- Directory
- United Kingdom
- Bank of America, N.A.
United Kingdom · Credit institution
Bank of America, N.A.
Legal name in the LEI recordBank Of America, National Association
Licences and registrations
Matched by LEI on the 22 tracked registers
None matched by LEI in the 22 tracked registers. It is on the FSB G-SIB list (see Regulatory status): that is a designation, not a licence on a tracked register.
- The tracked registers cover payment, e-money, crypto and money-service firms in 37 countries. Bank licences from national supervisors are not tracked.
Regulatory status
FSB · global systemically important banks
2025 list
- G-SIB
- Bank of America
- Relation
- Main operating bank of a G-SIBThe G-SIB group’s principal bank, as identified by Elucidate from the FSB list and GLEIF.
- Bucket
- 3 of 5 · extra capital buffer 2.0% of risk-weighted assets
- On the list since
- 2011
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
- BIC
- BOFAGB22XXX head office
- Connection to Swift
- Reverse billingThe institution is connected to Swift. Messages sent to it are billed to the institution, not to the sender. The “2” in the eighth character of BOFAGB22 marks reverse billing.
- Swift GPI
- Live member
- Payment schemes and systems
- TIPS
- Branch codes
- 17 branch codes
- BIC first registered
- 1978-09-04
- Last updated
- 2025-12-20
Identifiers
Head-office record
- BIC
- BOFAGB22XXX
- How the BIC breaks down
- BOFABank
- GBCountry · United Kingdom
- 22Location · reverse billing
- XXXBranch · head office
- Branch description
- MAIN BRANCH
- LEI
- B4TYDEB6GKMZO031MB27
- LEI record
- View on GLEIF ↗
- How the LEI was matched
- BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.
- UK overseas entity ID
- OE022351 ↗
Profile
- Type
- Credit institutionListed as a credit institution, or a branch of one, on the ECB’s list of supervised entities, or named as a bank on the Financial Stability Board’s G-SIB list, directly or as a G-SIB’s main operating bank. These are the only bank lists the directory tracks so far.
- Regulation
- Prudentially supervised (FSB G-SIB list)Prudentially supervised, according to the FSB 2025 G-SIB list. This is a designation, not a licence on a tracked register.
- Register licences
- None matched by LEI in the 22 tracked registersThe tracked registers cover payment, e-money, crypto and money-service firms in 37 countries. Bank licences from national supervisors are not tracked.
- Country · region
- United Kingdom · Europe & Central Asia
- FSB G-SIB list
- Bucket 3 of 5 list of 2025
- Trading venues (MIC)
- Operates 3 MICs list of 2026-09-17
- OFAC sanctions
- No listing cites this BIC
- EU sanctions
- No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
- Country sanctions
- No country programme
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
- Direct parent
- Bac North America Holding Company · United States549300QJR0LAHEJQC092 ↗
- Ultimate parent
- Bank of America Corporation · United States9DJT3UXIJIZJI4WXO774 ↗
- FSB G-SIB list
- Main operating bank of a G-SIB · Bank of America bucket 3 · 2025 listThe G-SIB group’s principal bank, as identified by Elucidate from the FSB list and GLEIF.
The Bank of America Corporation group has 75 institutions in the directory, in 36 countries: all hold a BIC.
Including Bank of America Europe Designated Activity Company, Bofa Securities Europe S.A., Bank of America Europe Designated Activity Company, London Branch, Bank of America Europe Designated Activity Company, Milan Branch, Bank of America Europe Designated Activity Company, Amsterdam Branch.
See the Bank of America Corporation group →Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.
Registered beneficial owners
Companies House · overseas entity OE022351 ↗ · as at 9 October 2026
Companies House lists 1 registrable beneficial owner: 1 company.
| Name | Type | Nature of control | Notified |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bank of America Corporation | Company · United States | More than 25% of shares | 1 January 1999 |
Overseas entities that own land in the UK must register their beneficial owners with Companies House. The entity reports them itself. Elucidate has not verified them.
A registrable beneficial owner holds more than 25% of the shares or votes, can appoint or remove the board, or has significant influence or control. Dates of birth and addresses are not shown.
Matched on the entity’s legal name and country of incorporation in its LEI record.
See the beneficial owners at Companies House ↗Addresses
- Registered address
- 2 KING EDWARD STREET LONDON EC1A 1HQ UNITED KINGDOM
- Operational address
- BANK OF AMERICA MERRILL LYNCH FINANCIAL CENTER 2 KING EDWARD ST. LONDON LONDON EC1A 1HQ UNITED KINGDOM
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.
