Belgium · Payments & e-money

Fimaser

Fimaser SA is a Belgian public limited company in Brussels that trades as Carrefour Finance. The National Bank of Belgium authorises it as a payment institution, and the FSMA registers it as a consumer credit lender and an insurance agent. Its GLEIF record names Carrefour Belgium as its parent. It issues Visa de Carrefour credit cards tied to open-ended credit lines and grants instalment loans to consumers in Belgium, mainly through stands in Carrefour hypermarkets.

BICFMMSBEB1XXX LEI549300Y3OAE55RU0KC48 Licence no.0434818930 Passive participant (no connection)This BIC is registered for identification only. The institution has no direct connection to the Swift network. Messages and payments reach it through a correspondent bank. The “1” in the eighth character of FMMSBEB1 marks a passive participant. Head-office BIC only Claim this profile

Licences and registrations

Held by Fimaser (LEI 549300Y3OAE55RU0KC48). 2 entries on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterNational Bank of BelgiumLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. Payment institutionPayment Institution 0434818930 Belgium Active 2025-07-15 —
  • Money remittance
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
Search the register ↗
EBA PSD2 RegisterNational Bank of BelgiumLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution 0434818930 Belgium Withdrawn 2013-12-17 Ended 2025-05-14
  • Money remittance
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • E-money / stored value
Search the register ↗
  • Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
  • The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

BIC
FMMSBEB1XXX head office
Connection to Swift
Passive participant (no connection)This BIC is registered for identification only. The institution has no direct connection to the Swift network. Messages and payments reach it through a correspondent bank. The “1” in the eighth character of FMMSBEB1 marks a passive participant.
Swift GPI
Not on the member list
Payment schemes and systems
SCT · SDD Core
Branch codes
None: head-office BIC only
BIC first registered
2017-10-09
Last updated
2017-10-09

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

Carrefour Belgium

Firm type

Lending or buy now, pay later

Trades as Carrefour Finance

Standing
The EBA register shows the firm's electronic money institution licence as withdrawn on 14 May 2025. It has been registered as a payment institution since 15 July 2025.
Ownership
The firm describes itself as a subsidiary of the Carrefour group, and its GLEIF record names Carrefour Belgium as its direct parent for accounting consolidation.
Direct parent
Carrefour Belgium ↗, Belgium
Head office
Boulevard Baudouin 29/3B (Quatuor), 1000 Bruxelles, Belgium
Company register
KBO/BCE 0434.818.930
Incorporated
1 Jul 1988

Online

Websites & references
carrefourfinance.be ↗
homebanking.carrefourfinance.be ↗ customer homebanking portal
carrefourfinance.talentfinder.be ↗ careers site
Official social accounts
None found
Sources · 8 pages consulted
  1. kbopub.economie.fgov.be/kbopub/toonondernemingps.html?ondernemingsnummer=0434818930&lang=en
  2. fsma.be/en/party/fimaser
  3. carrefourfinance.be/fr
  4. carrefourfinance.be/fr/a-propos-de-carrefour-finance
  5. carrefourfinance.be/fr/informations-legales
  6. carrefourfinance.be/sites/default/files/legal-information/fr/conditions-generales-cartes.pdf
  7. carrefourfinance.be/fr/app-mobile-carrefour-finance
  8. carrefourfinance.be/fr/faqs

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The National Bank of Belgium authorises the firm as a payment institution for money remittance, card acquiring and other payment services. The FSMA registers it as a consumer credit lender and as an insurance agent acting for Cardif and CNP entities.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
National Bank of Belgium Belgium Payment institution 0434818930 In its own name Active —
National Bank of Belgium Belgium Electronic money institution 0434818930 In its own name Withdrawn or expired —
Financial Services and Markets Authority (FSMA) Belgium Belgian Consumer Credit Lenders – Lender Consumer Credit 020137 In its own name Active fsma.be ↗
Financial Services and Markets Authority (FSMA) Belgium Belgian Insurance Agents – Insurance Agent (non-life and other life products) 020137 In its own name Active fsma.be ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Not disclosedThe firm does not publish how it safeguards payment service users' funds.
Payment schemes and card networks
Visa Access not stated carrefourfinance.be ↗
SEPA Direct Debit Access not stated carrefourfinance.be ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Lending
  • Buy now, pay later

It offers Visa credit cards (Basic, Classic and Gold) linked to open-ended credit lines, with interest-free instalment options in Carrefour stores, as well as fixed-term instalment loans and credit-linked insurance.

