Denmark · Payments & e-money
Inpay A/S
Inpay A/S is a Danish public limited company based in Copenhagen. The Danish Financial Supervisory Authority (Finanstilsynet) has authorised it as an electronic money institution under licence number 22008 since 29 June 2023. Before that it held a payment institution licence from 2013. Jacob Tackmann Thomsen founded Inpay in 2008. It offers business customers cross-border payouts over SEPA Instant, SEPA and Swift, plus open banking pay-ins. It serves online gaming, financial services and corporate customers and NGOs. In August 2026 the Danish FSA ordered the firm to stop onboarding new business customers in online gaming, after a March 2026 anti-money laundering inspection.
Licences and registrations
Held by Inpay A/S (LEI 636700HU9OI570TUSG69). 3 entries on 2 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.
| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EBA PSD2 RegisterDanish Financial Supervisory AuthorityLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. | Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution | 32317731 | Denmark | Active | 2023-06-29 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
| EBA PSD2 RegisterDanish Financial Supervisory AuthorityLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. | Payment institutionPayment Institution | 32317731 | Denmark | Withdrawn | 2013-04-12 | Ended 2023-06-28 |
|
Search the register ↗ |
| Money Services Business RegistryFINTRACLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. | MSB (foreign indicator not selected)Money Transmitter / Remittance | M15935877 | Canada | Ceased | 2015-02-03 | Ended 2020-05-22 |
|
Search the register ↗ |
Licences and registrations listed here were granted in Canada. This BIC is registered in Denmark.
- Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
- Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
- Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
- The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
European registers
ECB · monetary financial institutions
List as at 2026-09-25
- Category
- Credit institution
- Minimum reserves
- Not on the ECB reserve list
- Listed as
- INPAY A/S
- RIAD code
- DK32317731
Entries are matched on the LEI. Each register is quoted as its publisher lists it.
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
- BIC
- NPAYDKKKXXX head office
- Connection to Swift
- Connected to SwiftThis BIC is registered as a live address on the Swift network. The institution sends and receives Swift messages under NPAYDKKK directly.
- Swift GPI
- Not on the member list
- Payment schemes and systems
- SCT · SCT Inst · VOP · TIPS
- Branch codes
- None: head-office BIC only
- BIC first registered
- 2014-12-20
- Last updated
- 2022-02-14
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Customers
Not published
Ownership
Privately held
Firm type
FX and business payments
Trades as Inpay
- Standing
- On 11 August 2026 the Danish FSA ordered the firm to stop taking on new business customers in online gaming. The order applies until the firm shows that serious breaches of the Money Laundering Act have ended. The firm says existing customers are unaffected and that it will report to the FSA on remediation in December 2026.
- Ownership
- The firm does not publish its ownership structure, but the Danish FSA's September 2026 notice refers to a single ultimate owner of the company.
- Head office
- Toldbodgade 55B, 6., 1253 Copenhagen, Denmark
- Company register
- CVR 32317731
- Founder
- Jacob Tackmann Thomsen
Online
- Websites & references
- inpay.com ↗
app.inpay.com/docs/guide/overview ↗ developer documentation
app.inpay.com ↗ customer portal login - Official social accounts
- LinkedIn ↗
Sources · 12 pages consulted
- finanstilsynet.dk/tilsyn/inspektion-og-afgoerelser/2026/aug/afgoerelse-om-paabud-til-inpay-as
- inpay.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/Endelig-resum-af-afgrelsen-til-offentliggrelse-Inpay.pdf
- inpay.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/09/FSA_notice_Inpay_commentary_EN_16_09_26_.pdf
- inpay.com/danish-fsa/
- inpay.com/contact-us/
- inpay.com/about-us/
- inpay.com/compliance/
- inpay.com/money-out/
- inpay.com/news-and-insights/inpay-builds-on-renewed-strategic-focus-welcoming-new-leadership/
- inpay.com/news-and-insights/inpay-secures-emi-licence/
- fxnewsgroup.com/forex-news/regulatory/danish-fsa-reports-results-of-inspection-of-inpay-a-s/
- igamingbusiness.com/tech-innovation/payments/inpay-injunction-new-customers-aml-failings/
Authorisation
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Operates under
- Its own licences
The Danish FSA authorises the firm as an electronic money institution under licence number 22008. According to the FSA, the firm also offers virtual IBANs and crypto-asset payments to iGaming customers through external partners.
| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Danish Financial Supervisory Authority (Finanstilsynet) Denmark | E-money institution | 22008 | In its own name | Active | inpay.com ↗ |
| Danish Financial Supervisory Authority (Finanstilsynet) Denmark | Payment institution | 32317731 | In its own name | Withdrawn or expired | — |
| Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (FINTRAC) Canada | Money services business registration (money transmitter) | M15935877 | In its own name | Withdrawn or expired | — |
Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.
Partners and safeguarding
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Safeguarding
- Not disclosedThe pages reviewed do not say how the firm safeguards customers' money or which banks hold it.
- Crypto-asset custody
- Not disclosedAccording to the Danish FSA, the firm offers payments with crypto-assets to iGaming customers through external partners. It does not disclose the partners or how the crypto-assets are held.
- Payment schemes and card networks
- Swift Direct inpay.com ↗
SEPA Instant Credit Transfer Access not stated inpay.com ↗
SEPA Credit Transfer Access not stated inpay.com ↗
Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.