- Identified by
- BIC, with its LEI
- Roles in CBPR+
- Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents
CBPR+
For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>BOFAGB22XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>B4TYDEB6GKMZO031MB27</LEI>
</FinInstnId>
Full record
Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>BOFAGB22XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>B4TYDEB6GKMZO031MB27</LEI>
<Nm>BANK OF AMERICA, N.A.</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<TwnNm>LONDON</TwnNm>
<Ctry>GB</Ctry>
<AdrLine>2 KING EDWARD STREET LONDON EC1A 1HQ</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.
Payment schemes and systems
EPC registers of 2026-09-11 · ECB T2 list of 2026-07-02 · ECB TIPS list of 2026-09-01 · SIX Bank Master valid on 2026-09-28
| Scheme or system | Since | Registered with | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| TIPS (TARGET Instant Payment Settlement)ISO 20022 messages | — | Head office | — |
TIPS entries have no joining date.
The ECB’s TIPS list does not separate participants from reachable parties. It includes institutions reachable in Swedish kronor as well as in euro.
“ISO 20022 messages” marks a scheme or system whose rulebook or operator specifies ISO 20022 for messages between participants.
Market identifiers
3 trading venues and reporting services run under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
| MIC | Market | Kind | Category |
|---|---|---|---|
| BANA | BANK OF AMERICA, NATIONAL ASSOCIATIONBANA | Operating MIC | Not specified |
| BASI | BANK OF AMERICA, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION - LONDON BRANCH OFFICE - SYSTEMATIC INTERNALISERBANA LONDON | Segment of BANA | Systematic internaliser |
| BOAL | BANK OF AMERICA, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION - LONDON BRANCH OFFICE | Segment of BANA | Not specified |
Network
Branches and correspondent banking
All 17 branch BICs connect to the head office, spread across 2 cities. Largest: London (15), Bromley (2). 2 other banks publish 4 accounts held with this bank.
All 17 branch BICs connect to the head office. Most were registered in 2025 (5 BICs) and 2013 (3). 2 other banks publish 4 accounts held with this bank.
All 17 branch BICs connect to the head office, spread across 6 functions. Largest: Corporate & commercial (3), Treasury & markets (3), Clearing & payments (2). 2 other banks publish 4 accounts held with this bank.
- Own offices
- Respondent banks: they hold accounts here
Hover over a branch, account or group to see its details
Respondent banks
From the correspondent lists other banks publish
2 other banks publish 4 accounts held with this bank, in 4 currencies.
| Currency | Respondent bank | Held at | Account | Purpose | Published in |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EUR | Bank of Queensland Limited Australia | BOFAGB22 | — | Intermediary bank for incoming foreign currency payments | boq.com.au ↗ |
| GBP | Bank of Queensland Limited Australia | BOFAGB22 | — | Intermediary bank for incoming foreign currency payments | boq.com.au ↗ |
| ZAR | Bank of Queensland Limited Australia | BOFAGB22 | — | Intermediary bank for incoming foreign currency payments | boq.com.au ↗ |
| MXN | Powszechna Kasa Oszczednosci Bank Polski Spolka Akcyjna Poland | BOFAGB22 | 6008-88552015 | main account (SSI) | pkobp.pl ↗ |
Each row is an account the respondent bank lists as held with this bank, as published. Only banks that publish their correspondent accounts, and that Elucidate has researched, can appear, so the list is not complete. Confirm settlement instructions with either bank before relying on them.
