Netherlands · Payments & e-money

Currencycloud B.V

Currencycloud B.V. is a Dutch private limited company (besloten vennootschap) with its head office in Amsterdam. De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) authorises it as an electronic money institution under relation number R142701. It belongs to the Currencycloud group. Visa Inc. completed its acquisition of the group on 20 December 2021. It provides e-money accounts, currency collection, foreign exchange and cross-border payment services to business clients, financial institutions and platforms in the European Economic Area (EEA).

BICCCBVNL2AXXX LEI7245009VSZ0ZSVDGP754 Licence no.R142701 Connected to SwiftThis BIC is registered as a live address on the Swift network. The institution sends and receives Swift messages under CCBVNL2A directly. Head-office BIC only Claim this profile

Licences and registrations

Held by Currencycloud B.V. (LEI 7245009VSZ0ZSVDGP754). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterThe Netherlands BankLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution R142701 Netherlands Active 2020-07-03 —
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • E-money / stored value
Search the register ↗
  • Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
  • The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

BIC
CCBVNL2AXXX head office
Connection to Swift
Connected to SwiftThis BIC is registered as a live address on the Swift network. The institution sends and receives Swift messages under CCBVNL2A directly.
Swift GPI
Not on the member list
Payment schemes and systems
SCT · SCT Inst · VOP · TIPS
Branch codes
None: head-office BIC only
BIC first registered
2021-07-31
Last updated
2025-03-01

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

Firm type

FX and business payments

Trades as Currencycloud

Ownership
Visa Inc. completed its acquisition of the Currencycloud group on 20 December 2021, but the sources reviewed do not name the firm's direct shareholder.
Ultimate owner
Visa Inc., United States
Head office
Mr. Treublaan 7, 1097 DP Amsterdam, Netherlands
Company register
KvK (Netherlands Chamber of Commerce) 72186178

Online

Websites & references
currencycloud.com ↗
developer.currencycloud.com ↗ developer portal
help.currencycloud.com ↗ client help centre
status.currencycloud.com ↗ platform status page
Official social accounts
None found
Sources · 7 pages consulted
  1. dnb.nl/en/public-register/information-detail/?registerCode=WFTEG&relationNumber=R142701
  2. currencycloud.com/legal/regulation
  3. go.currencycloud.com/hubfs/Product/Legal/Currencycloud%20Terms-EU-1%20December%202025.pdf
  4. currencycloud.com/
  5. investor.visa.com/news/news-details/2021/Visa-Completes-Acquisition-of-Currencycloud/default.aspx
  6. developer.currencycloud.com/guides/integration-guides/onboarding-api-pilot/
  7. support.currencycloud.com/hc/en-gb/articles/360017459500-Euro-EUR

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

DNB authorises the firm as an electronic money institution under the Dutch Financial Supervision Act (Wft), and DNB's register also lists it as a payment institution. Under its terms, USD real-time payments are provided by its affiliate Visa Global Services Inc., a US-licensed money transmitter.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) Netherlands Authorisation to carry out the business of an electronic-money institution (PSD2 - Wft 2:10a) R142701 In its own name Active dnb.nl ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm states that funds received for e-money are held in separate bank accounts of Currencycloud Stichting Derdengelden, a third-party funds foundation that DNB supervises, and may also be covered by an insurance policy.go.currencycloud.com ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
SEPA Credit Transfer Access not stated go.currencycloud.com ↗
SEPA Instant Credit Transfer Access not stated go.currencycloud.com ↗
Swift Direct go.currencycloud.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Multi currency accounts
  • International money transfer
  • FX conversion
  • FX hedging
  • Payouts and mass payments
  • E-money wallet

Its terms cover e-money accounts, virtual IBANs and account numbers for collections in EUR, GBP and CAD, Swift collections, spot and forward foreign exchange, and payments through an API or the Currencycloud Direct interface. According to the Currencycloud website, clients can access more than 36 currencies in over 180 countries.

DNB's register shows the licence passported on a cross-border services basis to 29 other EEA states, effective in August and November 2020.

Sells to
Financial institutions · Platforms and marketplaces · Enterprises · Small businesses
Serves customers in 30 countries
Netherlands · Austria · Belgium · Bulgaria · Croatia · Cyprus · Czechia · Denmark · Estonia · Finland · France · Germany · Greece · Hungary · Iceland · Ireland · Italy · Latvia · Liechtenstein · Lithuania · Luxembourg · Malta · Norway · Poland · Portugal · Romania · Slovakia · Slovenia · Spain · Sweden

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

The research found no fines, investigations, security incidents, licence changes or corporate events from the last three years.

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Head-office record

BIC
CCBVNL2AXXX
How the BIC breaks down
  1. CCBVBank
  2. NLCountry · Netherlands
  3. 2ALocation
  4. XXXBranch · head office
Branch description
Not recorded in the directory
LEI
7245009VSZ0ZSVDGP754
LEI record
View on GLEIF ↗
Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
R142701
How the LEI was matched
BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address.
Register-entry ID
e256b07568cd

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Register licences
1 entry on 1 register
Activities
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • E-money / stored value
Licensed in
Netherlands
Country · region
Netherlands · Europe & Central Asia
Banking supervision
Not on the ECB's list of supervised entities as of 2026-07-01
Trading venues (MIC)
No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
OFAC sanctions
No listing cites this BIC
EU sanctions
No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
Country sanctions
No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

Addresses

Registered address
MR. TREUBLAAN 7 AMSTERDAM 1097 DP NETHERLANDS
Operational address
MR. TREUBLAAN 7 AMSTERDAM 1097 DP AMSTERDAM NETHERLANDS

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

Identified by
BIC, with its LEI
Roles in CBPR+
Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents

CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>CCBVNL2AXXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>7245009VSZ0ZSVDGP754</LEI>
</FinInstnId>

Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>CCBVNL2AXXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>7245009VSZ0ZSVDGP754</LEI>
  <Nm>CURRENCYCLOUD B.V</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <TwnNm>AMSTERDAM</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>NL</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>MR. TREUBLAAN 7 AMSTERDAM 1097 DP</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

Payment schemes and systems

EPC registers of 2026-09-11 · ECB T2 list of 2026-07-02 · ECB TIPS list of 2026-09-01 · SIX Bank Master valid on 2026-09-28

Scheme or systemSinceRegistered withNote
SEPA Credit TransferISO 20022 messages 2021-11-02 Head office —
SEPA Instant Credit TransferISO 20022 messages 2024-09-01 Head office —
Verification of Payee 2025-11-17 Head office —
TIPS (TARGET Instant Payment Settlement)ISO 20022 messages — Head office —

SEPA dates are when the institution became ready for the scheme. TIPS entries have no joining date.

An institution missing from T2 may still be reachable through an indirect participant. The ECB’s TIPS list does not separate participants from reachable parties. It includes institutions reachable in Swedish kronor as well as in euro.

“ISO 20022 messages” marks a scheme or system whose rulebook or operator specifies ISO 20022 for messages between participants.

Claim this profile

Work at Currencycloud B.V?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

  1. 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
  2. 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
  3. 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Claim received

Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Credits for this page

  • Payment schemes and systems—Source: European Payments Council (EPC) Registers of Participants; matched to BICs by Elucidate. Source: European Central Bank, List of TIPS participants and reachable parties.
  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
  • Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: currencycloud.com (official website) · original.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

Book a demo