Ireland · Payments & e-money

Paysend Eu Designated Activity Company

Paysend EU Designated Activity Company (Paysend EU DAC) is an Irish designated activity company based in Dublin. The Central Bank of Ireland has authorised it as an electronic money institution under reference C443739 since 20 December 2022. It is a subsidiary of Paysend Group Limited, a company incorporated in Scotland. It provides the Paysend app's international money transfers, e-money balance and Mastercard-branded Paysend Card to consumers living in the European Economic Area.

BICPAEDIE22XXX LEI8945000T3J4BOQWA5X05 Licence no.C443739 Reverse billingThe institution is connected to Swift. Messages sent to it are billed to the institution, not to the sender. The “2” in the eighth character of PAEDIE22 marks reverse billing. Head-office BIC only Group: Paysend Group Limited Claim this profile

Licences and registrations

Held by Paysend Eu Designated Activity Company (LEI 8945000T3J4BOQWA5X05). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterCentral Bank of IrelandLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution C443739 Ireland Active 2022-12-20 —
  • Money remittance
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • Payment initiation
  • Account information
  • E-money / stored value
Search the register ↗
  • Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
  • The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

European registers

ECB · monetary financial institutions

List as at 2026-09-25

Category
Other monetary financial institution
Minimum reserves
Not on the ECB reserve list
Listed as
PAYSEND EU DESIGNATED ACTIVITY COMPANY
RIAD code
IECBI00443739

Entries are matched on the LEI. Each register is quoted as its publisher lists it.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

BIC
PAEDIE22XXX head office
Connection to Swift
Reverse billingThe institution is connected to Swift. Messages sent to it are billed to the institution, not to the sender. The “2” in the eighth character of PAEDIE22 marks reverse billing.
Swift GPI
Not on the member list
Payment schemes and systems
No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
Branch codes
None: head-office BIC only
BIC first registered
2024-01-06
Last updated
2024-04-10

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

12,000,000

customers · Group · 8 Apr 2026 · company statement ↗

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

PAYSEND GROUP LIMITED

Firm type

Money remittance

Trades as Paysend

Ownership
Paysend Group Limited, a company incorporated in Scotland (company number SC562529), is the direct and ultimate parent according to the entity's LEI record.
Direct parent
PAYSEND GROUP LIMITED ↗, United Kingdom
Head office
6th Floor, South Bank House, Barrow Street, Dublin 4 Dublin, Ireland
Company register
CRO 678642
Founders
Abdul Abdulkerimov · Ronald Millar

Online

Websites & references
paysend.com ↗
developer.paysend.com ↗ API documentation (group)
help.paysend.com ↗ help centre (group)
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗ · YouTube ↗ · TikTok ↗
Sources · 11 pages consulted
  1. registers.centralbank.ie/FirmRegisterDataPage.aspx?firmReferenceNumber=C443739&register=63
  2. paysend.com/eu-ie/
  3. cloud.paysend.com/web/docs/paysend_uk_eea_transfers_term_en.pdf
  4. paysend.com/rules
  5. paysend.com/about-us
  6. paysend.com/en-us/news/paysend-secures-65-million-in-latest-investment-round-with-strategic%20backing
  7. paysend.com/en-ca/news/paysend-appoints-ben-chisell-group-ceo
  8. paysend.com/en-be/news/article-paysend-launches-new-european-hub-in-dublin
  9. fintechfutures.com/venture-capital-funding/paysend-lands-25m-from-claret-capital-partners
  10. fintechfutures.com/job-cuts-new-hires/paysend-promotes-president-ben-chisell-to-ceo
  11. finovate.com/global-money-transfer-firm-paysend-secures-25-million-in-funding/

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The Central Bank of Ireland authorises the firm as an electronic money institution under the European Communities (Electronic Money) Regulations 2011. The authorisation covers money remittance, card issuing and acquiring, credit transfers, direct debits, payment initiation and account information services. It is passported on a freedom-of-services basis to 29 other EEA states.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Central Bank of Ireland Ireland Electronic Money Institution authorised under Regulation 9 of the European Communities (Electronic Money) Regulations 2011 C443739 In its own name Active registers.centralbank.ie ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm states that it safeguards customer funds with financial institution partners, which hold them separately from its own funds, and that e-money balances are not covered by the Irish Deposit Guarantee Scheme.cloud.paysend.com ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
Mastercard Access not stated cloud.paysend.com ↗
Visa Access not stated cloud.paysend.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • International money transfer
  • E-money wallet
  • Debit cards
  • FX conversion

It offers EEA residents international transfers to cards, bank accounts, wallets and cash pick-up in more than 170 countries. It also offers an e-money balance and a virtual or physical Paysend debit card, which it issues on Mastercard.