Branch codes
| BIC | Branch | City | Address | LEI | Updated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BOFAGB22BND | FIXED INCOME DEBT SETTLEMENTS | Bromley | 26 ELMFIELD ROAD BROMLEY BROMLEY UNITED KINGDOM | B4TYDEB6GKMZO031MB27 | 2023-05-28 |
| BOFAGB22CLS | CONTINUOUS LINKED SETTLEMENT DEPARTMENT | London | CLS CONTROL BRANCH OPERATIONS 2 KING EDWARD STREET LONDON LONDON EC1A 1HQ UNITED KINGDOM | B4TYDEB6GKMZO031MB27 | 2023-05-28 |
| BOFAGB22COL | — | London | 2 KING EDWARD LONDON LONDON EC1A 1HQ UNITED KINGDOM | B4TYDEB6GKMZO031MB27 | 2023-05-28 |
| BOFAGB22DOC | — | London | BANK OF AMERICA MERRILL LYNCH FINANCIAL CENTER 2 KING EDWARD ST. LONDON LONDON EC1A 1HQ UNITED KINGDOM | B4TYDEB6GKMZO031MB27 | 2023-07-01 |
| BOFAGB22EMM | EMERGING MARKETS TRADING | London | BANK OF AMERICA MERRILL LYNCH FINANCIAL CENTER 2 KING EDWARD ST. LONDON LONDON EC1A 1HQ UNITED KINGDOM | B4TYDEB6GKMZO031MB27 | 2025-05-03 |
| BOFAGB22EQN | EQUITY DERIVATIVES | London | 2 KING EDWARD LONDON LONDON EC1A 1HQ UNITED KINGDOM | B4TYDEB6GKMZO031MB27 | 2023-05-28 |
| BOFAGB22GRC | GLOBAL DERIVATIVES AND FOREIGN EXCHANGE | London | 2 KING EDWARD LONDON LONDON EC1A 1HQ UNITED KINGDOM | B4TYDEB6GKMZO031MB27 | 2023-05-28 |
| BOFAGB22GSC | GSCAP BUSINESS | London | BANK OF AMERICA MERRILL LYNCH FINANCIAL CENTER 2 KING EDWARD ST. LONDON LONDON EC1A 1HQ UNITED KINGDOM | B4TYDEB6GKMZO031MB27 | 2025-05-03 |
| BOFAGB22LTS | LOANS TRADE SUPPORT | London | 2 KING EDWARD LONDON LONDON EC1A 1HQ UNITED KINGDOM | B4TYDEB6GKMZO031MB27 | 2023-05-28 |
| BOFAGB22MET | — | London | BANK OF AMERICA MERRILL LYNCH FLOOR FINANCIAL 2 KING EDWARD ST. LONDON LONDON EC1A 1HQ UNITED KINGDOM | B4TYDEB6GKMZO031MB27 | 2024-04-10 |
| BOFAGB22NDN | — | London | BANK OF AMERICA MERRILL LYNCH FINANCIAL CENTER 2 KING EDWARD ST. LONDON LONDON EC1A 1HQ UNITED KINGDOM | B4TYDEB6GKMZO031MB27 | 2025-05-03 |
| BOFAGB22NFB | — | London | BANK OF AMERICA MERRILL LYNCH FINANCIAL CENTER 2 KING EDWARD ST. LONDON LONDON EC1A 1HQ UNITED KINGDOM | B4TYDEB6GKMZO031MB27 | 2025-05-03 |
| BOFAGB22NLD | — | London | BANK OF AMERICA MERRILL LYNCH FINANCIAL CENTER 2 KING EDWARD ST. LONDON LONDON EC1A 1HQ UNITED KINGDOM | B4TYDEB6GKMZO031MB27 | 2025-05-03 |
| BOFAGB22SCP | STRUCTURED CREDIT PRODUCTS | Bromley | 26 ELMFIELD ROAD BROMLEY BROMLEY BRI 1WA UNITED KINGDOM | B4TYDEB6GKMZO031MB27 | 2023-05-28 |
| BOFAGB22SEC | SECURITY OPERATIONS | London | BANK OF AMERICA HOUSE 1 ALIE STREET LONDON LONDON E1 8DE UNITED KINGDOM | B4TYDEB6GKMZO031MB27 | 2023-05-28 |
| BOFAGB22TSY | TREASURY, BA EMERGING MARKETS | London | 2 KING EDWARD LONDON LONDON EC1A 1HQ UNITED KINGDOM | B4TYDEB6GKMZO031MB27 | 2023-05-28 |
| BOFAGB22VAM | MANAGED TRANSACTION BANKING SERVICES | London | 2 KING EDWARD STREET LONDON LONDON EC1A 1HQ UNITED KINGDOM | B4TYDEB6GKMZO031MB27 | 2023-05-28 |
Claim this profile
Work at Bank of America, N.A.?
Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.
- 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
- 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
- 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.
Claim received
Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.
The claim was not sent. Try again, or email contact@elucidate.co.
Sources & method
Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.
Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.
The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Credits for this page
- Payment schemes and systems—Source: European Central Bank, List of TIPS participants and reachable parties.
- Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
- Registered beneficial owners—Companies House, Register of Overseas Entities · source ↗ as at 9 October 2026
Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC
A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.
Book a demo