- Directory
- Netherlands
- Quantoz Payments B.V.
Netherlands · Payments & e-money
Quantoz Payments B.V.
Quantoz Payments B.V. is a Dutch private limited company based in Utrecht. De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) authorises it as an electronic money institution, and the firm passports this licence within the EEA. It is the regulated subsidiary of Quantoz N.V. and names Tether, Kraken and Mirana among its shareholders. It issues e-money tokens under the Markets in Crypto-Assets Regulation (MiCA) and offers e-money accounts to businesses, platforms and consumers.
Licences and registrations
Held by Quantoz Payments B.V. (LEI 7245008P1HPUPVM7XL94). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.
| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EBA PSD2 RegisterThe Netherlands BankLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. | Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution | R186418 | Netherlands | Active | 2023-10-26 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
- Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
- Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
- Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
- The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
- BIC
- QUPYNL22XXX head office
- Connection to Swift
- Reverse billingThe institution is connected to Swift. Messages sent to it are billed to the institution, not to the sender. The “2” in the eighth character of QUPYNL22 marks reverse billing.
- Swift GPI
- Not on the member list
- Payment schemes and systems
- No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
- Branch codes
- None: head-office BIC only
- BIC first registered
- 2026-07-04
- Last updated
- 2026-07-04
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Customers
Not published
Employees
Not published
Ownership
Group subsidiary
Quantoz N.V.
Firm type
Stablecoin issuer
Trades as Quantoz
- Ownership
- The firm describes Quantoz N.V. as the parent company of the group and names Tether, Kraken and Mirana among its shareholders.
- Direct parent
- Quantoz N.V., Netherlands
- Head office
- Europalaan 100, 3526 KS Utrecht, Netherlands
- Company register
- Dutch Chamber of Commerce (KvK) 84071745
- Incorporated
- 2021
- Founder
- Gaston Hendriks
Online
- Websites & references
- quantoz.com ↗
portal.quantozpay.com ↗ customer portal and API reference
status.quantozpay.com ↗ platform status page
docs.ai.quantozpay.com ↗ developer documentation (Agentic Stack) - Official social accounts
- LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · YouTube ↗ · Telegram ↗
- Apps
- App Store ↗ · Google Play ↗
Sources · 14 pages consulted
- dnb.nl/en/public-register/information-detail/?registerCode=WFTEG&relationNumber=R186418
- quantoz.com/
- quantoz.com/about/
- quantoz.com/transparency/
- quantoz.com/tokens/
- quantoz.com/whitepapers/
- quantoz.com/investors/
- quantoz.com/documents/terms-of-service-quantoz-e-money-2.pdf
- prnewswire.com/news-releases/quantoz-payments-issues-euro-and-us-dollar-stablecoins-receives-backing-fro
- quantoz.com/blog/quantoz-payments-issues-euro-and-us-dollar-stablecoins
- finopotamus.com/post/quantoz-partners-with-visa-to-make-stablecoins-spendable
- einpresswire.com/article/911990736/quantoz-payments-strengthens-its-leadership-team-with-the-appointment-o
- quantoz.com/blog/quantoz-payments-appoints-arjen-van-klaarbergen-as-general-counsel
- quantoz.com/blog/quantoz-payments-appoints-arnoud-star-busmann-as-its-chief-executive-officer
Authorisation
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Operates under
- Its own licences
DNB authorises the firm as an electronic money institution under Article 2:10a of the Dutch Financial Supervision Act (Wft). The Netherlands Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM) supervises its conduct of business. The DNB register shows the licence passported to other EEA states from 1 January 2024.
| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) Netherlands | Authorisation to carry out the business of an electronic-money institution (Elektronischgeldinstelling), Wft 2:10a | R186418 | In its own name | Active | dnb.nl ↗ |
Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.
Partners and safeguarding
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Safeguarding
- Segregated safeguarding accountsStichting Quantoz holds the funds received for e-money in a bankruptcy-remote structure, with at least 30% in cash at several European banks and the rest in government bonds.
- Crypto-asset custody
- Non-custodial: customers hold their own keysThe firm issues e-money tokens on Ethereum, Polygon, Algorand, Stellar, XRP Ledger and Xahau. Holders keep the tokens in their own wallet or with a custodian of their choice.
- Safeguarding bank
- Stichting Quantoz Netherlands
- Payment schemes and card networks
- Visa Direct finopotamus.com ↗
SEPA Credit Transfer Access not stated quantoz.com ↗
Swift Access not stated quantoz.com ↗
Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.
Products and markets
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
The firm issues the EURQ, USDQ, GBPQ and PLNQ e-money tokens and redeems them at par. It also offers ledger-based e-money accounts funded and redeemed by bank transfer, including through the SEPA scheme for euro.
