- Directory
- United States
- Bank of America, N.A.

United States · Credit institution
Bank of America, N.A.
Legal name in the LEI recordBank Of America, National Association
Bank of America, N.A. is a US national banking association with its main office in Charlotte, North Carolina. It is the main bank subsidiary of Bank of America Corporation. According to its LEI record, it is held directly through BAC North America Holding Company. It provides consumer, small business, commercial, corporate, trust and private banking services, and Bank of America Private Bank is a division of the bank.
Licences and registrations
Held by the legal entity, not by this BIC
This BIC is mapped to LEI B4TYDEB6GKMZO031MB27 (Bank Of America, National Association) in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. The legal entity’s page is Bank of America, N.A. (BOFAGB22). None matched by LEI in the 22 tracked registers.
Licences belong to the legal entity. Each applies in the country of the regulator that granted it, not to every BIC that carries the LEI.
Regulatory status
FSB · global systemically important banks
2025 list
- G-SIB
- Bank of America
- Relation
- Main operating bank of a G-SIBThe G-SIB group’s principal bank, as identified by Elucidate from the FSB list and GLEIF.
- Bucket
- 3 of 5 · extra capital buffer 2.0% of risk-weighted assets
- On the list since
- 2011
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
- BIC
- BOFAUS3NXXX head office
- Connection to Swift
- Connected to SwiftThis BIC is registered as a live address on the Swift network. The institution sends and receives Swift messages under BOFAUS3N directly.
- Swift GPI
- Live member
- Payment schemes and systems
- No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
- Branch codes
- 5 branch codes
- BIC first registered
- 1977-09-26
- Last updated
- 2022-02-14
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Employees
Not published
Ownership
Group subsidiary
BAC North America Holding Company
Institution type
Universal bank
Trades as Bank of America
- Ownership
- The bank is owned by Bank of America Corporation through BAC North America Holding Company, according to the GLEIF parent records.
- Direct parent
- BAC North America Holding Company ↗, United States
- Ultimate owner
- Bank of America Corporation, United States
- Head office
- 100 North Tryon Street, 28202 Charlotte, United States
- Company register
- FDIC cert 3510; Federal Reserve RSSD ID 480228
Business lines
The bank carries out the group's US deposit-taking, lending, card and trust business. According to the group's disclosures, it also performs lending, derivatives and other commercial banking activities globally, while securities and investment banking are carried out by separate broker-dealer affiliates.
Online
- Websites & references
- bankofamerica.com ↗
about.bankofamerica.com ↗ corporate site (group)
investor.bankofamerica.com ↗ investor relations (Bank of America Corporation)
newsroom.bankofamerica.com ↗ newsroom (group)
business.bofa.com ↗ business and institutional banking site
Wikipedia ↗ group article - Official social accounts
- LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗ · YouTube ↗ · Pinterest ↗
Sources · 10 pages consulted
- federalreserve.gov/releases/LBR/current/lrg_bnk_lst.txt
- occ.gov/static/enforcement-actions/eaAA-ENF-2026-32.pdf
- occ.gov/news-issuances/news-releases/2024/nr-occ-2024-140.html
- ffiec.gov/npw/Institution/Profile/480228?dt=20160418
- newsroom.bankofamerica.com/content/newsroom/executive-bios.html
- investor.bankofamerica.com/corporate-governance/management-team-and-directors
- bankofamerica.com/
- prnewswire.com/news-releases/bank-of-america-announces-senior-leadership-changes-302555469.html
- americanbanker.com/news/bank-of-america-shakes-up-leadership-moynihan-stays-on
- en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bank_of_America
Leadership
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Chair & chief executive
-
Brian T. Moynihan
Chair of the Board and Chief Executive Officer (Bank of America Corporation)
- Chief financial officer
-
Alastair Borthwick
Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer (Bank of America Corporation)
- Executive
-
Dean Athanasia
Co-President (Bank of America Corporation)
- Executive
-
Jim DeMare
Co-President (Bank of America Corporation)
Supervisors & regulators
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- United States
- Office of the Comptroller of the Currency Prudential supervisorAML supervisorConduct
- United States
- Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System Central bank
- United States
- Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation Resolution
- United States
- Consumer Financial Protection Bureau Conduct
Recent events 2 enforcement or investigation items
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
-
Enforcement
The OCC terminated the consent order it had issued against the bank on 14 July 2022.
occ.gov ↗ -
Leadership
Bank of America Corporation named Dean Athanasia and Jim DeMare Co-Presidents and Alastair Borthwick Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer.
prnewswire.com ↗ -
Enforcement
The OCC issued a cease-and-desist order against the bank over deficiencies in its Bank Secrecy Act and sanctions compliance programmes. The order carried no monetary penalty.
occ.gov ↗
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, incidents, leadership changes, mergers and licence changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
Head-office record
- BIC
- BOFAUS3NXXX
- How the BIC breaks down
- BOFABank
- USCountry · United States
- 3NLocation
- XXXBranch · head office
- Branch description
- Not recorded in the directory
- LEI record
- View on GLEIF ↗
- How the LEI was matched
- BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.
