Malta · Payments & e-money

Shift4 Limited

Shift4 Limited is a Maltese limited company with its seat in Valletta. The Malta Financial Services Authority (MFSA) authorises it as a financial institution (payment institution) under the Financial Institutions Act. Until 28 November 2024 it held a banking licence and traded as Credorax Bank Limited, later under the Finaro brand. It belongs to the group of Shift4 Payments, Inc., which is listed on the New York Stock Exchange and completed its acquisition of Credorax, Inc. (Finaro) on 26 October 2023. The firm provides card acquiring and payment processing services to merchants in the EU and EEA.

BICCRXBMTMTXXX LEI213800181YOLRJFDJF94 Licence no.C 46342 Connected to SwiftThis BIC is registered as a live address on the Swift network. The institution sends and receives Swift messages under CRXBMTMT directly. Head-office BIC only Claim this profile

Licences and registrations

Held by Shift4 Limited (LEI 213800181YOLRJFDJF94). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterMalta Financial Services AuthorityLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. Payment institutionPayment Institution C 46342 Malta Active 2024-11-28 —
  • Money remittance
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • Payment initiation
  • Account information
Search the register ↗
  • Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
  • The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

BIC
CRXBMTMTXXX head office
Connection to Swift
Connected to SwiftThis BIC is registered as a live address on the Swift network. The institution sends and receives Swift messages under CRXBMTMT directly.
Swift GPI
Not on the member list
Payment schemes and systems
SCT
Branch codes
None: head-office BIC only
BIC first registered
2014-08-16
Last updated
2025-01-10

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

Firm type

Merchant acquiring and processing

Trades as Shift4

Standing
The firm was renamed from Credorax Bank Limited to Shift4 Limited on 25 November 2024. On 28 November 2024 it gave up its Maltese credit institution (banking) licence, and the MFSA granted it a financial institution licence under the Financial Institutions Act.
Ownership
Shift4 Payments, Inc. controls the firm indirectly through its October 2023 acquisition of Credorax, Inc., a British Virgin Islands company trading as Finaro.
Ultimate owner
Shift4 Payments, Inc., United States
Head office
80, Palazzo Homedes, Strait Street, VLT 1436 Valletta, Malta
Company register
Malta Business Registry C 46342
Former name
Credorax Bank Limited

Online

Websites & references
shift4.com ↗ did not load when checked
investors.shift4.com ↗ group investor relations site
Official social accounts
None found
Sources · 8 pages consulted
  1. lb.lt/en/sfi-financial-market-participants/shift4-limited
  2. shift4.com/s4i-otc
  3. shift4.com/pdf/Shift4-Limited-Limited_Annual-Financial-Statements_2024.pdf?refresh=20250430
  4. shift4.com/s4i-credorax-annual-reports
  5. investors.shift4.com/sec-filings/all-sec-filings/content/0001193125-23-263590/d560130d8k.htm
  6. shift4.com/news/shift4-completes-acquisition-of-finaro
  7. investors.shift4.com/sec-filings/all-sec-filings/content/0001794669-25-000011/0001794669-25-000011.pdf
  8. fiaumalta.org/app/uploads/2020/05/AP20-Publication-Credorax-Bank.-Ltd.pdf

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The MFSA authorises the firm as a financial institution under the Financial Institutions Act (Cap. 376). The EBA register lists it as a payment institution for money remittance, card acquiring, payment initiation and account information services. The licence is passported to 30 other EU and EEA states without branches, according to the Bank of Lithuania.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Malta Financial Services Authority Malta Financial institution licence (payment institution) under the Financial Institutions Act (Cap. 376) C 46342 In its own name Active —
Malta Financial Services Authority Malta Credit institution licence under the Banking Act (Cap. 371) — In its own name Withdrawn or expired shift4.com ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm states that it holds merchants' funds at regulated banking institutions, separately from its own business funds.shift4.com ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
Visa Direct shift4.com ↗
Mastercard Access not stated shift4.com ↗
American Express Access not stated shift4.com ↗
Discover Access not stated shift4.com ↗
Girocard Access not stated shift4.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Merchant acquiring
  • Payment gateway

According to its 2024 financial statements, its principal activity is integrated acquiring and payment processing services for merchants. Its merchant terms name Mastercard, Visa, American Express, Discover and Girocard as card schemes.