The firm serves customers in the EEA under its Dutch licence. Its account terms also admit residents of the United Kingdom and Switzerland.
- Sells to
- Enterprises · Platforms and marketplaces · Financial institutions · Small businesses · Consumers
- Serves customers in 29 countries
- Netherlands · Belgium · Bulgaria · Cyprus · Denmark · Germany · Estonia · Finland · France · Greece · Hungary · Ireland · Iceland · Italy · Croatia · Latvia · Lithuania · Luxembourg · Malta · Norway · Austria · Poland · Portugal · Romania · Slovenia · Slovakia · Spain · United Kingdom · Switzerland
- Latest funding round
- Undisclosed Nov 2024
Leadership
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Chief executive
-
Arjen van Klaarbergen
Co-CEO and Chief Legal Officer
- Chief executive
-
Gaston Hendriks
Co-CEO and Chief Technology Officer
- Chair
-
Ron Berndsen
Chairman of the Supervisory Board
- Chief financial officer
-
Folkert Miedema
Chief Financial Officer
- Compliance / MLRO
-
Roberta Gaddoni
Compliance Officer
- Executive
-
Nick Haasnoot
Chief Risk Officer
Recent events
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
-
Leadership
The firm appointed Folkert Miedema as incoming Chief Financial Officer, subject to approval by DNB.
einpresswire.com ↗ -
Other
The firm launched two e-money tokens, PLNQ referenced to the Polish złoty and GBPQ referenced to the pound sterling.
quantoz.com ↗ -
Other
The firm announced a partnership with Visa to become a direct Visa principal member and issue virtual debit cards.
finopotamus.com ↗ -
Leadership
The firm appointed Arjen van Klaarbergen, formerly head of legal for the EU and UK at Binance, as General Counsel.
quantoz.com ↗ -
Funding
Fabric Ventures, Kraken and Tether invested an undisclosed amount as the firm began issuing EURQ and USDQ.
prnewswire.com ↗ -
Leadership
Arnoud Star Busmann became Chief Executive Officer of the firm on 1 October 2024.
quantoz.com ↗ -
Licence
DNB authorised the firm as an electronic money institution with effect from 13 October 2023.
dnb.nl ↗
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
Head-office record
- BIC
- QUPYNL22XXX
- How the BIC breaks down
- QUPYBank
- NLCountry · Netherlands
- 22Location · reverse billing
- XXXBranch · head office
- Branch description
- Not recorded in the directory
- LEI
- 7245008P1HPUPVM7XL94
- LEI record
- View on GLEIF ↗
- Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
- R186418
- How the LEI was matched
- BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address.
- Register-entry ID
- 5cf99e51b474
Profile
- Type
- Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
- Regulation
- Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
- Register licences
- 1 entry on 1 register
- Activities
- Payment services
- Card acquiring
- E-money / stored value
- Licensed in
- Netherlands
- Country · region
- Netherlands · Europe & Central Asia
- Banking supervision
- Not on the ECB's list of supervised entities as of 2026-07-01
- Trading venues (MIC)
- No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
- OFAC sanctions
- No listing cites this BIC
- EU sanctions
- No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
- Country sanctions
- No country programme
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.
Addresses
- Registered address
- EUROPALAAN 100 UTRECHT 3526 KS NETHERLANDS
- Operational address
- EUROPALAAN 100 UTRECHT 3526 KS UTRECHT NETHERLANDS
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.
- Identified by
- BIC, with its LEI
- Roles in CBPR+
- Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents
CBPR+
For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>QUPYNL22XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>7245008P1HPUPVM7XL94</LEI>
</FinInstnId>
Full record
Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>QUPYNL22XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>7245008P1HPUPVM7XL94</LEI>
<Nm>QUANTOZ PAYMENTS B.V.</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<TwnNm>UTRECHT</TwnNm>
<Ctry>NL</Ctry>
<AdrLine>EUROPALAAN 100 UTRECHT 3526 KS</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.
Claim this profile
Work at Quantoz Payments B.V.?
Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.
- 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
- 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
- 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.
Claim received
Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.
The claim was not sent. Try again, or email contact@elucidate.co.
Sources & method
Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.
Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.
Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Credits for this page
- EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
- Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: quantoz.com (official website) · original; Arjen van Klaarbergen: quantoz.com (official website) · original; Gaston Hendriks: quantoz.com (official website) · original; Ron Berndsen: quantoz.com (official website) · original; Folkert Miedema: quantoz.com (official website) · original; Roberta Gaddoni: quantoz.com (official website) · original; Nick Haasnoot: quantoz.com (official website) · original.
Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC
A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.
Book a demo