- Directory
- United Kingdom
- Instinet Europe Limited
United Kingdom · Payments & e-money
Instinet Europe Limited
Instinet Europe Limited is a private limited company registered in England and based in London. The Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) authorises it as an investment firm under Firm Reference Number 140822. The FCA also authorises it as a payment institution under the Payment Services Regulations 2017. Instinet International Limited owns it, and its ultimate parent is Nomura Holdings, Inc. It acts as an agency broker and general clearing member for institutional clients. It also operates the BlockMatch UK multilateral trading facility and the Plazma commission management platform, which includes research payments.
Licences and registrations
Held by Instinet Europe Limited (LEI 213800MXAKR2LA1VBM44). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.
| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FCA Financial Services Register - Payment Institutions & RAISPsFCALinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives. | Authorised Payment InstitutionPayment Institution | 140822 | United Kingdom | Active | 2018-06-18 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
- Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
- Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
- Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
- The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
- BIC
- ISNTGB2LXXX head office
- Connection to Swift
- Connected to SwiftThis BIC is registered as a live address on the Swift network. The institution sends and receives Swift messages under ISNTGB2L directly.
- Swift GPI
- Not on the member list
- Payment schemes and systems
- No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
- Branch codes
- 3 branch codes
- BIC first registered
- 1996-06-01
- Last updated
- 2021-02-06
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Customers
Not published
Employees
Not published
Ownership
Group subsidiary
Instinet International Limited
Firm type
Investment or brokerage
Trades as Instinet
- Ownership
- Instinet International Limited (Companies House 01428443) holds 75% or more of the shares and voting rights, and Nomura Holdings, Inc. is the ultimate parent according to the GLEIF record.
- Direct parent
- Instinet International Limited, United Kingdom
- Ultimate owner
- Nomura Holdings, Inc., Japan
- Head office
- 1 Angel Lane, EC4R 3AB London, United Kingdom
- Company register
- Companies House 01915961
- Incorporated
- 22 May 1985
- Former names
- INSTINET UK LIMITED · JUSTWORTHY LIMITED
Online
- Websites & references
- instinet.com ↗
Wikipedia ↗ group article - Official social accounts
- None found
Sources · 14 pages consulted
- find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/01915961
- find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/01915961/officers
- find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/01915961/persons-with-significant-control
- register.fca.org.uk/servlet/servlet.FileDownload?file=015b0000006CXC7
- register.fca.org.uk/servlet/servlet.FileDownload?file=0150X000006gbb6
- instinet.com/
- instinet.com/blockmatch-uk
- instinet.com/legal-regulatory
- instinet.com/why-instinet
- instinet.com/commission-management
- instinet.com/documents/gcm-terms-and-conditions
- instinet.com/documents/client-complaint-procedure
- instinet.com/sites/default/files/pdf_articles/Instinet_Europe_Receives_Authorisation_As_Payment_Inst.p
- fca.org.uk/news/press-releases/fsa-issues-fines-totalling-%C2%A342m-transaction-reporting-failures
Authorisation
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Operates under
- Its own licences
The FCA authorises the firm as an investment firm, which covers its brokerage and its operation of the BlockMatch UK multilateral trading facility. The FCA also authorises it as a payment institution under regulation 6 of the Payment Services Regulations 2017.
| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Financial Conduct Authority United Kingdom | Authorised investment firm (including operator of the BlockMatch UK multilateral trading facility) | 140822 | In its own name | Active | instinet.com ↗ |
| Financial Conduct Authority United Kingdom | Authorised Payment Institution | 140822 | In its own name | Active | instinet.com ↗ |
Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.
Products and markets
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
The firm provides agency execution, clearing and trading-venue services in equities to professional clients and eligible counterparties. Its payment service lets asset managers pay research and brokerage providers through the Plazma platform.
The firm serves professional clients from the UK under its FCA authorisations, while a sister company, Instinet Germany GmbH, distributes the group's services in the EEA.