It serves consumers in Belgium through stands in Carrefour hypermarkets, its website, its mobile app and a call centre.

Sells to
Consumers
Serves customers in
Belgium

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Luc Vankeerberghen Managing Director (director since 1 January 2019, managing director since 11 June 2019) Confirmed 28 Sep 2026 · kbopub.economie.fgov.be ↗
Executive
Matthias Locker Director Confirmed 28 Sep 2026 · kbopub.economie.fgov.be ↗
Executive
Christian Cuney Director Confirmed 28 Sep 2026 · kbopub.economie.fgov.be ↗
Executive
Joao dos Santos Leandro Director Confirmed 28 Sep 2026 · kbopub.economie.fgov.be ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Leadership

    Matthias Locker joined the board of directors on 10 October 2025, according to the Belgian company register.

    kbopub.economie.fgov.be ↗
  2. Leadership

    Christian Cuney and Joao dos Santos Leandro joined the board of directors on 22 May 2024, according to the Belgian company register.

    kbopub.economie.fgov.be ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Head-office record

BIC
FMMSBEB1XXX
How the BIC breaks down
  1. FMMSBank
  2. BECountry · Belgium
  3. B1Location · passive
  4. XXXBranch · head office
Branch description
Not recorded in the directory
LEI
549300Y3OAE55RU0KC48
LEI record
View on GLEIF ↗
Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
0434818930
How the LEI was matched
BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entries: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address.
Register-entry ID
cc68dc7c9986
National bank code
Bank identification code 924

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Register licences
2 entries on 1 register
Activities
  • Money remittance
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • E-money / stored value
Licensed in
Belgium
Country · region
Belgium · Europe & Central Asia
Banking supervision
Not on the ECB's list of supervised entities as of 2026-07-01
Trading venues (MIC)
No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
OFAC sanctions
No listing cites this BIC
EU sanctions
No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
Country sanctions
No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

Direct parent
Carrefour Belgium · Belgium967600KIWWITOEWF3B94 ↗

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

Addresses

Registered address
AVENUE DES OLYMPIADES 20 BRUSSELS 1140 BELGIUM
Operational address
AVENUE DES OLYMPIADES 20 BRUSSELS 1140 BRUSSELS BELGIUM

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

Identified by
BIC, with its LEI
Roles in CBPR+
Debtor agent, creditor agent or an intermediary agent

CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>FMMSBEB1XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>549300Y3OAE55RU0KC48</LEI>
</FinInstnId>

Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>FMMSBEB1XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>549300Y3OAE55RU0KC48</LEI>
  <Nm>FIMASER</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <TwnNm>BRUSSELS</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>BE</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>AVENUE DES OLYMPIADES 20 BRUSSELS 1140</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

This BIC is not connected to Swift. Messages reach the institution through a correspondent bank, so it cannot be the instructing or instructed agent.

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

Payment schemes and systems

EPC registers of 2026-09-11 · ECB T2 list of 2026-07-02 · ECB TIPS list of 2026-09-01 · SIX Bank Master valid on 2026-09-28

Scheme or systemSinceRegistered withNote
SEPA Credit TransferISO 20022 messages 2018-03-05 Head office —
SEPA Direct Debit CoreISO 20022 messages 2018-03-12 Head office —

SEPA dates are when the institution became ready for the scheme.

An institution missing from T2 may still be reachable through an indirect participant.

“ISO 20022 messages” marks a scheme or system whose rulebook or operator specifies ISO 20022 for messages between participants.

National bank codes

Bank identification code · Belgium

1 code file of 2026-09-01

CodeRoutes to BICName in the national file
924 FMMSBEB1 Fimaser

Each code shows the name in the national file. Smaller banks often route through a central institution’s BIC. A code can therefore belong to a different bank than the one on this page.

Claim this profile

Work at Fimaser?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

  1. 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
  2. 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
  3. 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Claim received

Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Credits for this page

  • Payment schemes and systems—Source: European Payments Council (EPC) Registers of Participants; matched to BICs by Elucidate.
  • National bank codes—Belgium (Source: National Bank of Belgium).
  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
  • Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: carrefourfinance.be (official website) · original.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

Book a demo