Norway · Payments & e-money

Vipps Mobilepay AS

Vipps MobilePay AS is a Norwegian limited company with its head office in Oslo. Finanstilsynet, the Financial Supervisory Authority of Norway, authorises it as an electronic money institution. Vipps Holding AS, which Norwegian banks own, holds 72.22% of its shares and Danske Bank A/S holds 27.78%. It runs the Vipps mobile wallet in Norway and Sweden and MobilePay in Denmark and Finland for consumers and merchants, and it took its current form when Vipps and MobilePay merged in November 2022.

Licences and registrations

Held by Vipps Mobilepay AS (LEI 54930060USJALCWWC821). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterThe Financial Authority of Norway Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution 918713867 Norway Active 2023-02-24 —
  • Money remittance
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • Payment initiation
  • Account information
  • E-money / stored value
Search the register ↗
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

12,400,000

users · This entity · 31 Dec 2025 · company statement ↗

Employees

583

headcount · This entity · 31 Dec 2025 · annual report ↗

Ownership

Group subsidiary

72.22% Vipps Holding AS

Firm type

E-money and accounts

Trades as Vipps MobilePay (Vipps, MobilePay)

Ownership
Vipps Holding AS, which a group of Norwegian banks owns, holds 72.22% of the firm and Danske Bank A/S holds 27.78%, under a shareholder agreement between the two.
Direct parent
Vipps Holding AS ↗, Norway 72.22%
Major shareholder
Danske Bank A/S 27.78% · 31 Dec 2025
Head office
Dronning Eufemias gate 11, 0150 Oslo, Norway
Company register
Brønnøysund Register Centre 918 713 867
Former names
Vipps AS · VBB AS · SpareBank 1 Newco AS

Online

Websites & references
vippsmobilepay.com ↗
vipps.no ↗ consumer site for Vipps in Norway
vipps.se ↗ consumer site for Vipps in Sweden
help.vippsmobilepay.com ↗ help centre
status.vippsmobilepay.com ↗ operational status page
Wikipedia ↗ group article
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗
Sources · 15 pages consulted
  1. virksomhet.brreg.no/nb/oppslag/enheter/918713867
  2. vippsmobilepay.com/en-NO/terms-and-conditions
  3. vippsmobilepay.com/terms-and-conditions/no/private-user
  4. sttinfo.fi/files/69821730/72035243/382370/fi
  5. vippsmobilepay.com/en-NO/leadership
  6. vippsmobilepay.com/en-NO/board-of-directors
  7. vipps.no/news/vipps-mobilepay-naermer-seg-lonnsomhet-etter-kraftig-resultatloft
  8. vippsmobilepay.com/
  9. finanstilsynet.no/nyhetsarkiv/tilsynsrapporter/2024/tilsynsrapport---vipps-mobilepay-as/
  10. finanstilsynet.no/contentassets/84248ab49d184e48b7fd3f43c6376397/tilsynsrapport-vipps-mobilepay-as.pdf
  11. vippsmobilepay.com/sv-SE/news/vipps-mobilepay-utnaemner-sverigechef
  12. storage02.forbrukerradet.no/media/2025/03/2025-03-17-varsel-om-vipps-behandling-av-personopplysninger-for-markedsfori
  13. via.tt.se/pressmeddelande/4377832/vipps-mobilepay-narmar-sig-lonsamhet-efter-stark-turnaround?publi
  14. vipps.no/news/eu-kommisjonen-gir-gront-lys-for-vipps-mobilepay
  15. en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vipps

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

Finanstilsynet, the Financial Supervisory Authority of Norway, authorises the firm as an electronic money institution. The firm operates in Denmark and Finland through branches of the Norwegian entity.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Finanstilsynet (Financial Supervisory Authority of Norway) Norway Electronic money institution (e-pengeforetak) 918713867 In its own name Active vippsmobilepay.com ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Not disclosedIts 2025 accounts report NOK 1,091 million of client funds held off balance sheet at 31 December 2025, without naming the bank that holds them.sttinfo.fi ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
BankAxept Access not stated vippsmobilepay.com ↗
Visa Access not stated vippsmobilepay.com ↗
Mastercard Access not stated vippsmobilepay.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • E-money wallet
  • Domestic payments
  • Merchant acquiring
  • Payment gateway
  • International money transfer
  • Bill payments
  • Account information (open banking)

It runs a mobile wallet for person-to-person payments, including transfers between the four Nordic markets, and processes wallet and card payments for merchants online and in store.

It serves customers in Norway, Denmark, Finland and Sweden, with branches in Denmark and Finland, and offers the MobilePay app in Greenland.

Revenue
NOK 2.09bnThis entity · 31 Dec 2025 · annual report ↗
Sells to
Consumers · Small businesses · Enterprises
Serves customers in 5 countries
Norway · Denmark · Finland · Sweden · Greenland

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Rune Garborg CEO Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · vippsmobilepay.com ↗
Chair
Kjerstin Rasmussen Braathen Chair of the Board (CEO of DNB) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · vippsmobilepay.com ↗
Chief financial officer
Andreas Saastad Chief Financial Officer Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · vippsmobilepay.com ↗
Executive
Silke Øverby Chief Risk Officer Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · vippsmobilepay.com ↗
Executive
Vegar Heir Chief Commercial Officer Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · vippsmobilepay.com ↗
Executive
Morten Kjelsø Chief Technology Officer Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · vippsmobilepay.com ↗

Recent events 2 enforcement or investigation items

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Merger / acquisition

    The firm agreed to sell its Vipps Checkout solution and related Norwegian merchant relationships to Kustom AB for about NOK 490 million.

    sttinfo.fi ↗
  2. Leadership

    The firm appointed Ida Ryde as Country Manager for Sweden, effective 1 June 2026.

    vippsmobilepay.com ↗
  3. Merger / acquisition

    The firm absorbed its wholly owned subsidiary Vipps Mobil AS in a parent-subsidiary merger completed on 22 November 2025.

    sttinfo.fi ↗
  4. Investigation

    Finanstilsynet carried out an ICT inspection of the firm on 19 and 20 June 2025 and published an inspection report.

    finanstilsynet.no ↗
  5. Other

    The Norwegian Consumer Council asked Datatilsynet to examine how the firm processes personal data for marketing purposes.

    storage02.forbrukerradet.no ↗
  6. Other

    The firm launched Vipps in Sweden for domestic and cross-border person-to-person payments.

    sttinfo.fi ↗
  7. Investigation

    Finanstilsynet published its report on an ICT inspection of the firm's Norwegian operations carried out in October 2023.

    finanstilsynet.no ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
918713867
BIC
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
How the LEI was matched
Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address
Elucidate firm ID
4515b6ff206f

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Main licence class
E-Money / Stored Value Institution
Activities
  • Money remittance
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • Payment initiation
  • Account information
  • E-money / stored value
Licensed in
Norway · Europe & Central Asia
First registered
2023-02-24

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

Direct parent
Vipps Holding AS · Norway254900YTR15QTEPA4P31 ↗

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

Addresses

Address on the register
Dronning Eufemias gate 11, Oslo, 0150
Country
Norway

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

Identified by
Name and postal address, with its LEI
Postal address
Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line
<FinInstnId>
  <LEI>54930060USJALCWWC821</LEI>
  <Nm>Vipps Mobilepay AS</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>0150</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>Oslo</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>NO</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>Dronning Eufemias gate 11</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Register for this page

  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

Book a demo