- Sells to
- Financial institutions · Enterprises
- Serves customers in
- United Kingdom
Leadership
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Chief executive
-
Richard William Parsons
Chief Executive Officer, Instinet Europe (also CEO of Instinet Incorporated); Director
- Executive
- Magnus Henry Peter Falk Director
- Executive
- Jonathan Wayne Lewis Director
- Executive
- Shogo Ohira Director
- Executive
- Michelle Sylvia Rodrigues Company Secretary
Recent events
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
-
Leadership
The firm appointed Shogo Ohira as a director on 28 July 2026, according to Companies House.
find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗ -
Leadership
The firm appointed Jonathan Wayne Lewis as a director on 1 November 2024, according to Companies House.
find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
Head-office record
- BIC
- ISNTGB2LXXX
- How the BIC breaks down
- ISNTBank
- GBCountry · United Kingdom
- 2LLocation
- XXXBranch · head office
- Branch description
- Not recorded in the directory
- LEI
- 213800MXAKR2LA1VBM44
- LEI record
- View on GLEIF ↗
- Licence no. · FCA-PSD
- 140822
- How the LEI was matched
- BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives.
- Register-entry ID
- 83bf1374080b
Profile
- Type
- Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
- Regulation
- Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
- Register licences
- 1 entry on 1 register
- Activities
- Payment services
- Licensed in
- United Kingdom
- Website (register)
- www.instinet.com ↗
- Country · region
- United Kingdom · Europe & Central Asia
- Trading venues (MIC)
- Operates 5 MICs list of 2026-09-17
- OFAC sanctions
- No listing cites this BIC
- EU sanctions
- No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
- Country sanctions
- No country programme
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
- Direct parent
- Nomura Holdings, Inc. · Japan549300B3CEAHYG7K8164 ↗
The Nomura Holdings, Inc. group has 42 institutions in the directory, in 18 countries: all hold a BIC.
Including Nomura Bank (Luxembourg) S.A., Banque Nomura France S.A., Nomura Holding America Inc., Nomura International PLC, Nomura Securities International Inc.
See the Nomura Holdings, Inc. group →Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.
Addresses
- Registered address
- ANGEL LANE 1 LONDON EC4R 3AB UNITED KINGDOM
- Operational address
- 1 ANGEL LANE LONDON LONDON EC4R 3AB UNITED KINGDOM
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.
- Identified by
- BIC, with its LEI
- Roles in CBPR+
- Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents
CBPR+
For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>ISNTGB2LXXX</BICFI>
<LEI>213800MXAKR2LA1VBM44</LEI>
</FinInstnId>
Full record
Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>ISNTGB2LXXX</BICFI>
<LEI>213800MXAKR2LA1VBM44</LEI>
<Nm>INSTINET EUROPE LIMITED</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<TwnNm>LONDON</TwnNm>
<Ctry>GB</Ctry>
<AdrLine>ANGEL LANE 1 LONDON EC4R 3AB</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.
Market identifiers
5 trading venues and reporting services run under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
| MIC | Market | Kind | Category |
|---|---|---|---|
| XIEL | INSTINET EUROPE LIMITED | Operating MIC | Not specified |
| BLOX | BLOCKMATCH UK DARK | Segment of XIEL | Multilateral trading facility |
| BNTW | BLOCKMATCH UK NT | Segment of XIEL | Multilateral trading facility |
| BRFQ | BLOCKMATCH UK SELECT | Segment of XIEL | Multilateral trading facility |
| IOTC | INSTINET EUROPE LIMITED OTC | Segment of XIEL | Not specified |
Network
Branch network
All 3 branch BICs connect to the head office. They are all in London, and no function or registration year splits them further.
Hover over a branch or group to see its details
Branch codes
| BIC | Branch | City | Address | LEI | Updated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ISNTGB2LGCM | INSTINET EUROPE LIMITED - GCM | London | 1 ANGEL LANE LONDON LONDON EC4R 3AB UNITED KINGDOM | 213800MXAKR2LA1VBM44 | 2023-08-12 |
| ISNTGB2LTFS | TFS | London | 1 ANGEL LANE LONDON LONDON EC4R 3AB UNITED KINGDOM | 213800MXAKR2LA1VBM44 | 2020-10-31 |
| ISNTGB2LTGT | INSTINET EUROPE LIMITED TARGET 2 | London | 1 ANGEL LANE LONDON LONDON EC4R 3AB UNITED KINGDOM | 213800MXAKR2LA1VBM44 | 2018-07-04 |
Claim this profile
Work at Instinet Europe Limited?
Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.
- 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
- 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
- 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.
Claim received
Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.
The claim was not sent. Try again, or email contact@elucidate.co.
Sources & method
Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.
Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.
Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Credits for this page
- FCA Financial Services Register - Payment Institutions & RAISPs—Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
- Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
- Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: instinet.com (official website); Richard William Parsons: instinet.com (official website) · original.
Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC
A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.
Book a demo