Ireland · Payments & e-money

Squareup International Limited

Squareup International Limited is a private company incorporated in Ireland under company number 583287, with its head office in Dublin. The Central Bank of Ireland authorises it as an electronic money institution under reference C184117, and the EBA register dates the authorisation to 18 June 2020. It belongs to the Block, Inc. group of the United States. Trading as Square, it acquires and processes card payments for businesses in Ireland, France and Spain, and also sells point-of-sale software and hardware that are not regulated.

BICSQILIE22XXX LEI549300S1PT3M9JIUWL37 Licence no.C184117 Reverse billingThe institution is connected to Swift. Messages sent to it are billed to the institution, not to the sender. The “2” in the eighth character of SQILIE22 marks reverse billing. Head-office BIC only Group: Block, Inc. Claim this profile

Licences and registrations

Held by Squareup International Limited (LEI 549300S1PT3M9JIUWL37). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterCentral Bank of IrelandLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name and country only. Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution C184117 Ireland Active 2020-06-18 —
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • E-money / stored value
Search the register ↗

Trading names on the register: Square (EBA-PSD2)

  • Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
  • The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

European registers

ECB · monetary financial institutions

List as at 2026-09-25

Category
Other monetary financial institution
Minimum reserves
Not on the ECB reserve list
Listed as
Squareup International Limited
RIAD code
IECBI00184117

Entries are matched on the LEI. Each register is quoted as its publisher lists it.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

BIC
SQILIE22XXX head office
Connection to Swift
Reverse billingThe institution is connected to Swift. Messages sent to it are billed to the institution, not to the sender. The “2” in the eighth character of SQILIE22 marks reverse billing.
Swift GPI
Not on the member list
Payment schemes and systems
No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
Branch codes
None: head-office BIC only
BIC first registered
2023-10-09
Last updated
2023-10-09

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

Block, Inc.

Firm type

Merchant acquiring and processing

Trades as Square

Ownership
According to its Legal Entity Identifier (LEI) record, Block, Inc. of the United States is both its direct and its ultimate accounting parent.
Direct parent
Block, Inc., United States
Head office
5th Floor, Block C, One Park Place, Hatch Street, Dublin 2 Dublin, Ireland (registered office: 70 Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Dublin 2, D02 R296, Ireland)
Company register
CRO (Ireland) 583287

Online

Websites & references
squareup.com ↗
squareup.com/fr/fr ↗ France country site
squareup.com/es/es ↗ Spain country site
developer.squareup.com ↗ developer docs
ie.issquareup.com ↗ status page
squareup.com/help/ie/en ↗ support centre
Wikipedia ↗ group article
Official social accounts
X ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗ · YouTube ↗
Sources · 8 pages consulted
  1. squareup.com/ie/en/legal/general/payment
  2. squareup.com/help/ie/en/article/8601-customer-care-regulations
  3. squareup.com/ie/en
  4. lb.lt/en/sfi-financial-market-participants/squareup-international-limited
  5. squareup.com/fr/fr/legal/general/payment-archive-europe
  6. squareup.com/es/es/legal/general/payment-archive-europe
  7. squareup.com/us/en/press/square-announces-official-launch-in-spain-after-successful-early-access-progr
  8. cash.app/legal/ie/en-ie/tos

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The Central Bank of Ireland authorises the firm as an electronic money institution (reference C184117) under the European Union (Payment Services) Regulations 2018. It serves Spain under the freedom to provide services without a branch. The Bank of Lithuania also lists it as an EU e-money institution providing services there without a branch.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Central Bank of Ireland Ireland Electronic Money Institution C184117 In its own name Active squareup.com ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Insurance or guaranteeThe firm says it protects customer funds with an insurance policy that pays out if it becomes insolvent. Its payment terms also allow it to hold funds in segregated pooled accounts at authorised credit institutions.squareup.com ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
Visa Access not stated squareup.com ↗
Mastercard Access not stated squareup.com ↗
American Express Access not stated squareup.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Merchant acquiring
  • Payment gateway

It acquires Visa, Mastercard and American Express card payments for businesses and pays the proceeds in euros to bank accounts in the SEPA area. It also sells point-of-sale software and hardware, which are not regulated.

It serves business customers in Ireland, France and Spain under its Irish authorisation, with each country's terms limiting use to that country.

Sells to
Small businesses · Enterprises
Serves customers in 3 countries
Ireland · France · Spain

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

The research found no fines, investigations, security incidents, licence changes or corporate events from the last three years.

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Head-office record

BIC
SQILIE22XXX
How the BIC breaks down
  1. SQILBank
  2. IECountry · Ireland
  3. 22Location · reverse billing
  4. XXXBranch · head office
Branch description
Not recorded in the directory
LEI
549300S1PT3M9JIUWL37
LEI record
View on GLEIF ↗
Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
C184117
How the LEI was matched
BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name and country only.
Register-entry ID
b48ec1ce0983

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Register licences
1 entry on 1 register
Activities
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • E-money / stored value
Licensed in
Ireland
Country · region
Ireland · Europe & Central Asia
Banking supervision
Not on the ECB's list of supervised entities as of 2026-07-01
Trading venues (MIC)
No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
OFAC sanctions
No listing cites this BIC
EU sanctions
No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
Country sanctions
No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

Direct parent
Block, Inc. · United States549300OHIIUWSTIZME52 ↗

The Block, Inc. group has 4 institutions in the directory, in 4 countries: all hold a BIC.

Including Squareup Europe LTD, Block Inc., Square Au Pty Limited.

See the Block, Inc. group →

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

Addresses

Registered address
70 SIR JOHN ROGERSON'S QUAY DUBLIN IRELAND
Operational address
70 SIR JOHN ROGERSON'S QUAY DUBLIN DUBLIN 2 IRELAND

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

Identified by
BIC, with its LEI
Roles in CBPR+
Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents

CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>SQILIE22XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>549300S1PT3M9JIUWL37</LEI>
</FinInstnId>

Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>SQILIE22XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>549300S1PT3M9JIUWL37</LEI>
  <Nm>SQUAREUP INTERNATIONAL LIMITED</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <TwnNm>DUBLIN</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>IE</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>70 SIR JOHN ROGERSON'S QUAY DUBLIN</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

Claim this profile

Work at Squareup International Limited?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

  1. 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
  2. 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
  3. 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Claim received

Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Credits for this page

  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
  • European registers—Source: European Central Bank (ECB), list of monetary financial institutions and list of institutions subject to minimum reserves. Matched on LEI by Elucidate.
  • Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: squareup.com (official website).

Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

Book a demo