- Directory
- United Kingdom
- American Express Payment Services Limited
United Kingdom · Payments & e-money
American Express Payment Services Limited
Trading asAmerican Express
American Express Payment Services Limited (AEPSL) is a private limited company registered in England and Wales, with its head office in London. The FCA authorises it as a payment institution under the Payment Services Regulations 2017 (reference 484347), including payment initiation and account information services. It is a wholly owned subsidiary of American Express International, Inc., whose ultimate parent is American Express Company. The firm acquires UK merchants for American Express card acceptance and runs the Pay with Bank transfer open banking service. For that service it acts as a distributor of Modulr FS Limited, which provides the related accounts and payment services.
Licences and registrations
Held by American Express Payment Services Limited (LEI 5493002EJ11E5XUNFT62). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.
| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FCA Financial Services Register - Payment Institutions & RAISPsFCA | Authorised Payment InstitutionPayment Institution | 484347 | United Kingdom | Active | 2018-05-17 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
Trading names on the register: American Express (FCA-PSD)
- Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
- Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.
Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Customers
Not published
Ownership
Group subsidiary
100% American Express International, Inc.
Firm type
Merchant acquiring and processing
Trades as American Express
- Ownership
- American Express International, Inc. owns 100% of the firm, and American Express Company is its ultimate parent and controlling entity.
- Direct parent
- American Express International, Inc. ↗, United States 100%
- Ultimate owner
- American Express Company, United States
- Major shareholder
- American Express Company (person with significant control, 75% or more of shares and voting rights)
- Head office
- Belgrave House, 76 Buckingham Palace Road, SW1W 9AX London, United Kingdom
- Company register
- Companies House 06301718
- Incorporated
- 4 Jul 2007
- Former name
- ALNERY NO. 2710 LIMITED
Online
- Websites & references
- americanexpress.com ↗
developer.americanexpress.com ↗ developer documentation for Pay with Bank transfer (group developer portal) - Official social accounts
- X ↗ · Facebook ↗
Sources · 10 pages consulted
- find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/06301718
- find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/06301718/officers
- find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/06301718/persons-with-significant-control
- find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/06301718/filing-history
- find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/06301718/filing-history/MzUzMjU3NTExMWFkaXF6a2N4/document?format=pdf&download=0
- americanexpress.com/en-gb/company/about/information/
- americanexpress.com/en-gb/merchant/pay-with-bank-transfer/merchant/
- americanexpress.com/en-gb/merchant/pay-with-bank-transfer/cardmember/
- openbanking.org.uk/regulated-providers/american-express/
- digitaltransactions.net/nuvei-teams-up-with-amex-to-bring-open-banking-technology-to-its-u-k-merchants/
Authorisation
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Operates under
- Several models
- Licensed firm it operates under
- Modulr FS Limited, United Kingdom The firm is a distributor of Modulr FS Limited (FCA electronic money institution, FRN 900573), which provides the accounts and related payment services for Pay with Bank transfer.
The FCA authorises the firm as a payment institution under the Payment Services Regulations 2017, including payment initiation and account information services. For Pay with Bank transfer accounts, it acts as a distributor of Modulr FS Limited, an FCA-authorised electronic money institution.
| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Financial Conduct Authority United Kingdom | Authorised Payment Institution | 484347 | In its own name | Active | register.fca.org.uk ↗ |
Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.
Partners and safeguarding
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Safeguarding
- Not disclosedThe firm publishes no safeguarding statement for its acquiring business. For Pay with Bank transfer accounts, it states that Modulr FS Limited holds funds in segregated accounts under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011.
- Safeguarding bank · Partner
- Modulr FS Limited United Kingdom
- Settlement bank
- American Express Travel Related Services Company, Inc. United States
- Payment schemes and card networks
- American Express network Access not stated find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Faster Payments Through a partner americanexpress.com ↗
Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.
Products and markets
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
The firm acquires UK merchants for acceptance of American Express cards, directly and through payment facilitators and processors. It also runs Pay with Bank transfer, an open banking payment initiation service for UK merchants.
According to its 2025 accounts, all of the firm's turnover originated in the UK. It also has a branch in Germany that handles local employee obligations.
- Revenue
- GBP 1.32bn
- Sells to
- Enterprises · Small businesses · Platforms and marketplaces
- Serves customers in
- United Kingdom
Leadership
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Chair
- Daniel James Edelman Chair
- Chief financial officer
- Julia Anne Huson Chief Financial Officer (director)
- Executive
- Holly Samantha Coventry Director
- Executive
- Colin Derek Allen Director
- Executive
- Shachi Maheshwari Director
- Executive
- Keith Michael McDonald Director
Recent events
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
-
Leadership
The firm appointed Julia Huson as director and Chief Financial Officer on 1 October 2025.
find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗ -
Leadership
The firm appointed Colin Allen as a director on 5 September 2025.
find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗ -
Leadership
David Bailey resigned as director and Chief Financial Officer on 3 July 2025.
find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗ -
Leadership
Directors Nousheh Paris and Christine Rivera resigned from the board in May 2025.
find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗ -
Leadership
Alan Holmes resigned as a director on 18 February 2025.
find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗ -
Other
Nuvei agreed with American Express to sell the Pay with Bank transfer service to merchants in the United Kingdom.
digitaltransactions.net ↗
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
- Licence no. · FCA-PSD
- 484347
- BIC
- Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
- How the LEI was matched
- Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives
- Elucidate firm ID
- acf836273e1f
Profile
- Type
- Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
- Regulation
- Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
- Main licence class
- Payment Institution
- Activities
- Payment services
- Licensed in
- United Kingdom · Europe & Central Asia
- First registered
- 2018-05-17
- Website
- www.americanexpress.co.uk ↗
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
- Direct parent
- American Express International, Inc. · United States549300M7QEXI34E8GF28 ↗
- Ultimate parent
- American Express Company · United StatesR4PP93JZOLY261QX3811 ↗
The American Express Company group has 9 institutions in the directory, in 6 countries: 7 hold a BIC and 2 do not.
Including American Express Europe, S.A., American Express Services Europe Limited, American Express Travel Related Services Company, Inc., American Express Australia Limited, American Express Bank LLC.
See the American Express Company group →Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.
Addresses
- Address on the register
- Belgrave House, 76 Buckingham Palace Road, London, SW1W 9AX
- Country
- United Kingdom
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.
- Identified by
- Name and postal address, with its LEI
- Postal address
- Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in two address lines
<FinInstnId>
<LEI>5493002EJ11E5XUNFT62</LEI>
<Nm>American Express Payment Services Limited</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<PstCd>SW1W 9AX</PstCd>
<TwnNm>London</TwnNm>
<Ctry>GB</Ctry>
<AdrLine>Belgrave House</AdrLine>
<AdrLine>76 Buckingham Palace Road</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.
The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.
Sources & method
Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.
An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.
Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Register for this page
- FCA Financial Services Register - Payment Institutions & RAISPs—Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
- Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence
A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.
Book a demo