France · Crypto

Coinshares Asset Management

CoinShares Asset Management is a French simplified joint-stock company (SAS) based in Paris. The AMF authorises it as an alternative investment fund manager under number GP-19000015. Since 17 July 2025 the AMF has also authorised it under MiCA (licence N2025-002) to give advice on crypto-assets and to manage crypto-asset portfolios. It belongs to the CoinShares group, which is headed by CoinShares PLC of Jersey, and CoinShares International Limited acquired it in June 2022, when it was named Napoleon Asset Management.

Licences and registrations

Held by Coinshares Asset Management (LEI 969500DBF3ZL9U0KUA51). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
ESMA interim MiCA register of crypto-asset service providersAutorité des Marchés Financiers (AMF) Crypto-asset service providerCrypto-Asset Service Provider 969500DBF3ZL9U0KUA51 France Active 2025-07-17 —
  • Crypto-assets
Search the register ↗
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

Firm type

Investment or brokerage

Trades as CoinShares

Standing
The firm traded as Napoleon Asset Management until CoinShares International Limited acquired it on 30 June 2022, after the AMF approved the change of control. It then took the CoinShares Asset Management name.
Ownership
The firm is a single-shareholder SAS (SASU) in the CoinShares group, and CoinShares PLC has been the listed group parent since 1 April 2026.
Ultimate owner
CoinShares PLC, Jersey
Head office
17 rue de la Banque, 75002 Paris, France
Company register
RCS Paris 847 811 544
Former name
NAPOLEON ASSET MANAGEMENT

Online

Websites & references
coinshares.com ↗
investor.coinshares.com ↗ group investor relations site
coinsharesam.notion.site ↗ entity complaints-handling policy, linked from the disclosures page
Wikipedia ↗ group article
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗ · YouTube ↗
Sources · 10 pages consulted
  1. amf-france.org/en/warnings/white-lists/daspcasp/coinshares-asset-management
  2. coinshares.com/disclosures/
  3. coinshares.com/
  4. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/FC041993
  5. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/FC041993/officers
  6. coinshares.com/fr/news/coinshares-asset-management-becomes-first-continental-european-regulated-asset-ma
  7. coinshares.com/news/coinshares-acquires-napoleon-asset-management-the-first-aifm-regulated-crypto-asset-
  8. coinshares.com/us/news/coinshares-begins-trading-on-the-nasdaq-stock-market/
  9. coinshares.com/active-strategies/
  10. en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CoinShares_International

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The AMF authorises the firm as an alternative investment fund manager (GP-19000015). As an AIFM, it used the MiCA Article 60 notification procedure to become authorised as a crypto-asset service provider (N2025-002) on 17 July 2025. According to the group, the MiCA services were passported to seven other EU states in July 2025.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF) France Crypto-asset service provider licensed under MiCA (Article 60 notification): advice on crypto-assets; portfolio management on crypto-assets N2025-002 In its own name Active amf-france.org ↗
Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF) France Asset management company authorised as an Alternative Investment Fund Manager (AIFM) GP-19000015 In its own name Active coinshares.com ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Not disclosedThe firm publishes no safeguarding statement. Its MiCA authorisation covers advice and portfolio management only, not custody of crypto-assets.amf-france.org ↗
Crypto-asset custody
Not disclosedThe AMF authorises the firm under MiCA to give advice on crypto-assets and to manage crypto-asset portfolios. It publishes no custody arrangement of its own.amf-france.org ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

The firm manages alternative investment funds and, under MiCA, provides advice on crypto-assets and crypto-asset portfolio management. Group pages say it directs material to EU professional investors.

According to the group's July 2025 announcement, its MiCA services were then passported from France to Germany, Cyprus, Ireland, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta and the Netherlands.

Sells to
Financial institutions · Enterprises
Serves customers in 8 countries
France · Germany · Cyprus · Ireland · Lithuania · Luxembourg · Malta · Netherlands

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Executive
Jérôme Castille Director (as filed with Companies House for the firm's former UK establishment) Confirmed 31 Dec 2025 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Executive
Jean-Marie Mognetti Director (as filed with Companies House for the firm's former UK establishment); Co-Founder and CEO of the CoinShares group Confirmed 31 Dec 2025 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Merger / acquisition

    CoinShares PLC became the group's listed parent after a business combination with Vine Hill Capital Investment Corp. It began trading on Nasdaq on 1 April 2026.

    coinshares.com ↗
  2. Licence

    The AMF authorised the firm as a crypto-asset service provider under MiCA, licence N2025-002, for crypto-asset advice and portfolio management.

    amf-france.org ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Licence no. · ESMA-CASP
969500DBF3ZL9U0KUA51
BIC
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
How the LEI was matched
Published by the register
Elucidate firm ID
3f01496a922d

Profile

Type
CryptoCrypto-asset service providers, virtual-asset trading platforms and stablecoin issuers. Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Main licence class
Crypto-Asset Service Provider
Activities
  • Crypto-assets
Licensed in
France · Europe & Central Asia
First registered
2025-07-17

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

Addresses

Address on the register
17 rue de la Banque - 75002 PARIS, France
Country
France

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

Identified by
Name and postal address, with its LEI
Postal address
Incomplete: no town published
  • The register publishes no town as a separate field. A CBPR+ postal address needs at least a town name (TwnNm) and a country (Ctry).

The LEI record in GLEIF holds a structured legal address.

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Register for this page

  • ESMA interim MiCA register of crypto-asset service providers—European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

Book a demo