Canada · Money service business

Paysend CA Limited

Paysend CA Limited is a private company incorporated in Canada, with its office in Mississauga, Ontario. FINTRAC registers it as a money services business (M19598578). Revenue Québec licenses it under licence number 11874. The firm states that it is also registered with the Bank of Canada as a payment service provider under the Retail Payment Activities Act. It belongs to the Paysend group, and its LEI record names Paysend Group Limited (United Kingdom) as its direct and ultimate parent. Under the Paysend brand it offers personal customers in Canada international and domestic money transfers through its app and website.

Licences and registrations

Held by Paysend CA Limited (LEI 9845001EBE02D4AADE33). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
Money Services Business RegistryFINTRAC MSBMoney Transmitter / Remittance M19598578 Canada Active 2019-10-04 Renews 2028-07-22
  • Money remittance
Search the register ↗

Trading names on the register: PAYSEND (FINTRAC-MSB)

  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

12,000,000

customers · Group · 30 Jun 2026 · company statement ↗

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

Paysend Group Limited

Firm type

Money remittance

Trades as Paysend

Ownership
According to its LEI record, Paysend Group Limited, a company incorporated in Scotland, is the firm's direct and ultimate accounting parent. The percentage held is not published.
Direct parent
Paysend Group Limited ↗, United Kingdom
Head office
2800 Skymark Ave, Suite 300, L4W 5A6 Mississauga, Canada
Founders
Abdul Abdulkerimov · Ronald Millar

Online

Websites & references
paysend.com ↗
paysend.com ↗ Paysend group global site
developer.paysend.com ↗ Paysend group API documentation
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗ · YouTube ↗ · TikTok ↗
Sources · 7 pages consulted
  1. paysend.com/en-ca/
  2. cloud.paysend.com/web/docs/paysend_ca_term_en_fr.pdf
  3. paysend.com/rules
  4. paysend.com/about-us
  5. paysend.com/news?lang=en
  6. finovate.com/global-money-transfer-firm-paysend-secures-25-million-in-funding/
  7. bankofcanada.ca/regulatory-oversight/retail-payments/psp-registry/

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

FINTRAC registers the firm as a money services business, and Revenue Québec licenses it as a money services business. The firm states that it is registered with the Bank of Canada as a payment service provider under the Retail Payment Activities Act.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (FINTRAC) Canada Money services business registration (money transmitter / remittance) M19598578 In its own name Active paysend.com ↗
Revenu Québec Canada Money services business licence 11874 In its own name Active paysend.com ↗
Bank of Canada Canada Registered payment service provider under the Retail Payment Activities Act — In its own name Active paysend.com ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Not disclosedThe firm's terms state that it is not a bank or deposit-taking institution. They also state that amounts held with it are not covered by deposit insurance and earn no interest. They do not describe how customer funds are safeguarded.cloud.paysend.com ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
Interac e-Transfer Access not stated cloud.paysend.com ↗
Mastercard Access not stated cloud.paysend.com ↗
Visa Access not stated cloud.paysend.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • International money transfer
  • Domestic payments
  • Cash pick-up
  • FX conversion

It sends money from Canada to more than 170 countries, according to the Paysend brand. Transfers can be paid out to cards, bank accounts, digital wallets or for cash pick-up, depending on the destination. Domestic transfers within Canada use Interac e-Transfer. Its terms limit the account to personal use.

The firm serves personal customers in Canada, including Quebec, and its terms are governed by Canadian and provincial law.

Sells to
Consumers
Serves customers in
Canada
Latest funding round
USD 65m Apr 2024paysend.com ↗

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Ben Chisell Group CEO (Paysend group) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · paysend.com ↗
Chair
Abdul Abdulkerimov Executive Chairman & Co-Founder (Paysend group) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · paysend.com ↗
Chief financial officer
Wilhelm Rohde Chief Financial Officer (Paysend group) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · paysend.com ↗
Founder
Ronald Millar Co-Founder & Founder's Office (Paysend group) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · paysend.com ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Licence

    The Central Bank of the UAE granted the Paysend group in-principle licence approval, according to a Paysend press release.

    paysend.com ↗
  2. Funding

    Claret Capital Partners made a USD 25 million follow-on investment in the Paysend group, according to Finovate.

    finovate.com ↗
  3. Leadership

    The Paysend group appointed Ben Chisell as Group Chief Executive Officer with immediate effect.

    paysend.com ↗
  4. Funding

    The Paysend group announced a USD 65 million investment round that included strategic backing from Mastercard.

    paysend.com ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Licence no. · FINTRAC-MSB
M19598578
BIC
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
How the LEI was matched
Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name and country only
Elucidate firm ID
47ee70f2996a

Profile

Type
Money service businessRemittance, currency exchange, cheque cashing and money orders. Usually registered with an anti-money-laundering supervisor rather than licensed prudentially. Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
AML registration onlyRegistered with an anti-money-laundering supervisor (FinCEN, FINTRAC, HMRC, AUSTRAC, Hong Kong Customs…) without a prudential licence.
Main licence class
Money Transmitter / Remittance
Activities
  • Money remittance
Licensed in
Canada · North America
First registered
2019-10-04

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

Direct parent
Paysend Group Limited · United Kingdom635400ZL83VTRYH8ML13 ↗

The Paysend Group Limited group has 4 institutions in the directory, in 3 countries: 3 hold a BIC and 1 does not.

Including Paysend Eu Designated Activity Company, Paysend PLC, Paysend PLC.

See the Paysend Group Limited group →

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

Addresses

Address on the register
1942 - 130 KING STREET WEST, TORONTO, M5X 1E0
Country
Canada

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

Identified by
Name and postal address, with its LEI
Postal address
Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line
<FinInstnId>
  <LEI>9845001EBE02D4AADE33</LEI>
  <Nm>PAYSEND CA LIMITED</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>M5X 1E0</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>TORONTO</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>CA</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>1942 - 130 KING STREET WEST</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Register for this page

  • Money Services Business Registry—Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (FINTRAC) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

Book a demo