It serves customers living in the EEA under its Irish licence. The Central Bank of Ireland register lists freedom-of-services passports for the 29 other EEA states.

Sells to
Consumers
Serves customers in 30 countries
Ireland · Austria · Belgium · Bulgaria · Croatia · Cyprus · Czechia · Denmark · Estonia · Finland · France · Germany · Greece · Hungary · Iceland · Italy · Latvia · Liechtenstein · Lithuania · Luxembourg · Malta · Netherlands · Norway · Poland · Portugal · Romania · Slovakia · Slovenia · Spain · Sweden
Latest funding round
investment round · USD 65mpaysend.com ↗

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Ben Chisell Group CEO (Paysend group) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · paysend.com ↗
Chair
Abdul Abdulkerimov Executive Chairman & Co-Founder (Paysend group) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · paysend.com ↗
Chief financial officer
Wilhelm Rohde Chief Financial Officer (Paysend group) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · paysend.com ↗
Founder
Ronald Millar Co-Founder & Founder's Office (Paysend group) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · paysend.com ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Funding

    Claret Capital Partners provided the Paysend group with USD 25 million in follow-on capital.

    fintechfutures.com ↗
  2. Leadership

    The Paysend group appointed Ben Chisell as Group CEO, succeeding co-founder Ronald Millar.

    paysend.com ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Head-office record

BIC
PAEDIE22XXX
How the BIC breaks down
  1. PAEDBank
  2. IECountry · Ireland
  3. 22Location · reverse billing
  4. XXXBranch · head office
Branch description
Not recorded in the directory
LEI
8945000T3J4BOQWA5X05
LEI record
View on GLEIF ↗
Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
C443739
How the LEI was matched
BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address.
Register-entry ID
bdacafd55576

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Register licences
1 entry on 1 register
Activities
  • Money remittance
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • Payment initiation
  • Account information
  • E-money / stored value
Licensed in
Ireland
Country · region
Ireland · Europe & Central Asia
Banking supervision
Not on the ECB's list of supervised entities as of 2026-07-01
Trading venues (MIC)
No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
OFAC sanctions
No listing cites this BIC
EU sanctions
No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
Country sanctions
No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

Direct parent
Paysend Group Limited · United Kingdom635400ZL83VTRYH8ML13 ↗

The Paysend Group Limited group has 4 institutions in the directory, in 3 countries: 3 hold a BIC and 1 does not.

Including Paysend PLC, Paysend CA Limited, Paysend PLC.

See the Paysend Group Limited group →

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

Addresses

Registered address
SOUTH BANK HOUSE 6TH FLOOR BARROW STREET DUBLIN D04 IRELAND
Operational address
SOUTH BANK HOUSE 6TH FLOOR BARROW STREET DUBLIN DUBLIN D04 IRELAND

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

Identified by
BIC, with its LEI
Roles in CBPR+
Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents

CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>PAEDIE22XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>8945000T3J4BOQWA5X05</LEI>
</FinInstnId>

Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>PAEDIE22XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>8945000T3J4BOQWA5X05</LEI>
  <Nm>PAYSEND EU DESIGNATED ACTIVITY COMPANY</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <TwnNm>DUBLIN</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>IE</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>SOUTH BANK HOUSE 6TH FLOOR BARROW STREET DUBLIN D04</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

Claim this profile

Work at Paysend Eu Designated Activity Company?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

  1. 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
  2. 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
  3. 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Claim received

Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Credits for this page

  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
  • European registers—Source: European Central Bank (ECB), list of monetary financial institutions and list of institutions subject to minimum reserves. Matched on LEI by Elucidate.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

Book a demo