- Directory
- United Kingdom
- Paysend PLC

United Kingdom · Payments & e-money
Paysend PLC
Paysend PLC is a public limited company incorporated in Scotland, with its registered office in Edinburgh. The FCA authorises the firm as an electronic money institution under firm reference number 900004. It is a wholly owned subsidiary of Paysend Group Limited and trades as Paysend. It provides international money transfers, e-money balances and Mastercard cards to customers in the UK and other non-EEA markets. It also acts as the settlement and treasury hub of the Paysend group.
Licences and registrations
Held by Paysend PLC (LEI 984500SFA1006DBC3C06). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.
| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FCA Financial Services Register - E-Money InstitutionsFCALinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name and country only. | Authorised E-Money InstitutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution | 900004 | United Kingdom | Active | 2018-02-02 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
Trading names on the register: PaySend (FCA-EMI)
- Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
- Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
- Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
- The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
- BIC
- PAEDGB2KXXX head office
- Connection to Swift
- Connected to SwiftThis BIC is registered as a live address on the Swift network. The institution sends and receives Swift messages under PAEDGB2K directly.
- Swift GPI
- Not on the member list
- Payment schemes and systems
- No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
- Branch codes
- None: head-office BIC only
- Other BIC with this LEI
- PAEDGB21
- BIC first registered
- 2021-08-28
- Last updated
- 2024-12-14
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Customers
12,000,000
customers · Group · 30 Jun 2026
Ownership
Group subsidiary
100% Paysend Group Limited
Firm type
Money remittance
Trades as Paysend
- Ownership
- Paysend Group Limited owns 100% of the firm. Its 2025 accounts state that Digital Space Ventures of Luxembourg holds a majority of the group and name Elvira Abdulkerimova as ultimate controlling party.
- Direct parent
- Paysend Group Limited ↗, United Kingdom 100%
- Ultimate owner
- Digital Space Ventures, Luxembourg
- Head office
- Suite 2, Ground Floor, Orchard Brae House, 30 Queensferry Road, EH4 2HS Edinburgh, United Kingdom
- Company register
- Companies House SC376020
- Incorporated
- 31 Mar 2010
- Founders
- Abdul Abdulkerimov · Ronald Millar
- Former names
- PAYWIZARD PUBLIC LIMITED COMPANY · PAYWIZARD LIMITED
Online
- Websites & references
- paysend.com ↗
developer.paysend.com ↗ API documentation
help.paysend.com ↗ help centre and complaints
Wikidata Q120967838 ↗ - Official social accounts
- LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗ · YouTube ↗ · TikTok ↗
Sources · 9 pages consulted
- find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/SC376020/officers
- find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/SC376020/persons-with-significant-control
- find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/SC376020/filing-history
- find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/SC376020/filing-history/MzUyNDA1NTEwOWFkaXF6a2N4/document?format=pdf&download=0
- paysend.com/
- paysend.com/about-us
- paysend.com/rules
- cloud.paysend.com/web/docs/paysend_uk_eea_transfers_term_en.pdf
- claret-capital.com/articles/claret-capital-partners-strengthens-partnership-with-paysend-through-us25m-follo
Authorisation
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Operates under
- Its own licences
The FCA authorises the firm as an electronic money institution to issue e-money and provide payment services (FRN 900004). Its sister company Paysend EU DAC serves EEA customers under a Central Bank of Ireland e-money licence. Paysend US LLC serves US customers.
| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Financial Conduct Authority United Kingdom | Authorised Electronic Money Institution | 900004 | In its own name | Active | — |
Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.
Partners and safeguarding
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Safeguarding
- Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm states that partner financial institutions hold customers' funds separately from its own funds in safeguarding accounts.
- Crypto-asset custody
- Not disclosedCustomers can send stablecoins such as USDC to blockchain wallet addresses. The firm states that a third-party service provider, which it does not name, carries out the conversion and transfer.
- Payment schemes and card networks
- Mastercard Direct find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Visa Direct find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
UnionPay Access not stated find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Faster Payments Access not stated cloud.paysend.com ↗
Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.
