United Kingdom · Payments & e-money

Bcb Payments Limited

BCB Payments Limited is a private limited company registered in England and Wales, with its head office in London. The FCA authorises it as an authorised payment institution under the Payment Services Regulations 2017, with firm reference number 807377. It is a subsidiary of BCB Group Holdings Limited and is the UK payments entity of the BCB Group. It provides multi-currency business payment accounts, FX and access to the group's BLINC instant settlement network to digital-asset firms, such as exchanges, market makers and funds. In January 2026 it registered with FINTRAC in Canada as a foreign money services business.

BICBCPYGB2LXXX LEI984500EC0995BSC69210 Licence no.807377 Connected to SwiftThis BIC is registered as a live address on the Swift network. The institution sends and receives Swift messages under BCPYGB2L directly. Head-office BIC only Claim this profile

Licences and registrations

Held by Bcb Payments Limited (LEI 984500EC0995BSC69210). 2 entries on 2 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
FCA Financial Services Register - Payment Institutions & RAISPsFCALinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives. Authorised Payment InstitutionPayment Institution 807377 United Kingdom Active 2018-06-28 —
  • Payment services
Search the register ↗
Money Services Business RegistryFINTRACLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. Foreign MSB (FMSB)Payment Institution C10001669 Canada Active 2026-01-19 Renews 2028-04-30
  • Payment services
Search the register ↗

Licences and registrations listed here were granted in Canada. This BIC is registered in the United Kingdom.

Trading names on the register: BCBGroup.io (FCA-PSD), BCB Group (FCA-PSD, FINTRAC-MSB)

  • Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
  • The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

BIC
BCPYGB2LXXX head office
Connection to Swift
Connected to SwiftThis BIC is registered as a live address on the Swift network. The institution sends and receives Swift messages under BCPYGB2L directly.
Swift GPI
Not on the member list
Payment schemes and systems
No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
Branch codes
None: head-office BIC only
Other BIC with this LEI
BCPYGB22
BIC first registered
2026-04-04
Last updated
2026-07-11

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

2

headcount · This entity · 31 Dec 2024 · annual report ↗

Ownership

Group subsidiary

BCB Group Holdings Limited

Firm type

FX and business payments

Trades as BCB Group

Ownership
BCB Group Holdings Limited (Companies House 11312470) holds 75% or more of the shares and voting rights and is the firm's immediate and ultimate parent.
Direct parent
BCB Group Holdings Limited ↗, United Kingdom
Head office
Bloomsbury House, 74-77 Great Russell Street, WC1B 3DA London, United Kingdom
Company register
Companies House 11313622
Incorporated
17 Apr 2018
Founders
Oliver Tonkin · Oliver von Landsberg-Sadie

Online

Websites & references
bcbgroup.com ↗ did not load when checked
Official social accounts
None found
Sources · 17 pages consulted
  1. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/11313622
  2. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/11313622/officers
  3. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/11313622/persons-with-significant-control
  4. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/11313622/filing-history
  5. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/11313622/filing-history/MzQ4MzI3MTEzNWFkaXF6a2N4/document?format=pdf&download=0
  6. register.fca.org.uk/s/firm?id=0010X000049MsMYQA0
  7. fca.org.uk/news/warnings/btm-refund-clone-fca-authorised-firm
  8. fca.org.uk/news/warnings/safebtccompany-clone-fca-authorised-firm
  9. bcbgroup.com/about/our-company/
  10. bcbgroup.com/payment-accounts/
  11. bcbgroup.com/
  12. bcbgroup.com/insights/tim-renew-set-to-steer-bcb-groups-global-expansion-as-ceo/
  13. coindesk.com/business/2026/01/29/crypto-payments-firm-bcb-group-appoints-tim-renew-as-ceo-in-leadershi
  14. bcbgroup.com/customer-protection/
  15. finance.yahoo.com/news/crypto-payments-firm-bcb-group-060000075.html
  16. finance.yahoo.com/news/crypto-payments-firm-bcb-group-142454372.html
  17. coindesk.com/business/2022/01/25/crypto-payments-service-provider-bcb-group-raises-60m-series-a?output

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The FCA authorises the firm as an authorised payment institution under the Payment Services Regulations 2017, with firm reference number 807377. FINTRAC registers it as a foreign money services business in Canada.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) United Kingdom Authorised Payment Institution 807377 In its own name Active register.fca.org.uk ↗
Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (FINTRAC) Canada Foreign Money Services Business (FMSB) C10001669 In its own name Active —

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Segregated safeguarding accountsAccording to its 2024 accounts, client funds are segregated from the firm's own funds. They are held in safeguarding bank accounts, in term deposits at banks and in approved money market funds, under the FCA safeguarding rules.find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
Swift Direct
Faster Payments Access not stated bcbgroup.com ↗
CHAPS Access not stated bcbgroup.com ↗
SEPA Instant Credit Transfer Access not stated bcbgroup.com ↗
SEPA Credit Transfer Access not stated bcbgroup.com ↗
T2 Access not stated bcbgroup.com ↗
Fedwire Access not stated bcbgroup.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Multi currency accounts
  • Domestic payments
  • International money transfer
  • FX conversion

According to the group, its payment accounts cover more than 20 fiat currencies. It says they connect to Faster Payments, CHAPS, SEPA, T2, Fedwire and Swift, and to its closed-loop BLINC network for digital-asset businesses.

