United Kingdom · Payments & e-money

Cardaq Limited

Cardaq Limited is a private limited company based in London. The FCA authorises it as an electronic money institution under firm reference number 900088. IXXOV Limited owns all of the firm and is under the control of Hugo Remi. According to its 2025 accounts, its main business is card acquiring for e-commerce merchants and payment partners, alongside card issuing, as a principal member of Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay.

BICCAQAGB22XXX LEI9845005BQBF16C161505 Licence no.900088 Reverse billingThe institution is connected to Swift. Messages sent to it are billed to the institution, not to the sender. The “2” in the eighth character of CAQAGB22 marks reverse billing. Head-office BIC only Claim this profile

Licences and registrations

Held by Cardaq Limited (LEI 9845005BQBF16C161505). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
FCA Financial Services Register - E-Money InstitutionsFCALinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives. Authorised E-Money InstitutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution 900088 United Kingdom Active 2018-05-18 —
  • Payment services
  • E-money / stored value
Search the register ↗

Trading names on the register: Teido (FCA-EMI), Pridepay (FCA-EMI)

  • Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
  • The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

BIC
CAQAGB22XXX head office
Connection to Swift
Reverse billingThe institution is connected to Swift. Messages sent to it are billed to the institution, not to the sender. The “2” in the eighth character of CAQAGB22 marks reverse billing.
Swift GPI
Not on the member list
Payment schemes and systems
No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
Branch codes
None: head-office BIC only
BIC first registered
2023-08-05
Last updated
2023-08-05

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

17

headcount · This entity · 31 Dec 2025 · annual report ↗

Ownership

Group subsidiary

100% IXXOV Limited

Firm type

Merchant acquiring and processing

Trades as Cardaq

Standing
A FinTelegram report of 28 August 2026 says the FCA register records a restriction on new business for the firm. Under it, the firm may not take on new customers without the FCA's prior written consent. The firm's 2025 accounts say it has operated under heightened regulatory and scheme scrutiny and is carrying out a remediation programme.
Ownership
IXXOV Limited (Companies House 10575438) owns 100% of the firm, and the 2025 accounts state that IXXOV Limited is under the common control of Hugo Remi.
Direct parent
IXXOV Limited, United Kingdom 100%
Head office
One, Bartholomew Close, EC1A 7BL London, United Kingdom (registered office: Broadfield Law Uk Llp, One Bartholomew Close, London, United Kingdom, EC1A 7BL)
Company register
Companies House 07805564
Incorporated
11 Oct 2011
Founder
Hugo Remi
Former names
COSPAY LIMITED · PAYCO FINANCIAL SERVICES LTD

Online

Websites & references
cardaq.com ↗
cardaq.co.uk ↗ former main domain, still carrying the firm's regulatory footer
cardsapi.cardaq.co.uk ↗ card issuing API platform
gate.cardaq.co.uk ↗ merchant and payment facilitator portal
portal.cardaq.co.uk ↗ corporate and private account login
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗
Sources · 12 pages consulted
  1. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/07805564
  2. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/07805564/officers
  3. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/07805564/persons-with-significant-control
  4. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/07805564/filing-history
  5. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/07805564/filing-history/MzU0NzM2OTM4OWFkaXF6a2N4/document?format=pdf&download=0
  6. cardaq.com/about
  7. cardaq.com/feedback/firm-status
  8. cardaq.com/materials/acquiring
  9. webdisclosure.com/press-release/cardaq-strengthens-leadership-team-and-expands-focus-on-payment-infrastruct
  10. webdisclosure.com/press-release/cardaq-announces-connected-payment-infrastructure-for-cross-border-business
  11. fintelegram.com/nigeria-payment-files-cardserv-cardaq-offshore-gambling-mcc/
  12. cardaq.co.uk/blog/what-being-visa-licensed-means-for-us-and-you