Products and markets
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
It says it pays out to local bank accounts in more than 90 countries over SEPA Instant, SEPA and Swift and through a postal cash network, and offers open banking pay-ins.
The firm is authorised in Denmark and says it pays out to more than 90 countries, but it does not publish a list of the countries where it takes on customers.
- Sells to
- Enterprises · Financial institutions · Other
- Serves customers in
- Denmark
Leadership
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Chief executive
-
Steen Nielsen
Chief Executive Officer
- Chief financial officer
-
Christian Folmann Hempler
Chief Financial Officer
- Compliance / MLRO
-
Camila Vicenci Witt
Chief Risk & Compliance Officer
- Founder
-
Jacob Tackmann Thomsen
Founder
- Executive
-
Gideon van den Broek
Chief Commercial Officer
- Executive
-
Dirk Marinus Bruynse
Chief Operating Officer
Recent events 2 enforcement or investigation items
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
-
Enforcement
The Danish FSA published its March 2026 inspection findings. It ordered the firm to fix resourcing, customer due diligence, governance and due diligence on non-EU respondents.
fxnewsgroup.com ↗ -
Enforcement
The Danish FSA ordered the firm to stop onboarding new online gaming business customers after finding serious breaches of the Money Laundering Act.
finanstilsynet.dk ↗ -
Other
The firm's board paused onboarding of new online gaming business customers on 27 July 2026, ahead of the FSA's decision.
igamingbusiness.com ↗ -
Leadership
The firm announced a leadership transition, including the departure of Chief Executive Officer Thomas Jul and other management team members.
inpay.com ↗
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
Head-office record
- BIC
- NPAYDKKKXXX
- How the BIC breaks down
- NPAYBank
- DKCountry · Denmark
- KKLocation
- XXXBranch · head office
- Branch description
- Not recorded in the directory
- LEI
- 636700HU9OI570TUSG69
- LEI record
- View on GLEIF ↗
- Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
- 32317731
- Licence no. · FINTRAC-MSB
- M15935877
- How the LEI was matched
- BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entries: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address.
- Register-entry IDs
- cddc40743f82 · 47ca1b8242d3
Profile
- Type
- Payments & e-money · Money service businessPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
- Regulation
- Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
- Register licences
- 3 entries on 2 registers
- Activities
- Money remittance
- Payment services
- Card acquiring
- Payment initiation
- Account information
- E-money / stored value
- Licensed in
- Denmark
- Country · region
- Denmark · Europe & Central Asia
- Trading venues (MIC)
- No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
- OFAC sanctions
- No listing cites this BIC
- EU sanctions
- No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
- Country sanctions
- No country programme
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.
Addresses
- Registered address
- TOLDBODGADE 55 B, 6 COPENHAGEN 1253 DENMARK
- Operational address
- TOLDBODGADE 55 B, 6 COPENHAGEN 1253 COPENHAGEN DENMARK
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.
- Identified by
- BIC, with its LEI
- Roles in CBPR+
- Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents
CBPR+
For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>NPAYDKKKXXX</BICFI>
<LEI>636700HU9OI570TUSG69</LEI>
</FinInstnId>
Full record
Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>NPAYDKKKXXX</BICFI>
<LEI>636700HU9OI570TUSG69</LEI>
<Nm>INPAY A/S</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<TwnNm>COPENHAGEN</TwnNm>
<Ctry>DK</Ctry>
<AdrLine>TOLDBODGADE 55 B, 6 COPENHAGEN 1253</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.
Payment schemes and systems
EPC registers of 2026-09-11 · ECB T2 list of 2026-07-02 · ECB TIPS list of 2026-09-01 · SIX Bank Master valid on 2026-09-28
| Scheme or system | Since | Registered with | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| SEPA Credit TransferISO 20022 messages | 2025-06-02 | Head office | — |
| SEPA Instant Credit TransferISO 20022 messages | 2025-06-02 | Head office | — |
| Verification of Payee | 2026-03-16 | Head office | — |
| TIPS (TARGET Instant Payment Settlement)ISO 20022 messages | — | Head office | — |
SEPA dates are when the institution became ready for the scheme. TIPS entries have no joining date.
An institution missing from T2 may still be reachable through an indirect participant. The ECB’s TIPS list does not separate participants from reachable parties. It includes institutions reachable in Swedish kronor as well as in euro.
“ISO 20022 messages” marks a scheme or system whose rulebook or operator specifies ISO 20022 for messages between participants.
Claim this profile
Work at Inpay A/S?
Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.
- 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
- 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
- 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.
Claim received
Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.
The claim was not sent. Try again, or email contact@elucidate.co.
Sources & method
Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.
Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.
Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Credits for this page
- Payment schemes and systems—Source: European Payments Council (EPC) Registers of Participants; matched to BICs by Elucidate. Source: European Central Bank, List of TIPS participants and reachable parties.
- EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- Money Services Business Registry—Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (FINTRAC) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
- European registers—Source: European Central Bank (ECB), list of monetary financial institutions and list of institutions subject to minimum reserves. Matched on LEI by Elucidate.
- Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: inpay.com (official website) · original; Steen Nielsen: inpay.com (official website) · original; Christian Folmann Hempler: inpay.com (official website) · original; Camila Vicenci Witt: inpay.com (official website) · original; Jacob Tackmann Thomsen: inpay.com (official website) · original; Gideon van den Broek: inpay.com (official website) · original; Dirk Marinus Bruynse: inpay.com (official website) · original.
Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC
A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.
Book a demo