France · Payments & e-money

Lemonway

Lemonway is a French simplified joint-stock company (SAS) based in Paris. The Autorité de Contrôle Prudentiel et de Résolution (ACPR) authorised it as a payment institution on 24 December 2012, under number 16568. It names Breega, Speedinvest and Toscafund Asset Management as investors and publishes no controlling shareholder. It provides payment accounts, collection on behalf of third parties, card acceptance and payouts to marketplaces, crowdfunding platforms and e-merchants, and it bought the business of PayGreen, a French e-commerce payment provider, in June 2025.

BICLEWAFRPPXXX LEI969500F3QGHEWP229H51 Licence no.500486915 Connected to SwiftThis BIC is registered as a live address on the Swift network. The institution sends and receives Swift messages under LEWAFRPP directly. Head-office BIC only Claim this profile

Licences and registrations

Held by Lemonway (LEI 969500F3QGHEWP229H51). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterPrudential Supervisory and Resolution AuthorityLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. Payment institutionPayment Institution 500486915 France Active 2012-12-24 —
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
Search the register ↗
  • Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
  • The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

BIC
LEWAFRPPXXX head office
Connection to Swift
Connected to SwiftThis BIC is registered as a live address on the Swift network. The institution sends and receives Swift messages under LEWAFRPP directly.
Swift GPI
Not on the member list
Payment schemes and systems
VOP
Branch codes
None: head-office BIC only
BIC first registered
2016-12-27
Last updated
2022-02-14

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

1,200

merchants · This entity · 9 Jun 2026 · company statement ↗

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Venture-backed

Firm type

Merchant acquiring and processing

Trades as Lemonway

Standing
In August 2024 the Bank of Italy barred the firm from taking on new Italian partners and from offering new products in Italy. From January 2025 it capped new Italian payment accounts at 1,150 a month. On 29 September 2026 the firm's website still showed this restriction.
Ownership
The firm says it has raised EUR 50 million from Breega, Speedinvest and Toscafund Asset Management, and it does not publish how its shares are divided.
Head office
8 rue du Sentier, 75002 Paris, France
Company register
RCS Paris 500 486 915
Founders
Sébastien Burlet · Antoine Orsini
Former name
Lemon Way

Online

Websites & references
lemonway.com ↗
support.lemonway.com ↗ help centre
documentation.lemonway.com ↗ developer documentation
status.lemonway.com ↗ status page
paygreen.io ↗ PayGreen e-commerce payment brand, whose business Lemonway acquired in June 2025
Wikipedia ↗
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · YouTube ↗
Sources · 13 pages consulted
  1. lemonway.com/en/legal-notice
  2. lemonway.com/en/terms-and-conditions
  3. lemonway.com/en/about-lemonway
  4. lemonway.com/en/press/Lemonway-kyc-ai-cards-new-chapter
  5. lemonway.com/en/press/PayGreens-Business-Acquisition
  6. support.lemonway.com/hc/en-us/articles/10898151851293-How-does-Lemonway-secure-customer-funds
  7. bancaditalia.it/compiti/vigilanza/provvedimenti-sanzionatori/documenti/2025/Lemonway_Sas_provv_141_del_07
  8. lemonway.com/press/lemonway-nominations-strategiques
  9. millionaire.it/la-banca-ditalia-blocca-lemonway-principale-partner-finanziario-delle-piattaforme-di-crow
  10. crowdfundingbuzz.it/banca-ditalia-sblocca-parzialmente-lemonway-scongiurando-il-blocco-delle-piattaforme-di-c
  11. finyear.com/la-fintech-lemonway-annonce-se-preparer-pour-des-operations-de-build-up_a51379.html
  12. acpr.banque-france.fr/fr/publications-et-statistiques/publications/decision-de-la-commission-des-sanctions-ndeg
  13. fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lemonway

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The ACPR authorises the firm as a payment institution under number 16568, and the EBA register lists payment services and card acquiring. The firm states that it holds a European passport in 28 countries.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Autorité de Contrôle Prudentiel et de Résolution (ACPR) France Payment institution (établissement de paiement) 16568 In its own name Active lemonway.com ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm states that it keeps customer funds separate from its own, in safeguarding accounts at four banks headquartered in France, Germany, Spain and Poland.support.lemonway.com ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
SEPA Credit Transfer Access not stated support.lemonway.com ↗
SEPA Instant Credit Transfer Access not stated support.lemonway.com ↗
SEPA Direct Debit (Core and B2B) Access not stated lemonway.com ↗
Visa Access not stated support.lemonway.com ↗
Mastercard Access not stated support.lemonway.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Payment gateway
  • Merchant acquiring
  • Payouts and mass payments
  • Domestic payments

It opens payment accounts for users of partner marketplaces and crowdfunding platforms. It collects and pays out funds on their behalf by card, SEPA transfer and SEPA direct debit, and since 2025 it has also offered e-commerce payments through PayGreen.

