United Kingdom · Payments & e-money

Airwallex (UK) Limited

Airwallex (UK) Limited is a private limited company incorporated in England and Wales in April 2016. Its registered office is at 45 Mortimer Street, London. The FCA authorises the firm as an electronic money institution under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011, firm reference number 900876. It is a wholly owned subsidiary of Airwallex (Cayman) Limited, the parent company of the Airwallex group. It provides multi-currency accounts, FX conversion, international transfers, Visa corporate cards, online payment acceptance and embedded-finance APIs to businesses registered in the United Kingdom.

BICAIRWGB2LXXX LEI254900KR484WW4KEZI73 Licence no.900876 Connected to SwiftThis BIC is registered as a live address on the Swift network. The institution sends and receives Swift messages under AIRWGB2L directly. Head-office BIC only Claim this profile

Licences and registrations

Held by Airwallex (UK) Limited (LEI 254900KR484WW4KEZI73). 2 entries on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
FCA Financial Services Register - E-Money InstitutionsFCALinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives. Authorised E-Money InstitutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution 900876 United Kingdom Active 2018-11-26 —
  • Payment services
  • E-money / stored value
Search the register ↗
FCA Financial Services Register - E-Money InstitutionsFCALinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives. Authorised E-Money InstitutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution 900824 United Kingdom Cancelled - Authorised EMI — Ended
  • Payment services
  • E-money / stored value
Search the register ↗
  • Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
  • The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

BIC
AIRWGB2LXXX head office
Connection to Swift
Connected to SwiftThis BIC is registered as a live address on the Swift network. The institution sends and receives Swift messages under AIRWGB2L directly.
Swift GPI
Not on the member list
Payment schemes and systems
No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
Branch codes
None: head-office BIC only
Other BIC with this LEI
AIRWGB22
BIC first registered
2026-04-04
Last updated
2026-05-02

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

8,197

active customers · This entity · 31 Dec 2025 · annual report ↗

Employees

125

headcount · This entity · 31 Dec 2025 · annual report ↗

Ownership

Group subsidiary

100% Airwallex (Cayman) Limited

Firm type

FX and business payments

Trades as Airwallex

Ownership
Airwallex (Cayman) Limited owns 100% of the firm and is the ultimate parent of the Airwallex group. Companies House records Jack Zhang as a person with significant control through significant influence or control.
Direct parent
Airwallex (Cayman) Limited, Cayman Islands 100%
Head office
Wells And More, 45 Mortimer Street, W1W 8HJ London, United Kingdom
Company register
Companies House 10103420
Incorporated
5 Apr 2016
Founder
Jack Zhang

Online

Websites & references
airwallex.com ↗
help.airwallex.com ↗ help centre
airwallex.com/docs ↗ developer documentation
status.airwallex.com ↗ service status page
airwallex.com/global/newsroom ↗ group newsroom
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗ · YouTube ↗
Sources · 18 pages consulted
  1. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/10103420
  2. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/10103420/officers
  3. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/10103420/persons-with-significant-control
  4. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/10103420/filing-history
  5. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/10103420/filing-history/MzUyNzM2NTcxNWFkaXF6a2N4/document?format=pdf&download=0
  6. register.fca.org.uk/s/firm?id=0010X00004ATvqpQAD
  7. airwallex.com/uk/blog/is-airwallex-safe
  8. help.airwallex.com/hc/en-gb/articles/900001757106-How-is-Airwallex-licensed-and-regulated
  9. help.airwallex.com/hc/en-gb/articles/4404265644185-How-does-Airwallex-keep-my-money-safe
  10. airwallex.com/uk/spend-management/cards
  11. airwallex.com/docs/global-treasury/receive-funds/add-funds-via-direct-debits-from-linked-accounts/direc
  12. airwallex.com/docs/payouts/payout-network/bank-accounts/united-kingdom
  13. airwallex.com/global/newsroom/airwallex-secures-320-million-in-series-h-funding-valuation-hits-11-billi
  14. careers.airwallex.com/blog/airwallex-funding-2025/
  15. americanbanker.com/news/airwallex-announces-320-million-fundraise-and-cfo-hire
  16. pymnts.com/news/fintech-investments/2026/airwallex-fuels-emea-growth-with-1-billion-dollar-investmen
  17. financemagnates.com/fintech/australia-orders-compliance-audit-of-8-billion-airwallex-platform/
  18. airwallex.com/global/blog/setting-the-record-straight-our-commitment-to-global-trust

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The FCA authorises the firm as an electronic money institution under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011, firm reference number 900876. This covers issuing e-money and providing payment services.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) United Kingdom Authorised Electronic Money Institution 900876 In its own name Active register.fca.org.uk ↗
Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) United Kingdom Authorised E-Money Institution (Cancelled - Authorised EMI) 900824 In its own name Withdrawn or expired —