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The FCA authorises the firm as an electronic money institution (FRN 900088) to issue e-money and provide payment services. The firm's website states that it passports out to Gibraltar. Sister entities in Canada and the US operate under their own registrations.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Financial Conduct Authority United Kingdom Authorised Electronic Money Institution 900088 In its own name Active register.fca.org.uk ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Segregated safeguarding accountsAccording to its 2025 accounts, the firm keeps customer funds in segregated safeguarding accounts with approved credit institutions, separate from its own funds, and reconciles them daily.find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
Visa Direct cardaq.com ↗
Mastercard Direct cardaq.com ↗
UnionPay Direct cardaq.com ↗
Faster Payments Access not stated webdisclosure.com ↗
CHAPS Access not stated webdisclosure.com ↗
Swift Access not stated webdisclosure.com ↗
SEPA Credit Transfer and SEPA Instant Credit Transfer Access not stated webdisclosure.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Merchant acquiring
  • Payment gateway
  • Card-issuing platform
  • E-money wallet
  • Multi currency accounts
  • FX conversion
  • International money transfer
  • Payouts and mass payments

It offers card acquiring directly to merchants and through payment facilitator and third-party processing models. It also offers white-label card issuing and business e-money accounts.

The firm lists the UK, Ireland, Jersey, Gibraltar and the Isle of Man as its operating jurisdictions. Its 2025 accounts state that all its turnover arose in the UK.

Revenue
GBP 57.8mThis entity · 31 Dec 2025 · annual report ↗
Sells to
Small businesses · Enterprises · Platforms and marketplaces · Financial institutions
Serves customers in 5 countries
United Kingdom · Gibraltar · Jersey · Isle of Man · Ireland

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Hugo Remi CEO and Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · webdisclosure.com ↗
Chief executive
Noyan Nihat Co-CEO and Executive Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · webdisclosure.com ↗
Executive
Claire Huddleston Chief Operating Officer Confirmed 28 Aug 2026 · webdisclosure.com ↗
Executive
Geoffrey William Greer Nicholson Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Executive
Leeandra Jane Vaile Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Executive
Ajeb Singh Wahiwala Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Leadership

    The firm announced the appointment of Noyan Nihat as Co-CEO and Claire Huddleston as Chief Operating Officer.

    webdisclosure.com ↗
  2. Other

    FinTelegram published whistleblower allegations about gambling-related merchant descriptors and said it had not verified them.

    fintelegram.com ↗
  3. Leadership

    The firm appointed Dmitrijs Boiko as a director on 27 November 2025.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
  4. Leadership

    The firm appointed Noyan Nihat and Ajeb Singh Wahiwala as directors on 8 September 2025.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
  5. Leadership

    The firm appointed Leeandra Jane Vaile as a director on 31 October 2024.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
  6. Leadership

    The firm appointed Geoffrey William Greer Nicholson as a director on 12 February 2024.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Head-office record

BIC
CAQAGB22XXX
How the BIC breaks down
  1. CAQABank
  2. GBCountry · United Kingdom
  3. 22Location · reverse billing
  4. XXXBranch · head office
Branch description
Not recorded in the directory
LEI
9845005BQBF16C161505
LEI record
View on GLEIF ↗
Licence no. · FCA-EMI
900088
How the LEI was matched
BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives.
Register-entry ID
f73fafe7a3ba

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Register licences
1 entry on 1 register
Activities
  • Payment services
  • E-money / stored value
Licensed in
United Kingdom
Website (register)
www.cardaq.com ↗
Country · region
United Kingdom · Europe & Central Asia
Trading venues (MIC)
No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
OFAC sanctions
No listing cites this BIC
EU sanctions
No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
Country sanctions
No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

Addresses

Registered address
ONE, BARTHOLOMEW CLOSE LONDON EC1A 7BL UNITED KINGDOM
Operational address
ONE, BARTHOLOMEW CLOSE LONDON LONDON EC1A 7BL UNITED KINGDOM

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

Identified by
BIC, with its LEI
Roles in CBPR+
Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents

CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>CAQAGB22XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>9845005BQBF16C161505</LEI>
</FinInstnId>

Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>CAQAGB22XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>9845005BQBF16C161505</LEI>
  <Nm>CARDAQ LIMITED</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <TwnNm>LONDON</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>GB</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>ONE, BARTHOLOMEW CLOSE LONDON EC1A 7BL</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

Claim this profile

Work at Cardaq Limited?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

  1. 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
  2. 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
  3. 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Claim received

Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Credits for this page

  • FCA Financial Services Register - E-Money Institutions—Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
  • Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: cardaq.com (official website).

Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

Book a demo