- Directory
- Netherlands
- Modulr Finance B.V.
Netherlands · Payments & e-money
Modulr Finance B.V.
Trading asModulr
Modulr Finance B.V. is a Dutch private limited company based in Amsterdam. De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) authorises it as an electronic money institution under relation number R182870. It is the European subsidiary of the UK-based Modulr group, whose UK business runs through Modulr FS Limited. It provides e-money business accounts, SEPA payments and virtual and physical cards to businesses and to platforms that embed its payments across the EEA. In July 2026 the group named Jakub Zmuda chair of the firm's Management Board and Mark Buitenhek independent chair of its Supervisory Board.
Licences and registrations
Held by Modulr Finance B.V.. 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.
| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EBA PSD2 RegisterThe Netherlands Bank | Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution | R182870 | Netherlands | Active | 2021-12-24 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
Trading names on the register: Modulr (EBA-PSD2)
- Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
- Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory. No LEI is matched to this entry, and BICs are linked by LEI only.
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Employees
Not published
Ownership
Group subsidiary
Firm type
E-money and accounts
Trades as Modulr
- Ownership
- The firm is the European subsidiary of the UK-based Modulr group, whose group board is the Modulr Holdings board.
- Head office
- Strawinskylaan 4117, 1077 ZX Amsterdam, Netherlands
- Company register
- Netherlands Chamber of Commerce (KvK) 81852401
- Incorporated
- 10 Feb 2021
- Founder
- Myles Stephenson
Online
- Websites & references
- modulrfinance.com ↗
modulr.readme.io ↗ developer documentation (group-wide)
modulr.statuspage.io ↗ service status page (group-wide) - Official social accounts
- LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · YouTube ↗
Sources · 10 pages consulted
- dnb.nl/en/public-register/information-detail/?registerCode=WFTEG&relationNumber=R182870
- lei.bloomberg.com/leis/view/2138009BPIB3N98CK876
- modulrfinance.com/eu-safeguarding-information
- modulrfinance.com/delegate-onboarding-terms-of-business-eu
- modulrfinance.com/the-team
- modulrfinance.com/newsroom/modulr-raises-108m-in-series-c-funding-round-led-by-general-atlantic
- modulrfinance.com/newsroom/payments-fintech-modulr-becomes-a-principal-issuing-member-of-visa
- modulrfinance.com/newsroom/modulr-becomes-a-principal-issuing-member-of-mastercard
- itbrief.co.uk/story/modulr-appoints-jakub-zmuda-mark-buitenhek-for-europe
- nala.com/terms-of-service-eu
Authorisation
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Operates under
- Its own licences
DNB authorises the firm as an electronic money institution under the Dutch Financial Supervision Act (Wft). Its DNB register entry lists cross-border services in 29 other EEA states from 23 December 2021.
| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) Netherlands | Authorisation to carry out the business of an electronic-money institution (PSD2 - Wft 2:10a) | R182870 | In its own name | Active | dnb.nl ↗ |
Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.
Partners and safeguarding
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Safeguarding
- Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm states that funds received for e-money are segregated and held at banks in designated accounts belonging to Stichting Custodian Modulr Finance, which exists only to safeguard customer funds.
- Safeguarding bank
- Stichting Custodian Modulr Finance Netherlands
- Payment schemes and card networks
- SEPA Credit Transfer Access not stated modulrfinance.com ↗
Visa Access not stated modulrfinance.com ↗
Mastercard Access not stated modulrfinance.com ↗
Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.
Products and markets
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
The firm provides e-money accounts for businesses with SEPA payments and Visa or Mastercard cards, used directly and through partner platforms that embed its payments.
It serves business customers in the Netherlands and holds cross-border service notifications for 29 other EEA states under its Dutch licence.
- Payment volume
- GBP 180bnannualised payment value processed across the Modulr platform
- Sells to
- Small businesses · Enterprises · Platforms and marketplaces
- Serves customers in 30 countries
- Netherlands · Austria · Belgium · Bulgaria · Croatia · Cyprus · Czechia · Denmark · Estonia · Finland · France · Germany · Greece · Hungary · Iceland · Ireland · Italy · Latvia · Liechtenstein · Lithuania · Luxembourg · Malta · Norway · Poland · Portugal · Romania · Slovakia · Slovenia · Spain · Sweden
- Latest funding round
- Series C · USD 108m May 2022Led by General Atlantic
Leadership
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Executive
- Jakub Zmuda Managing Director, Europe; Chair of the Management Board of Modulr Finance B.V.
- Chair
- Mark Buitenhek Chair of Supervisory Board
- Compliance / MLRO
- Siemaab Mahmood Head of Risk & Compliance, Europe (Management Board member)
- Executive
- Elanie Steyn General Manager, Europe (Management Board member)
- Executive
- Cristina Buckingham Director of Financial Control (Management Board member)
- Executive
- Ben Taylor Chief Operating Officer (Management Board member)
Recent events
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
-
Leadership
Modulr named Jakub Zmuda chair of the firm's Management Board and Mark Buitenhek independent chair of its Supervisory Board.
itbrief.co.uk ↗
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
- Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
- R182870
- BIC
- Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
- LEI
- No LEI mapped
- Elucidate firm ID
- 93aca107f0ea
Profile
- Type
- Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
- Regulation
- Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
- Main licence class
- E-Money / Stored Value Institution
- Activities
- Payment services
- Card acquiring
- Payment initiation
- Account information
- E-money / stored value
- Licensed in
- Netherlands · Europe & Central Asia
- First registered
- 2021-12-24
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
No LEI is matched to this entry, so GLEIF relationship records cannot be linked.
Addresses
- Address on the register
- Strawinskylaan 4117, AMSTERDAM, 1077ZX
- Country
- Netherlands
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.
- Identified by
- Name and postal address. No LEI or clearing code is mapped in the directory
- Postal address
- Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line
<FinInstnId>
<Nm>Modulr Finance B.V.</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<PstCd>1077ZX</PstCd>
<TwnNm>AMSTERDAM</TwnNm>
<Ctry>NL</Ctry>
<AdrLine>Strawinskylaan 4117</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.
The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.
Sources & method
Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.
An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.
Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Register for this page
- EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence
A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.
Book a demo