The firm says it serves more than 1,200 platform and merchant clients in over 15 countries, under an ACPR licence it passports across the EEA.

Revenue
EUR 32mThis entity · 31 Dec 2023 · company statement ↗
Payment volume
EUR 10.5bnflows handledThis entity · 31 Dec 2024 · company statement ↗
Sells to
Platforms and marketplaces · Enterprises · Small businesses
Serves customers in 4 countries
France · Italy · Germany · Spain
Latest funding round
Series B · EUR 40mLed by Toscafund Asset Managementlemonway.com ↗
Total raised
EUR 50m to Jun 2026 · lemonway.com ↗

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Antoine Orsini Co-founder and CEO; Director and Publication Manager Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · lemonway.com ↗
Chair
Damien Guermonprez Executive Chairman Confirmed 6 Jun 2025 · lemonway.com ↗
Chief financial officer
Nicolas Vigier Chief Financial Officer Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · lemonway.com ↗

Recent events 3 enforcement or investigation items

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Merger / acquisition

    Lemonway acquired the business of PayGreen, a French e-commerce payment provider, and became its payment service provider.

    lemonway.com ↗
  2. Enforcement

    The Bank of Italy fined the firm EUR 100,000 for AML shortcomings in organisation and controls, customer due diligence and suspicious-activity reporting.

    bancaditalia.it ↗
  3. Enforcement

    The Bank of Italy capped the new payment accounts the firm may open for Italian platforms, falling to 1,150 a month from January 2025.

    lemonway.com ↗
  4. Enforcement

    The Bank of Italy barred the firm from taking on new Italian partners and from offering new products and services in Italy.

    millionaire.it ↗
  5. Leadership

    The firm appointed Nicolas Vigier as Chief Financial Officer and Céline Bayer as Chief Technical Officer.

    lemonway.com ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Head-office record

BIC
LEWAFRPPXXX
How the BIC breaks down
  1. LEWABank
  2. FRCountry · France
  3. PPLocation
  4. XXXBranch · head office
Branch description
Not recorded in the directory
LEI
969500F3QGHEWP229H51
LEI record
View on GLEIF ↗
Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
500486915
How the LEI was matched
BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address.
Register-entry ID
7f06e8207c9a
National bank code
Code interbancaire (CIB) 16568

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Register licences
1 entry on 1 register
Activities
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
Licensed in
France
Country · region
France · Europe & Central Asia
Banking supervision
Not on the ECB's list of supervised entities as of 2026-07-01
Trading venues (MIC)
No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
OFAC sanctions
No listing cites this BIC
EU sanctions
No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
Country sanctions
No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

Addresses

Registered address
8 RUE DU SENTIER PARIS 75002 FRANCE
Operational address
8 RUE DU SENTIER PARIS 75002 PARIS FRANCE

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

Identified by
BIC, with its LEI
Roles in CBPR+
Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents

CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>LEWAFRPPXXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>969500F3QGHEWP229H51</LEI>
</FinInstnId>

Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>LEWAFRPPXXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>969500F3QGHEWP229H51</LEI>
  <Nm>LEMONWAY</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <TwnNm>PARIS</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>FR</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>8 RUE DU SENTIER PARIS 75002</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

Payment schemes and systems

EPC registers of 2026-09-11 · ECB T2 list of 2026-07-02 · ECB TIPS list of 2026-09-01 · SIX Bank Master valid on 2026-09-28

Scheme or systemSinceRegistered withNote
Verification of Payee 2026-01-14 Head office —

SEPA dates are when the institution became ready for the scheme.

An institution missing from T2 may still be reachable through an indirect participant.

National bank codes

Code interbancaire (CIB) · France

1 code

CodeRoutes to BICName in the national fileCity
16568 LEWAFRPPXXX Lemonway PARIS

Each code shows the name in the national file. Smaller banks often route through a central institution’s BIC. A code can therefore belong to a different bank than the one on this page.

Claim this profile

Work at Lemonway?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

  1. 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
  2. 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
  3. 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Claim received

Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Credits for this page

  • Payment schemes and systems—Source: European Payments Council (EPC) Registers of Participants; matched to BICs by Elucidate.
  • National bank codes—France (Source: ACPR – REGAFI).
  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
  • Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: lemonway.com (official website).

Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

Book a demo