Ireland · Payments & e-money

Paymentsense Ireland Limited

Paymentsense Ireland Limited is a private company limited by shares, registered in Dublin under number 542166, and trades as Dojo. The Central Bank of Ireland authorises it as an electronic money institution under reference C451387, granted on 22 November 2023. It belongs to the Dojo group of UK-based Paymentsense Limited. It offers card acceptance through Dojo card machines, payment links and dynamic currency conversion to businesses in Ireland, and serves Spain and Italy through branches.

Licences and registrations

Held by Paymentsense Ireland Limited (LEI 635400FOB8AVOTSHQM30). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterCentral Bank of Ireland Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution C451387 Ireland Active 2023-11-22 —
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • E-money / stored value
Search the register ↗

Trading names on the register: Dojo (EBA-PSD2)

  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

140,000

customers · Group · 28 May 2025 · company statement ↗

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

Paymentsense Limited

Firm type

Merchant acquiring and processing

Trades as Dojo

Ownership
The firm is the Irish subsidiary of the UK Dojo group, whose operating company is Paymentsense Limited.
Direct parent
Paymentsense Limited, United Kingdom
Head office
Making it Work, Magennis Place, 2nd Floor, D02FK76 Dublin, Ireland (registered office: 9 Clare Street, Dublin 2, D02 HH30, Ireland)
Company register
CRO 542166
Incorporated
7 Apr 2014

Online

Websites & references
dojo.tech ↗
dojo.tech/es ↗ Site of the Spanish branch (Paymentsense Ireland Limited, Sucursal en España)
dojo.tech/it ↗ Site of the Italian branch (Paymentsense Ireland Limited - Italian branch)
support-ie.dojo.tech ↗ Irish help centre
status.dojo.tech ↗ Service status page (Dojo brand)
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗
Sources · 16 pages consulted
  1. a.storyblok.com/f/267449/x/4f00a51ecd/1-ie-t-cs_new-card-schemes_apr26.pdf
  2. dojo.tech/ie/
  3. dojo.tech/ie/legal/
  4. dojo.tech/ie/documents/
  5. dojo.tech/ie/contact/
  6. dojo.tech/ie/app/
  7. dojo.tech/it/
  8. dojo.tech/es/
  9. dojo.tech/resources/dojo-to-launch-in-ireland-press-release/
  10. dojo.tech/resources/dojo-announces-landmark-investment-from-vitruvian-partners/
  11. businesswire.com/news/home/20250528171676/en/Dojo-announces-landmark-investment-of-$190-million-from-Vitru
  12. lei.bloomberg.com/leis/view/635400FOB8AVOTSHQM30
  13. uzraudziba.bank.lv/tirgus-dalibnieki/maksajumu-pakalpojumu-sniedzeji/elektroniskas-naudas-iestades/pakalpoju
  14. centralbank.ie/news-media/press-releases/warning-notice-central-bank-of-ireland-issues-warning-on-unauth
  15. rte.ie/news/business/2023/1129/1419022-dojo-receives-e-money-licence-from-central-bank/
  16. matheson.com/news/detail/2023/12/01/matheson-supports-paymentsense-in-securing-its-e-money-institution

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The Central Bank of Ireland authorises the firm as an electronic money institution under reference C451387. It operates in Spain through a branch registered with the Banco de España under number 6728. It operates in Italy through a branch registered with the Banca d'Italia under number 18335. The Latvian supervisor lists it as providing services cross-border from 28 November 2023.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Central Bank of Ireland Ireland Electronic Money Institution C451387 In its own name Active a.storyblok.com ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Segregated safeguarding accountsAccording to its terms, funds it holds for merchants are kept in a bank account separate from its own funds or covered by insurance, and are protected from its creditors if it becomes insolvent.a.storyblok.com ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
Visa Access not stated a.storyblok.com ↗
Mastercard Access not stated a.storyblok.com ↗
American Express Access not stated a.storyblok.com ↗
SEPA Instant Credit Transfer Access not stated a.storyblok.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Merchant acquiring
  • Payment gateway
  • FX conversion

The firm provides card acquiring through Dojo card machines, remote payment links and dynamic currency conversion to businesses. It pays out takings the next business day, with optional instant transfers over SEPA Instant.

It serves businesses in Ireland under its Irish licence and operates in Spain and Italy through registered branches.

Sells to
Small businesses · Enterprises
Serves customers in 3 countries
Ireland · Spain · Italy
Latest funding round
USD 190m May 2025Led by Vitruvian Partnersdojo.tech ↗
Total raised
USD 190m to May 2025 · dojo.tech ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Funding

    Vitruvian Partners invested USD 190 million in the Dojo group to fund expansion into markets including Ireland, Italy and Spain.

    dojo.tech ↗
  2. Licence

    The Central Bank of Ireland authorised the firm as an electronic money institution on 22 November 2023.

    dojo.tech ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Regulator warnings

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Impersonation Central Bank of Ireland, Ireland

    The Central Bank of Ireland warned about an unauthorised lender called Dojo Loans, which had cloned the details of an FCA-authorised firm.

    centralbank.ie ↗

Entries on regulators’ consumer-warning lists that name the firm or its brand. An impersonation warning is about fraudsters posing as the firm, not about the firm itself.

Identifiers

Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
C451387
BIC
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
How the LEI was matched
Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address
Elucidate firm ID
e71fd8c22b0e

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Main licence class
E-Money / Stored Value Institution
Activities
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • E-money / stored value
Licensed in
Ireland · Europe & Central Asia
First registered
2023-11-22

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

Addresses

Address on the register
9 Clare Street, Dublin 2, D02 HH30
Country
Ireland

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

Identified by
Name and postal address, with its LEI
Postal address
Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line
<FinInstnId>
  <LEI>635400FOB8AVOTSHQM30</LEI>
  <Nm>Paymentsense Ireland Limited</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>D02 HH30</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>Dublin 2</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>IE</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>9 Clare Street</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Register for this page

  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

Book a demo