- UK overseas entity ID
- OE022351 ↗
- National bank code
- ABA routing number 053000196
Profile
- Type
- Credit institutionListed as a credit institution, or a branch of one, on the ECB’s list of supervised entities, or named as a bank on the Financial Stability Board’s G-SIB list, directly or as a G-SIB’s main operating bank. These are the only bank lists the directory tracks so far.
- Regulation
- Prudentially supervised (FSB G-SIB list)Prudentially supervised, according to the FSB 2025 G-SIB list. This is a designation, not a licence on a tracked register.
- Register licences
- None matched by LEI in the 22 tracked registers
- Country · region
- United States · North America
- FSB G-SIB list
- Bucket 3 of 5 list of 2025
- Trading venues (MIC)
- Operates 3 MICs list of 2026-09-17
- OFAC sanctions
- No listing cites this BIC
- EU sanctions
- No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
- Country sanctions
- No country programme
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
- Direct parent
- Bac North America Holding Company · United States549300QJR0LAHEJQC092 ↗
- Ultimate parent
- Bank of America Corporation · United States9DJT3UXIJIZJI4WXO774 ↗
- FSB G-SIB list
- Main operating bank of a G-SIB · Bank of America bucket 3 · 2025 listThe G-SIB group’s principal bank, as identified by Elucidate from the FSB list and GLEIF.
The Bank of America Corporation group has 75 institutions in the directory, in 36 countries: all hold a BIC.
Including Bank of America Europe Designated Activity Company, Bofa Securities Europe S.A., Bank of America Europe Designated Activity Company, London Branch, Bank of America Europe Designated Activity Company, Milan Branch, Bank of America Europe Designated Activity Company, Amsterdam Branch.
See the Bank of America Corporation group →Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.
Registered beneficial owners
Companies House · overseas entity OE022351 ↗ · as at 9 October 2026
Companies House lists 1 registrable beneficial owner: 1 company.
| Name | Type | Nature of control | Notified |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bank of America Corporation | Company · United States | More than 25% of shares | 1 January 1999 |
Overseas entities that own land in the UK must register their beneficial owners with Companies House. The entity reports them itself. Elucidate has not verified them.
A registrable beneficial owner holds more than 25% of the shares or votes, can appoint or remove the board, or has significant influence or control. Dates of birth and addresses are not shown.
Matched on the entity’s legal name and country of incorporation in its LEI record.
See the beneficial owners at Companies House ↗Addresses
- Registered address
- 100 100 NORTH TRYON STREET SUITE 170 CHARLOTTE, NC 28202 UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
- Operational address
- 222 BROADWAY NEW YORK,NY NEW YORK,NY 10038 UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.
- Identified by
- BIC, with its LEI and its USABA clearing code
- Roles in CBPR+
- Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents
CBPR+
For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>BOFAUS3NXXX</BICFI>
<ClrSysMmbId>
<ClrSysId>
<Cd>USABA</Cd>
</ClrSysId>
<MmbId>053000196</MmbId>
</ClrSysMmbId>
<LEI>B4TYDEB6GKMZO031MB27</LEI>
</FinInstnId>
Full record
Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>BOFAUS3NXXX</BICFI>
<ClrSysMmbId>
<ClrSysId>
<Cd>USABA</Cd>
</ClrSysId>
<MmbId>053000196</MmbId>
</ClrSysMmbId>
<LEI>B4TYDEB6GKMZO031MB27</LEI>
<Nm>BANK OF AMERICA, N.A.</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<Ctry>US</Ctry>
<AdrLine>100 100 NORTH TRYON STREET SUITE 170 CHARLOTTE, NC 28202</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
Swift’s two address fields do not agree on a town, so the full record gives the address as address lines only.
The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.
Market identifiers
3 trading venues and reporting services run under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
| MIC | Market | Kind | Category |
|---|---|---|---|
| BANA | BANK OF AMERICA, NATIONAL ASSOCIATIONBANA | Operating MIC | Not specified |
| BASI | BANK OF AMERICA, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION - LONDON BRANCH OFFICE - SYSTEMATIC INTERNALISERBANA LONDON | Segment of BANA | Systematic internaliser |
| BOAL | BANK OF AMERICA, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION - LONDON BRANCH OFFICE | Segment of BANA | Not specified |
National bank codes
ABA routing number · United States
1 code file of 2026-10-09 · ISO 20022 clearing system code USABA
| Code | Routes to BIC | Name in the national file | City |
|---|---|---|---|
| 053000196 | BOFAUS3NXXX | BANK OF AMERICA, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION | CHARLOTTE, NC |
Each code shows the name in the national file. Smaller banks often route through a central institution’s BIC. A code can therefore belong to a different bank than the one on this page.
