Ireland · Payments & e-money

TrueLayer (Ireland) Limited

TrueLayer (Ireland) Limited is a private company limited by shares with its registered office in Dublin. Since 28 July 2021 the Central Bank of Ireland has authorised it as a payment institution under the European Union (Payment Services) Regulations 2018, reference C433487. It is the EEA entity of the TrueLayer group, which is based in London and was founded in 2016 by Francesco Simoneschi and Luca Martinetti. It provides payment initiation, account information, payout and bank-account verification services to merchants, which offer them to consumers as Pay by Bank.

BICNo BIC LEINo LEI mapped Licence no.C433487

Licences and registrations

Held by TrueLayer (Ireland) Limited. 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterCentral Bank of Ireland Payment institutionPayment Institution C433487 Ireland Active 2021-07-28 —
  • Payment services
  • Payment initiation
  • Account information
Search the register ↗
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory. No LEI is matched to this entry, and BICs are linked by LEI only.

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

25,000,000

users · Group · 29 May 2026 · company statement ↗

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

Firm type

Open banking

Trades as TrueLayer

Ownership
The firm is the Irish entity of the TrueLayer group, which is based in London. The sources reviewed do not name its direct shareholder.
Head office
6th Floor, 2 Grand Canal Square, D02 A342 Dublin 2, Ireland
Company register
CRO (Companies Registration Office, Ireland) 671615
Incorporated
3 Jun 2020
Founders
Francesco Simoneschi · Luca Martinetti

Online

Websites & references
truelayer.com ↗
truelayer.com ↗ group and UK site (TrueLayer Limited)
docs.truelayer.com ↗ developer documentation
console.truelayer.com ↗ merchant console
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · Facebook ↗ · YouTube ↗
Sources · 12 pages consulted
  1. registers.centralbank.ie/FirmRegisterDataPage.aspx?firmReferenceNumber=C433487&register=61
  2. truelayer.com/en-ie/legal/enduser_tos/
  3. truelayer.com/en-ie/
  4. lei.bloomberg.com/leis/view/8945004TO4J8AM6VZN18
  5. lb.lt/en/sfi-financial-market-participants/truelayer-ireland-limited
  6. truelayer.com/newsroom/announcements/truelayer-expands-dublin-operations-and-appoints-pamela-fegan-as-i
  7. truelayer.com/newsroom/announcements/truelayer-acquires-in3/
  8. truelayer.com/newsroom/announcements/truelayer-completes-acquisition-of-zimpler-following-regulatory-ap
  9. truelayer.com/newsroom/announcements/ebay-partners-with-truelayer-to-offer-pay-by-bank-at-checkout/
  10. truelayer.com/newsroom/
  11. truelayer.com/blog/compliance-and-regulation/how-your-funds-are-protected-at-truelayer/
  12. docs.truelayer.com/docs/fund-your-eu-merchant-account

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The Central Bank of Ireland authorises the firm as a payment institution. Its permissions cover direct debits, credit transfers, payment initiation and account information services. According to the Central Bank register, the licence is passported to 29 other EEA states on a freedom-of-services basis, with a freedom-of-establishment notification for France.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Central Bank of Ireland Ireland Payment Institution authorised under Regulation 18 of the European Union (Payment Services) Regulations 2018 C433487 In its own name Active registers.centralbank.ie ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Segregated safeguarding accountsThe TrueLayer group says it holds merchant funds in dedicated safeguarding accounts at credit institutions, apart from its operating funds, and has notified the Central Bank of Ireland of its EU safeguarding accounts.truelayer.com ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
SEPA Credit Transfer Access not stated docs.truelayer.com ↗
SEPA Instant Credit Transfer Access not stated docs.truelayer.com ↗
MyBank (Italy) Access not stated truelayer.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Payment initiation (open banking)
  • Account information (open banking)
  • Payouts and mass payments
  • Domestic payments

The firm initiates account-to-account payments and recurring-payment mandates from consumers' bank accounts, shares account data with their consent and makes payouts and refunds from merchant accounts. It also verifies identity from bank data (Signup+) for merchants in e-commerce, iGaming, financial services and crypto.

The firm serves users located in the EEA under its Irish licence. TrueLayer Limited serves UK users under a separate FCA authorisation.

Payment volume
USD 150bnannualised payment volume across the TrueLayer network (group statement, 'over USD 150bn')Group · 29 May 2026 · company statement ↗
Sells to
Enterprises · Platforms and marketplaces · Financial institutions · Small businesses
Serves customers in 30 countries
Ireland · Austria · Belgium · Bulgaria · Croatia · Cyprus · Czechia · Denmark · Estonia · Finland · France · Germany · Greece · Hungary · Iceland · Italy · Latvia · Liechtenstein · Lithuania · Luxembourg · Malta · Netherlands · Norway · Poland · Portugal · Romania · Slovakia · Slovenia · Spain · Sweden
Latest funding round
strategic investment Feb 2026Led by eBay Venturestruelayer.com ↗

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Pamela Fegan CEO of TrueLayer Ireland (PCF-8) and European General Manager Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · truelayer.com ↗
Founder
Francesco Simoneschi CEO and Co-founder, TrueLayer (group) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · truelayer.com ↗
Founder
Luca Martinetti CTO and Co-founder, TrueLayer (group) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · truelayer.com ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Merger / acquisition

    The TrueLayer group acquired in3, a Dutch provider of buy-now-pay-later consumer credit. The terms were not disclosed.

    truelayer.com ↗
  2. Leadership

    The Central Bank of Ireland approved Pamela Fegan as CEO of TrueLayer Ireland. The group also opened a new Dublin office.

    truelayer.com ↗
  3. Merger / acquisition

    The TrueLayer group completed its acquisition of Swedish payments firm Zimpler after approval from the Swedish Financial Supervisory Authority.

    truelayer.com ↗
  4. Funding

    eBay Ventures made a strategic investment of undisclosed size in TrueLayer as part of a Pay by Bank partnership with eBay.

    truelayer.com ↗
  5. Merger / acquisition

    The TrueLayer group announced an agreement to acquire Zimpler, a Swedish Pay by Bank provider.

    truelayer.com ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
C433487
BIC
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
LEI
No LEI mapped
Elucidate firm ID
0e213a91d036

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Main licence class
Payment Institution
Activities
  • Payment services
  • Payment initiation
  • Account information
Licensed in
Ireland · Europe & Central Asia
First registered
2021-07-28

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

No LEI is matched to this entry, so GLEIF relationship records cannot be linked.

Addresses

Address on the register
6th Floor, 2 Grand Canal Square, Dublin 2, D02 A342
Country
Ireland

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

Identified by
Name and postal address. No LEI or clearing code is mapped in the directory
Postal address
Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line
<FinInstnId>
  <Nm>TrueLayer (Ireland) Limited</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>D02 A342</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>Dublin 2</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>IE</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>6th Floor, 2 Grand Canal Square</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Register for this page

  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

Book a demo