- Directory
- United Kingdom
- Bureau Buttercrane LTD

United Kingdom · Payments & e-money
Bureau Buttercrane LTD
Bureau Buttercrane Ltd is a private limited company incorporated in Northern Ireland and based in Newry. The FCA authorises it as a payment institution (reference 747167), and HMRC registers it as a money service business. Cjg Holdings Ni Ltd has held 75% or more of its shares since October 2024. It trades as TransferLab for online international money transfers and as CurrencyLab for its bureau de change in the Buttercrane Shopping Centre.
Licences and registrations
Held by Bureau Buttercrane LTD (LEI 8945003MF1R1NYYNPR10). 2 entries on 2 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.
| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FCA Financial Services Register - Payment Institutions & RAISPsFCALinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives. | Authorised Payment InstitutionPayment Institution | 747167 | United Kingdom | Active | 2018-04-20 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
| HMRC MLR Supervised Business RegisterHMRCLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives. | Money Service BusinessMoney Transmitter / Remittance | XQML00000111555 | United Kingdom | Active | 2016-09-28 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
Trading names on the register: TransferLab (FCA-PSD, HMRC-MLR), The Bureau (FCA-PSD, HMRC-MLR)
- Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
- Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
- Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
- The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
- BIC
- BUEEGB22XXX head office
- Connection to Swift
- Reverse billingThe institution is connected to Swift. Messages sent to it are billed to the institution, not to the sender. The “2” in the eighth character of BUEEGB22 marks reverse billing.
- Swift GPI
- Not on the member list
- Payment schemes and systems
- No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
- Branch codes
- None: head-office BIC only
- BIC first registered
- 2019-05-04
- Last updated
- 2021-03-18
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Customers
Not published
Employees
Not published
Ownership
Privately held
Cjg Holdings Ni Ltd
Firm type
Money remittance
Trades as TransferLab
- Standing
- Since 2021 the firm has traded as CurrencyLab (bureau de change) and TransferLab (online transfers). In January 2025 LemFi acquired a separate Irish company, Bureau Buttercrane Limited (Central Bank of Ireland reference C182347). That company is not this entity.
- Ownership
- Cjg Holdings Ni Ltd, a Northern Ireland company (NI722267), has held 75% or more of the shares and voting rights since 14 October 2024, replacing John and Marie Gildea as persons with significant control.
- Direct parent
- Cjg Holdings Ni Ltd, United Kingdom
- Head office
- Unit 20, Buttercrane Shopping Centre, Buttercrane Quay, BT35 8HJ Newry, United Kingdom
- Company register
- Companies House NI603454
- Incorporated
- 14 Jun 2010
Online
- Websites & references
- transferlab.io ↗
currencylab.io ↗ bureau de change site (CurrencyLab brand)
bureaubuttercrane.com ↗ former domain, now points visitors to CurrencyLab and TransferLab - Official social accounts
- Facebook ↗
Sources · 13 pages consulted
- find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/NI603454
- find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/NI603454/persons-with-significant-control
- find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/NI603454/officers
- transferlab.io
- transferlab.io/terms-and-conditions
- transferlab.io/regulatory
- currencylab.io/
- bureaubuttercrane.com/
- bureaubuttercrane.com/regulatory
- bureaubuttercrane.com/about
- transferlab.io/transferlab-ireland-transfer-terms
- kenyanwallstreet.com/central-bank-of-ireland-approves-lemfi-acquisition-of-irish-fintech-bureau-buttercrane
- newrychamber.com/member/currencylab/
Authorisation
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Operates under
- Its own licences
The FCA authorises the firm as a payment institution under the Payment Services Regulations 2017 (reference 747167). HMRC registers it as a money service business.
| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Financial Conduct Authority United Kingdom | Authorised Payment Institution | 747167 | In its own name | Active | register.fca.org.uk ↗ |
| HM Revenue & Customs United Kingdom | Money Service Business (Money Transmitter / Remittance) | XQML00000111555 | In its own name | Active | transferlab.io ↗ |
Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.
Partners and safeguarding
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Safeguarding
- Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm states that funds received for payment transactions are held apart from its own money in designated safeguarding accounts with an authorised credit institution by the end of the next business day, and that funds for currency exchange delivered directly to the customer are not safeguarded.
- Payment schemes and card networks
- Faster Payments Access not stated transferlab.io ↗
SEPA Credit Transfer Access not stated transferlab.io ↗
Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.
Products and markets
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
TransferLab sends GBP and EUR from UK senders to bank accounts in more than 20 European countries. CurrencyLab exchanges over 50 currencies at the Newry branch.
It serves UK-based senders under its FCA authorisation, and its Newry branch serves customers from Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland.
- Sells to
- Consumers · Small businesses · Enterprises
- Serves customers in
- United Kingdom
Leadership
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Chief executive
- John Gildea Director (described as CEO in a Newry Chamber announcement)
- Executive
- Colum Gildea Director
- Executive
- Marie Gildea Director
Recent events
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
-
Other
Cjg Holdings Ni Ltd became the firm's sole person with significant control, holding 75% or more of shares and votes.
find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
Head-office record
- BIC
- BUEEGB22XXX
- How the BIC breaks down
- BUEEBank
- GBCountry · United Kingdom
- 22Location · reverse billing
- XXXBranch · head office
- Branch description
- Not recorded in the directory
- LEI
- 8945003MF1R1NYYNPR10
- LEI record
- View on GLEIF ↗
- Licence no. · FCA-PSD
- 747167
- Licence no. · HMRC-MLR
- XQML00000111555
- How the LEI was matched
- BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entries: Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives.
- Register-entry ID
- 8d4b7a193094
Profile
- Type
- Payments & e-money · Money service businessPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
- Regulation
- Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
- Register licences
- 2 entries on 2 registers
- Activities
- Payment services
- Money remittance
- Currency exchange
- Licensed in
- United Kingdom
- Website (register)
- www.transferlab.io ↗
- Country · region
- United Kingdom · Europe & Central Asia
- Trading venues (MIC)
- No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
- OFAC sanctions
- No listing cites this BIC
- EU sanctions
- No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
- Country sanctions
- No country programme
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.
Addresses
- Registered address
- BUTTERCRANE CENTRE UNIT 20 BUTTERCRANE QUAY NEWRY BT35 8HJ UNITED KINGDOM
- Operational address
- BUTTERCRANE CENTRE UNIT 20 BUTTERCRANE QUAY NEWRY NEWRY BT35 8HJ UNITED KINGDOM
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.
- Identified by
- BIC, with its LEI
- Roles in CBPR+
- Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents
CBPR+
For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>BUEEGB22XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>8945003MF1R1NYYNPR10</LEI>
</FinInstnId>
Full record
Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>BUEEGB22XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>8945003MF1R1NYYNPR10</LEI>
<Nm>BUREAU BUTTERCRANE LTD</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<TwnNm>NEWRY</TwnNm>
<Ctry>GB</Ctry>
<AdrLine>BUTTERCRANE CENTRE UNIT 20 BUTTERCRANE QUAY NEWRY BT35 8HJ</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.
Claim this profile
Work at Bureau Buttercrane LTD?
Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.
- 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
- 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
- 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.
Claim received
Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.
The claim was not sent. Try again, or email contact@elucidate.co.
Sources & method
Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.
Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.
Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Credits for this page
- FCA Financial Services Register - Payment Institutions & RAISPs—Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- HMRC MLR Supervised Business Register—HM Revenue & Customs (HMRC) · register ↗ as at 24 September 2026
- Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
- Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: transferlab.io (official website) · original.
Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC
A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.
Book a demo