Network
Branches and correspondent banking
All 5 branch BICs connect to the head office. No city, function or registration year splits them into groups. 38 other banks publish 39 accounts held with this bank.
- Own offices
- Respondent banks: they hold accounts here
Hover over a branch, account or group to see its details
Respondent banks
From the correspondent lists other banks publish
38 other banks publish 39 accounts held with this bank.
| Currency | Respondent bank | Held at | Account | Purpose | Published in |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| USD | Axis Bank Limited India | BOFAUS3N | 6550091765 | — | axis.bank.in ↗ |
| — | Banco Davivienda S.A. Colombia | BOFAUS3NXXX | — | inbound international transfers (ABA 026009593) | davivienda.com ↗ |
| USD | Banco de la Republica Oriental del Uruguay Uruguay | BOFAUS3N | — | USD transfers sent and received | brou.com.uy ↗ |
| USD | Bank of China (Hong Kong) Limited Hong Kong SAR China | BOFAUS3NXXX | — | remittance clearing | bochk.com ↗ |
| USD | Bank of Communications (Hong Kong) Limited Hong Kong SAR China | BOFAUS3N Listed as BANK OF AMERICA N.A. NEW YORK | — | remittance services | hk.bankcomm.com ↗ dated 14 May 2019 |
| USD | Bank Sinopac Company Limited Taiwan | BOFAUS3N | — | inward remittances | goodliver.org.tw ↗ |
| USD | Canara Bank India | BOFAUS3N | 6550791917 | inward remittances | canarabank.bank.in ↗ |
| USD | Ceska Sporitelna A.S. Czechia | BOFAUS3N | — | — | cdn.erstegroup.com ↗ dated Sep 2020 |
| USD | Cmb Wing Lung Bank Limited Hong Kong SAR China | BOFAUS3N | — | general payments | cmbwinglungbank.com ↗ |
| USD | Danske Bank A/S Denmark | BOFAUS3N | — | FX and money market; also commercial transactions | danskeci.com ↗ |
| USD | Federal Bank Limited, the India | BOFAUS3N | 6550692011 | trade and personal payments/remittances; CHIPS 0256 / Fedwire ABA 026009593 | federal.bank.in ↗ |
| USD | Glacier Bank United States | BOFAUS3N | 4451 9563 56 | Incoming international (Swift) USD wires via Corpay; beneficiary Cambridge Mercantile Corp. (U.S.A.) re Glacier BK | glacierbank.com ↗ |
| USD | Guangdong Shunde Rural Commercial Bank Company Limited China | BOFAUS3N Listed as Bank of America N.A. New York | — | inward foreign-currency remittances | sdebank.com ↗ dated 14 May 2024 |
| USD | Indian Bank India | BOFAUS3N | 6550392300 | — | indianbank.bank.in ↗ dated 4 Jul 2026 |
| USD | Indusind Bank Limited India | BOFAUS3NXXX | 6550992086 | — | indusind.bank.in ↗ |
| USD | Industrial Bank Co.,ltd. China | BOFAUS3N | 6550190147 | inward remittance | cib.com.cn ↗ |
| USD | Kotak Mahindra Bank Limited India | BOFAUS3NXXX | 6550591192 | inward remittances | kotak.bank.in ↗ |
| USD | Landsbankinn Hf Iceland | BOFAUS3NXXX | — | FX, MM | landsbankinn.is ↗ dated 19 May 2026 |
| USD | Mbank S.A. (Formerly Bre Bank S.A.) Poland | BOFAUS3N | — | — | mbank.pl ↗ dated May 2026 |
| USD | Op Corporate Bank PLC Finland | BOFAUS3N Listed as Bank of America National Association, New York | — | receipt of cover for commercial payments | op.fi ↗ dated May 2024 |
| USD | OTP Bank Plc. Hungary | BOFAUS3NXXX | 6550962584 | Global Markets – FX, MM, Derivatives, Commodities, Banknotes, Cash Collaterals | otpbank.hu ↗ dated 1 Jan 2026 |
| USD | Powszechna Kasa Oszczednosci Bank Polski Spolka Akcyjna Poland | BOFAUS3N | 65507-69350 | main account (SSI) | pkobp.pl ↗ |
| USD | Punjab National Bank India | BOFAUS3N | 6550-5-92101 CHIPUID:382802 | inward remittances | pnb.bank.in ↗ |
| USD | Qnb Bank Anonim Sirketi Türkiye | BOFAUS3N | 6550886915 | — | qnb.com.tr ↗ |
| USD | Raiffeisenbank A.S. Czechia | BOFAUS3N Listed as Bank of America National Association, New York | — | ABA 026009593 | rb.cz ↗ |
| USD | Scotiabank Inverlat, S.A. Institucion de Banca Multiple Mexico | BOFAUS3N | — | Inbound USD payments (intermediary bank) | scotiabank.com.mx ↗ dated Sep 2026 |
| USD | State Bank of India India | BOFAUS3N | 6550692214 | — | sbi.bank.in ↗ |
| USD | State Bank of India India | BOFAUS3N | 6550292211 | — | sbi.bank.in ↗ |
| USD | Taishin International Bank Co.,ltd. Taiwan | BOFAUS3N | — | Hong Kong branch settlement | taishinbank.com.tw ↗ |