The firm serves business clients from the UK under its FCA authorisation and is registered with FINTRAC to serve clients in Canada.

Payment volume
USD 230bnannual transaction volume (BCB Group, stated as more than USD 230 billion)Group · 31 Dec 2025 · company statement ↗
Sells to
Financial institutions · Enterprises · Platforms and marketplaces
Serves customers in 2 countries
United Kingdom · Canada
Latest funding round
Series A · USD 60m Jan 2022Led by Foundation Capitalcoindesk.com ↗

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Tim Renew Chief Executive Officer, BCB Group; director of BCB Payments Limited since 30 April 2026 Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Founder
Oliver Tonkin Co-founder and President, BCB Group; director of BCB Payments Limited since 17 April 2018 Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Executive
Vesna McCreery Director (appointed 19 August 2026) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗

Recent events 1 enforcement or investigation item

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Leadership

    Natasha Powell resigned as a director on 19 August 2026, and Vesna McCreery was appointed a director the same day.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
  2. Leadership

    The firm appointed Tim Renew as a director on 30 April 2026.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
  3. Leadership

    BCB Group appointed deputy CEO Tim Renew as CEO, and co-founder Oliver Tonkin became President.

    bcbgroup.com ↗
  4. Investigation

    CoinDesk reported, citing unnamed sources, that the FCA had issued BCB a section 166 notice in late 2023. The sources said the inquiry was closed.

    finance.yahoo.com ↗
  5. Leadership

    Oliver von Landsberg-Sadie resigned as a director on 21 November 2023, and Oliver Tonkin succeeded him as group CEO.

    finance.yahoo.com ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Regulator warnings

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Impersonation Financial Conduct Authority (FCA), United Kingdom

    The FCA warned that a clone firm called SafeBTCCompany was falsely claiming to be the firm, and named BCB Payments Limited as the genuine firm.

    fca.org.uk ↗
  2. Impersonation Financial Conduct Authority (FCA), United Kingdom

    The FCA warned that a clone firm called BTM Refund was falsely claiming to be the firm, and named BCB Payments Limited as the genuine firm.

    fca.org.uk ↗

Entries on regulators’ consumer-warning lists that name the firm or its brand. An impersonation warning is about fraudsters posing as the firm, not about the firm itself.

Identifiers

Head-office record

BIC
BCPYGB2LXXX
How the BIC breaks down
  1. BCPYBank
  2. GBCountry · United Kingdom
  3. 2LLocation
  4. XXXBranch · head office
Branch description
Not recorded in the directory
LEI
984500EC0995BSC69210
LEI record
View on GLEIF ↗
Licence no. · FCA-PSD
807377
Licence no. · FINTRAC-MSB
C10001669
How the LEI was matched
BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address.
Register-entry IDs
fa67a9143275 · ea4c7c7933d0

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Register licences
2 entries on 2 registers
Activities
  • Payment services
Licensed in
United Kingdom · Canada
Website (register)
Bcbgroup.io ↗
Country · region
United Kingdom · Europe & Central Asia
Trading venues (MIC)
No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
OFAC sanctions
No listing cites this BIC
EU sanctions
No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
Country sanctions
No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

Direct parent
Bcb Group Holdings Limited · United Kingdom984500C3C8C5D6EAM379 ↗

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

Addresses

Registered address
BLOOMSBURY HOUSE GREAT RUSSELL STREET 74-77 LONDON WC1B 3DA UNITED KINGDOM
Operational address
BLOOMSBURY HOUSE 74-77 GREAT RUSSELL STREET LONDON LONDON WC1B 3DA UNITED KINGDOM

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

Identified by
BIC, with its LEI
Roles in CBPR+
Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents

CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>BCPYGB2LXXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>984500EC0995BSC69210</LEI>
</FinInstnId>

Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>BCPYGB2LXXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>984500EC0995BSC69210</LEI>
  <Nm>BCB PAYMENTS LIMITED</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <TwnNm>LONDON</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>GB</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>BLOOMSBURY HOUSE GREAT RUSSELL STREET 74-77 LONDON WC1B 3DA</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

Claim this profile

Work at Bcb Payments Limited?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

  1. 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
  2. 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
  3. 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Claim received

Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Credits for this page

  • FCA Financial Services Register - Payment Institutions & RAISPs—Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Money Services Business Registry—Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (FINTRAC) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
  • Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: bcbgroup.com (official website) · original.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

Book a demo