Products and markets
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
It sends money to more than 170 countries, with payout to cards, bank accounts, e-wallets and cash pick-up. It also sells payout APIs and multi-currency settlement accounts to businesses.
According to its terms of service, the firm serves customers in the UK and other territories outside Canada, the EEA, the US and Uzbekistan. Group sister companies serve those markets.
- Revenue
- USD 35.1m
- Sells to
- Consumers · Enterprises · Platforms and marketplaces · Financial institutions
- Serves customers in 18 countries
- United Kingdom · Albania · Bosnia & Herzegovina · Burkina Faso · Egypt · Kyrgyzstan · Morocco · Kazakhstan · Moldova · Montenegro · North Macedonia · Brazil · Chile · Colombia · Mexico · Peru · Kuwait · Israel
- Latest funding round
- investment round · USD 65m Apr 2024
Leadership
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Chief executive
- Ben Chisell Group CEO
- Chair
- Abdul Abdulkerimov Executive Chairman & Co-Founder
- Chief financial officer
- Wilhelm Rohde Chief Financial Officer
- Founder
- Ronald Millar Co-Founder & Founder's Office; Director of Paysend PLC
- Executive
- Daria Kroos Director
Recent events
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
-
Funding
Claret Capital Partners announced a USD 25 million follow-on investment in Paysend through its funds.
claret-capital.com ↗
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
Head-office record
- BIC
- PAEDGB2KXXX
- How the BIC breaks down
- PAEDBank
- GBCountry · United Kingdom
- 2KLocation
- XXXBranch · head office
- Branch description
- Not recorded in the directory
- LEI
- 984500SFA1006DBC3C06
- LEI record
- View on GLEIF ↗
- Licence no. · FCA-EMI
- 900004
- How the LEI was matched
- BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name and country only.
- Register-entry ID
- e4884419d5ad
Profile
- Type
- Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
- Regulation
- Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
- Register licences
- 1 entry on 1 register
- Activities
- Payment services
- E-money / stored value
- Licensed in
- United Kingdom
- Website (register)
- www.paysend.com ↗
- Country · region
- United Kingdom · Europe & Central Asia
- Trading venues (MIC)
- No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
- OFAC sanctions
- No listing cites this BIC
- EU sanctions
- No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
- Country sanctions
- No country programme
- Founded
- 2017
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
- Direct parent
- Paysend Group Limited · United Kingdom635400ZL83VTRYH8ML13 ↗
The Paysend Group Limited group has 4 institutions in the directory, in 3 countries: 3 hold a BIC and 1 does not.
Including Paysend Eu Designated Activity Company, Paysend CA Limited.
See the Paysend Group Limited group →Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.
Addresses
- Registered address
- ORCHARD BRAE HOUSE FLOOR G 30 QUEENSFERRY ROAD EDINBURGH EH4 2HS UNITED KINGDOM
- Operational address
- ORCHARD BRAE HOUSE SUITE 2 FLOOR G FL 30 QUEENSFERRY ROAD EDINBURGH EDINBURGH EH4 2HS UNITED KINGDOM
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.
- Identified by
- BIC, with its LEI
- Roles in CBPR+
- Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents
CBPR+
For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>PAEDGB2KXXX</BICFI>
<LEI>984500SFA1006DBC3C06</LEI>
</FinInstnId>
Full record
Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>PAEDGB2KXXX</BICFI>
<LEI>984500SFA1006DBC3C06</LEI>
<Nm>PAYSEND PLC</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<TwnNm>EDINBURGH</TwnNm>
<Ctry>GB</Ctry>
<AdrLine>ORCHARD BRAE HOUSE FLOOR G 30 QUEENSFERRY ROAD EDINBURGH EH4 2HS</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.
Claim this profile
Work at Paysend PLC?
Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.
- 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
- 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
- 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.
Claim received
Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.
The claim was not sent. Try again, or email contact@elucidate.co.
Sources & method
Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.
Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.
Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Credits for this page
- Wikidata—CC0, matched on the BIC or LEI recorded in Wikidata. It is community-edited, so check key facts.
- FCA Financial Services Register - E-Money Institutions—Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
- Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
- Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: paysend.com · CC BY-SA 4.0 · Wikimedia Commons · original.
Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC
A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.
Book a demo