| USD | Taiwan Shin Kong Commercial Bank CO., LTD Taiwan | BOFAUS3N | — | inward remittances | skbank.com.tw ↗ |
| USD | Tatra Bank Slovakia | BOFAUS3N | — | commercial transactions | tatrabanka.sk ↗ dated 1 May 2023 |
| USD | The Bank of East Asia, Limited Hong Kong SAR China | BOFAUS3N Listed as Bank of America N.A. New York, USA | — | inward remittance | hkbea.com ↗ dated Jul 2022 |
| USD | The Kwangju Bank Limited South Korea | BOFAUS3N | 6550794567 | inward remittances | kjbank.com ↗ |
| USD | The Toronto Dominion Bank Canada | BOFAUS3NXXX | — | Incoming USD wire payments (U.S. correspondent/intermediary bank) | td.intelliresponse.com ↗ |
| USD | Tmbthanachart Bank Public Company Limited Thailand | BOFAUS3N | — | incoming payments (intermediary bank, field 56A) | media.ttbbank.com ↗ dated Jul 2025 |
| USD | Turkiye Vakiflar Bankasi T.A.O Türkiye | BOFAUS3N | 6550386903 | — | vbassets.vakifbank.com.tr ↗ dated 2025 |
| USD | Unicredit Bank Czech Republic and Slovakia, A.S. Czechia | BOFAUS3NXXX | 6550653505 | CP | unicreditbank.cz ↗ dated Jan 2026 |
| USD | Unicredit Bank Hungary Zrt. Hungary | BOFAUS3N | 6550-6-62557 | commercial payments | unicreditbank.hu ↗ dated 5 Jan 2026 |
| USD | Union Bank of India India | BOFAUS3N Listed as BANK OF AMERICA N.A- NEWYORK | 6550692276 | — | unionbankofindia.bank.in ↗ dated 15 May 2025 |
Each row is an account the respondent bank lists as held with this bank, as published. Only banks that publish their correspondent accounts, and that Elucidate has researched, can appear, so the list is not complete. Confirm settlement instructions with either bank before relying on them.
Branch codes
| BIC | Branch | City | Address | LEI | Updated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BOFAUS3NATS | ASSET TRANSFER SYSTEM | New York | 222 BROADWAY NEW YORK,NY NEW YORK,NY 10038 UNITED STATES OF AMERICA | — | 2025-03-01 |
| BOFAUS3NINQ | WIRE TRANSFER INQUIRY | New York | NEW YORK,NY NEW YORK,NY UNITED STATES OF AMERICA | — | 2018-01-17 |
| BOFAUS3NLMA | LENDING SERVICES AND OPERATIONS (LSOP) | New Jersey | NEW JERSEY,NJ NEW JERSEY,NJ UNITED STATES OF AMERICA | — | 2018-01-17 |
| BOFAUS3NLTS | — | Charlotte | CHARLOTTE,NC CHARLOTTE,NC UNITED STATES OF AMERICA | — | 2018-01-17 |
| BOFAUS3NTRS | TAX REPORTING SERVICES | New York | 222 BROADWAY NEW YORK,NY NEW YORK,NY 10038 UNITED STATES OF AMERICA | — | 2018-01-17 |
Claim this profile
Work at Bank of America, N.A.?
Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.
- 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
- 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
- 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.
Claim received
Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.
The claim was not sent. Try again, or email contact@elucidate.co.
Sources & method
Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.
Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.
The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Credits for this page
- National bank codes—United States (Source: Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council (FFIEC), National Information Center).
- Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
- Registered beneficial owners—Companies House, Register of Overseas Entities · source ↗ as at 9 October 2026
- Overview, leadership, regulators and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the institution's own website and reports, regulators, company registers and news. Figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
- Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: bankofamerica.com (official website) · original; Brian T. Moynihan: newsroom.bankofamerica.com (official website) · original; Alastair Borthwick: newsroom.bankofamerica.com (official website) · original; Dean Athanasia: newsroom.bankofamerica.com (official website) · original; Jim DeMare: newsroom.bankofamerica.com (official website) · original.
Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC
A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.
Book a demo