It serves merchants across the EU and EEA from Malta. The Bank of Lithuania lists it as providing services without a branch in 30 other member states.

Revenue
EUR 312.4mThis entity · 31 Dec 2024 · annual report ↗
Payment volume
EUR 18.9bnVolume reported in the directors' report (the metric name was not visible in the excerpt seen)This entity · 31 Dec 2024 · annual report ↗
Sells to
Enterprises · Small businesses
Serves customers in
Malta

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Licence

    The MFSA accepted the firm's surrender of its credit institution licence and granted it a financial institution licence on 28 November 2024.

    shift4.com ↗
  2. Other

    The firm changed its name from Credorax Bank Limited to Shift4 Limited with effect from 25 November 2024.

    shift4.com ↗
  3. Merger / acquisition

    Shift4 Payments, Inc. completed its acquisition of Credorax, Inc. (Finaro), the firm's parent group, on 26 October 2023.

    investors.shift4.com ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Head-office record

BIC
CRXBMTMTXXX
How the BIC breaks down
  1. CRXBBank
  2. MTCountry · Malta
  3. MTLocation
  4. XXXBranch · head office
Branch description
Not recorded in the directory
LEI
213800181YOLRJFDJF94
LEI record
View on GLEIF ↗
Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
C 46342
How the LEI was matched
BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address.
Register-entry ID
9817494bda1a
National bank code
Sort code 21142

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Register licences
1 entry on 1 register
Activities
  • Money remittance
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • Payment initiation
  • Account information
Licensed in
Malta
Country · region
Malta · Middle East & North Africa
Banking supervision
Not on the ECB's list of supervised entities as of 2026-07-01
Trading venues (MIC)
No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
OFAC sanctions
No listing cites this BIC
EU sanctions
No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
Country sanctions
No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

Addresses

Registered address
80 STRAIT STREET PALAZZO HOMEDES VALLETTA 1436 MALTA
Operational address
PALAZZO HOMEDES 80 STRAIT STREET VALLETTA 1436 VALLETTA MALTA

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

Identified by
BIC, with its LEI
Roles in CBPR+
Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents

CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>CRXBMTMTXXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>213800181YOLRJFDJF94</LEI>
</FinInstnId>

Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>CRXBMTMTXXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>213800181YOLRJFDJF94</LEI>
  <Nm>SHIFT4 LIMITED</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <TwnNm>VALLETTA</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>MT</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>80 STRAIT STREET PALAZZO HOMEDES VALLETTA 1436</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

Payment schemes and systems

EPC registers of 2026-09-11 · ECB T2 list of 2026-07-02 · ECB TIPS list of 2026-09-01 · SIX Bank Master valid on 2026-09-28

Scheme or systemSinceRegistered withNote
SEPA Credit TransferISO 20022 messages 2018-01-08 Head office —

SEPA dates are when the institution became ready for the scheme.

An institution missing from T2 may still be reachable through an indirect participant.

“ISO 20022 messages” marks a scheme or system whose rulebook or operator specifies ISO 20022 for messages between participants.

National bank codes

Sort code · Malta

1 code file of 2026-09-23

CodeRoutes to BICName in the national fileCity
21142 CRXBMTMT Credorax Bank Ltd. Valletta

Each code shows the name in the national file. Smaller banks often route through a central institution’s BIC. A code can therefore belong to a different bank than the one on this page.

Claim this profile

Work at Shift4 Limited?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

  1. 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
  2. 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
  3. 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Claim received

Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Credits for this page

  • Payment schemes and systems—Source: European Payments Council (EPC) Registers of Participants; matched to BICs by Elucidate.
  • National bank codes—Malta (Source: Central Bank of Malta).
  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

Book a demo