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Segregated safeguarding accountsAccording to its 2025 accounts, the firm safeguards client funds for its e-money services. It holds them in segregated accounts with authorised credit institutions, separate from its own funds.find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
Visa Access not stated airwallex.com ↗
Bacs Direct Debit Access not stated airwallex.com ↗
Faster Payments Access not stated airwallex.com ↗
CHAPS Access not stated airwallex.com ↗
Swift Direct

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Multi currency accounts
  • International money transfer
  • FX conversion
  • Payouts and mass payments
  • Debit cards
  • Merchant acquiring
  • Payment gateway
  • Banking as a service
  • Domestic payments

The firm serves business customers only. It offers multi-currency accounts, FX, international payouts, Visa corporate cards, expense and bill-pay tools, online payment acceptance and APIs for platforms. Its 2025 accounts say its customers are companies in the United Kingdom and European companies.

The firm onboards businesses registered in the United Kingdom under its FCA authorisation. Within the group, EEA customers are served by Airwallex (Netherlands) B.V. under its Dutch licence.

Revenue
GBP 55.5mThis entity · 31 Dec 2025 · annual report ↗
Sells to
Small businesses · Enterprises · Platforms and marketplaces
Serves customers in
United Kingdom
Latest funding round
Series H · USD 320m Jun 2026Led by Additionairwallex.com ↗
Total raised
USD 1.8bn to Jun 2026 · careers.airwallex.com ↗

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Executive
Christos Denis Chamberlain Director; General Manager, UK and Europe (group title) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Chief financial officer
Pranav Kumar Sood Director; Chief Financial Officer of the Airwallex group Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Executive
Kai Wu Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Founder
Jack Zhang Co-founder and CEO of the Airwallex group; person with significant control (resigned as director of this entity on 19 January 2026) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗

Recent events 1 enforcement or investigation item

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Other

    The chairman of the US House Select Committee on China wrote to the US Treasury Secretary about the Airwallex group.

    airwallex.com ↗
  2. Leadership

    The firm appointed Pranav Kumar Sood as a director. The group had named him Chief Financial Officer in June 2026.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
  3. Funding

    The Airwallex group raised USD 320 million in a Series H round led by Addition, at a USD 11 billion valuation.

    airwallex.com ↗
  4. Funding

    Airwallex (Cayman) Limited injected GBP 4 million of capital into the firm through a new issue of ordinary shares.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
  5. Investigation

    AUSTRAC ordered Airwallex's Australian business to appoint an external auditor to review its AML and counter-terrorism financing compliance.

    financemagnates.com ↗
  6. Leadership

    Jack Zhang resigned as a director of the firm and Christos Chamberlain was appointed a director on 19 January 2026.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
  7. Funding

    The Airwallex group raised USD 330 million in a Series G round at a USD 8 billion valuation.

    pymnts.com ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Head-office record

BIC
AIRWGB2LXXX
How the BIC breaks down
  1. AIRWBank
  2. GBCountry · United Kingdom
  3. 2LLocation
  4. XXXBranch · head office
Branch description
Not recorded in the directory
LEI
254900KR484WW4KEZI73
LEI record
View on GLEIF ↗
Licence no. · FCA-EMI
900876
Licence no. · FCA-EMI
900824
How the LEI was matched
BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entries: Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives.
Register-entry ID
425ea1b4a596

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Register licences
2 entries on 1 register
Activities
  • Payment services
  • E-money / stored value
Licensed in
United Kingdom
Country · region
United Kingdom · Europe & Central Asia
Trading venues (MIC)
No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
OFAC sanctions
No listing cites this BIC
EU sanctions
No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
Country sanctions
No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

Addresses

Registered address
WELLS AND MORE 45 MORTIMER
Operational address
WELLS AND MORE 45 MORTIMER

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

Identified by
BIC, with its LEI
Roles in CBPR+
Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents

CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>AIRWGB2LXXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>254900KR484WW4KEZI73</LEI>
</FinInstnId>

Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>AIRWGB2LXXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>254900KR484WW4KEZI73</LEI>
  <Nm>AIRWALLEX (UK) LIMITED</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <Ctry>GB</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>WELLS AND MORE 45 MORTIMER</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

Swift’s two address fields do not agree on a town, so the full record gives the address as address lines only.

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

Claim this profile

Work at Airwallex (UK) Limited?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

  1. 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
  2. 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
  3. 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Claim received

Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Credits for this page

  • FCA Financial Services Register - E-Money Institutions—Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
  • Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: airwallex.com (official website) · original.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

Book a demo