United Arab Emirates · Money service business

Lari Exchange

Lari Exchange is an exchange house with its head office in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates. The Central Bank of the UAE (CBUAE) licenses it for Exchange Business, category C, under identification number 03.01.03.003.1981.01. The firm states that Abbas Darwish Lari founded it in Abu Dhabi in 1969. It offers international money transfers, currency exchange, bill payments and a Mastercard multi-currency prepaid card to customers in the UAE through branches and digital channels.

BICLAEEAEAAXXX LEI254900FYYH9UDG4NT140 Licence no.03.01.03.003.1981.01 Connected to SwiftThis BIC is registered as a live address on the Swift network. The institution sends and receives Swift messages under LAEEAEAA directly. Head-office BIC only Claim this profile

Licences and registrations

Held by Lari Exchange (LEI 254900FYYH9UDG4NT140). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 24 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
CBUAE Register of Licensed Financial Institutions - Exchange BusinessCentral Bank of the UAE (CBUAE)Linked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. Exchange BusinessMoney Transmitter / Remittance 03.01.03.003.1981.01 United Arab Emirates Active — —
  • Currency exchange
Search the register ↗
  • Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
  • The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

BIC
LAEEAEAAXXX head office
Connection to Swift
Connected to SwiftThis BIC is registered as a live address on the Swift network. The institution sends and receives Swift messages under LAEEAEAA directly.
Swift GPI
Not on the member list
Payment schemes and systems
No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
Branch codes
None: head-office BIC only
BIC first registered
1999-12-04
Last updated
2018-03-27

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Not published

Firm type

Money remittance

Head office
Saif Bin Darwish Building, Liwa Street, P.O. Box 988 Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Founder
Abbas Darwish Lari
Name in the local language
لاري للصرافة

Online

Websites & references
lariexchange.com ↗ did not load when checked
Official social accounts
None found
Sources · 8 pages consulted
  1. centralbank.ae/media/hw0lreyi/cb-register-august-2026.pdf
  2. lariexchange.com/
  3. lariexchange.com/Travelflex
  4. lariexchange.com/news
  5. linkedin.com/company/lariexchangeuae
  6. chinadaily.com.cn/a/202511/21/WS692051c9a310d6866eb2aca1.html
  7. economymiddleeast.com/news/uae-executes-first-ever-cross-border-digital-currency-payment-with-china/
  8. arabianbusiness.com/finance/jaywan-card-new-payment-service

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The Central Bank of the UAE (CBUAE) licenses the firm for Exchange Business, category C, with its head office in Abu Dhabi.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Central Bank of the UAE (CBUAE) United Arab Emirates Exchange Business (category C) 03.01.03.003.1981.01 In its own name Active centralbank.ae ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Payment schemes and card networks
Swift Direct
Mastercard Access not stated lariexchange.com ↗
Jaywan Access not stated arabianbusiness.com ↗
UnionPay Access not stated arabianbusiness.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • International money transfer
  • Bureau de change
  • FX conversion
  • Prepaid cards
  • Bill payments
  • Domestic payments

The firm offers remittances, currency exchange and bill payments through branches, a mobile app, an e-branch, WhatsApp and a call centre. Its Travelflex Mastercard prepaid card can hold funds in up to 12 currencies.

It serves customers in the United Arab Emirates under its CBUAE exchange business licence.

Sells to
Consumers
Serves customers in
United Arab Emirates

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Other

    Lari Exchange issued the first co-badged Jaywan–UnionPay prepaid card, launched during a People's Bank of China governor's visit to Abu Dhabi.

    chinadaily.com.cn ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Head-office record

BIC
LAEEAEAAXXX
How the BIC breaks down
  1. LAEEBank
  2. AECountry · United Arab Emirates
  3. AALocation
  4. XXXBranch · head office
Branch description
Not recorded in the directory
LEI
254900FYYH9UDG4NT140
LEI record
View on GLEIF ↗
Licence no. · CBUAE-EB
03.01.03.003.1981.01
How the LEI was matched
BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address.
Register-entry ID
6a481fee171e

Profile

Type
Money service businessRemittance, currency exchange, cheque cashing and money orders. Usually registered with an anti-money-laundering supervisor rather than licensed prudentially. Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Register licences
1 entry on 1 register
Activities
  • Currency exchange
Licensed in
United Arab Emirates
Country · region
United Arab Emirates · Middle East & North Africa
Trading venues (MIC)
No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
OFAC sanctions
No listing cites this BIC
EU sanctions
No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
Country sanctions
No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

Addresses

Registered address
SAIF BIN DARWISH BUILDING LIWA STREET ABU DHABI 988 UNITED ARAB EMIRATES
Operational address
SAIF BIN DARWISH BUILDING LIWA STREET ABU DHABI ABU DHABI UNITED ARAB EMIRATES

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

Identified by
BIC, with its LEI
Roles in CBPR+
Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents

CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>LAEEAEAAXXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>254900FYYH9UDG4NT140</LEI>
</FinInstnId>

Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>LAEEAEAAXXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>254900FYYH9UDG4NT140</LEI>
  <Nm>LARI EXCHANGE</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <TwnNm>ABU DHABI</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>AE</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>SAIF BIN DARWISH BUILDING LIWA STREET ABU DHABI 988</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

Claim this profile

Work at Lari Exchange?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

  1. 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
  2. 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
  3. 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Claim received

Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Credits for this page

  • CBUAE Register of Licensed Financial Institutions - Exchange Business—Central Bank of the UAE (CBUAE) · register ↗ as at 24 September 2026
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

Book a demo