Netherlands · Crypto

Digital Currency Services B.V.

Digital Currency Services B.V. is a Dutch private limited company based in Utrecht. The Netherlands Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM) authorises it as a crypto-asset service provider under the EU Markets in Crypto-Assets Regulation (MiCAR), registration number 41000071. Its direct parent is Digital Currency N.V., according to its LEI record. Under the HappyCoins brand it offers businesses crypto payment acceptance and an embeddable crypto on-ramp, after a shift in 2023 from consumer brokerage to business-to-business infrastructure that the firm itself describes.

Licences and registrations

Held by Digital Currency Services B.V. (LEI 724500QZRWKCU8D2L569). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
ESMA interim MiCA register of crypto-asset service providersNetherlands Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM) Crypto-asset service providerCrypto-Asset Service Provider 724500QZRWKCU8D2L569 Netherlands Active 2026-06-30 —
  • Crypto-assets
Search the register ↗

Trading names on the register: DCS | HappyCoins (ESMA-CASP)

  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

Digital Currency N.V.

Firm type

Crypto exchange or broker

Trades as HappyCoins

Standing
The AFM authorised the firm as a crypto-asset service provider under MiCAR. The authorisation appears in ESMA's interim MiCA register from 30 June 2026. The firm was previously registered with De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) as a crypto service provider under the Dutch AML regime.
Ownership
According to the firm's LEI record, Digital Currency N.V. of the Netherlands is both its direct and its ultimate accounting parent.
Direct parent
Digital Currency N.V. ↗, Netherlands
Head office
Europalaan 100, 3526 KS Utrecht, Netherlands
Company register
KvK 58556974

Online

Websites & references
happycoins.com ↗
Official social accounts
None found
Sources · 5 pages consulted
  1. happycoins.com/
  2. happycoins.com/about
  3. dnb.nl/en/public-register/information-detail/?registerCode=WWFTAC&relationNumber=R166474
  4. esma.europa.eu/esmas-activities/digital-finance-and-innovation/markets-crypto-assets-regulation-mica
  5. afm.nl/en/sector/registers/vergunningenregisters/cryptopartijen

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The AFM authorises the firm as a crypto-asset service provider under MiCAR, registration number 41000071. Canadian services under the same brand are offered by a separate company, Happy Connect Services CA Inc., which is registered with FINTRAC as a money services business.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Netherlands Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM) Netherlands Crypto-asset service provider (CASP) authorisation under MiCAR 41000071 In its own name Active —
De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) Netherlands Aanbieder cryptodiensten (crypto service provider registration, Wwft) R166474 In its own name Status unconfirmed dnb.nl ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Crypto-asset custody
Not disclosedThe firm offers crypto payment acceptance with settlement in fiat or stablecoins, and a card-funded crypto on-ramp for partner platforms. It does not publish its custody arrangements on the pages that could be retrieved.happycoins.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Crypto payments
  • Crypto on- and off-ramp
  • Crypto trading

It offers two products. Crypto Accept lets merchants take payments in Bitcoin, Ethereum, USDC and other assets and settle in fiat or stablecoins. An embedded on-ramp lets a partner platform's users buy crypto-assets by card.

It operates under a Dutch MiCAR authorisation from the AFM. The firm does not state which other EEA states the authorisation is passported to.

Sells to
Platforms and marketplaces · Small businesses · Enterprises · Consumers
Serves customers in
Netherlands

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Licence

    The AFM authorised the firm as a crypto-asset service provider under MiCAR, and ESMA's interim register lists it from 30 June 2026.

    happycoins.com ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Licence no. · ESMA-CASP
724500QZRWKCU8D2L569
BIC
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
How the LEI was matched
Published by the register
Elucidate firm ID
e9e675cb9fd1

Profile

Type
CryptoCrypto-asset service providers, virtual-asset trading platforms and stablecoin issuers. Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Main licence class
Crypto-Asset Service Provider
Activities
  • Crypto-assets
Licensed in
Netherlands · Europe & Central Asia
First registered
2026-06-30

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

Direct parent
Digital Currency N.V. · Netherlands724500VPDQ29MDU1GV71 ↗

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

Addresses

Address on the register
Europalaan 100 - 3526 KS Utrecht - The Netherlands
Country
Netherlands

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

Identified by
Name and postal address, with its LEI
Postal address
Incomplete: no town published
  • The register publishes no town as a separate field. A CBPR+ postal address needs at least a town name (TwnNm) and a country (Ctry).

The LEI record in GLEIF holds a structured legal address.

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Register for this page

  • ESMA interim MiCA register of crypto-asset service providers—European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

Book a demo