- EU sanctions
- No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
- Country sanctions
- No country programme
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.
Addresses
- Registered address
- AVENIDA MANUEL VIOLAS, 476, S.28.1 SAO FELIX DA MARINHA 4410-137 PORTUGAL
- Operational address
- AVENIDA MANUEL VIOLAS, 476, S.28.1 SAO FELIX DA MARINHA 4410-137 SAO FELIX DA MARINHA PORTUGAL
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.
- Identified by
- BIC, with its LEI
- Roles in CBPR+
- Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents
CBPR+
For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>LIPDPTP2XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>213800ALAYXML9EXV983</LEI>
</FinInstnId>
Full record
Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>LIPDPTP2XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>213800ALAYXML9EXV983</LEI>
<Nm>LUSOPAY INSTITUICAO DE PAGAMENTO, LDA</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<TwnNm>SAO FELIX DA MARINHA</TwnNm>
<Ctry>PT</Ctry>
<AdrLine>AVENIDA MANUEL VIOLAS, 476, S.28.1 SAO FELIX DA MARINHA 4410-137</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.
Claim this profile
Work at Lusopay Instituicao de Pagamento, Lda?
Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.
- 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
- 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
- 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.
Claim received
Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.
The claim was not sent. Try again, or email contact@elucidate.co.
Sources & method
Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.
Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.
Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Credits for this page
- EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
- Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: lusopay.com (official website) · original.
Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC
A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.
Book a demo