Poland · Payments & e-money

Currency One S.A.

Currency One S.A. is a Polish joint-stock company based in Poznań. <cite index="8-15">Its card agreement states that it is entered in the KNF register of payment service providers under number IP33/2015 as a national payment institution.</cite> According to press reports, <cite index="20-7">Currency One belongs to Piotr Kurczewski, founder of Przelewy24.</cite> It runs the Walutomat currency exchange platform and the InternetowyKantor.pl online exchange office for individual and business customers. Its multi-currency Visa card is issued by Planet Pay sp. z o.o. For that card, Currency One acts as Planet Pay's payment services agent. <cite index="7-1">In October 2025 the KNF extended its licence to cover acquiring, account information services (AIS) and payment initiation services (PIS).</cite>

BICCNENPLP1XXX LEI2594008XSRT2M3U9SE13 Licence no.7831684097 Passive participant (no connection)This BIC is registered for identification only. The institution has no direct connection to the Swift network. Messages and payments reach it through a correspondent bank. The “1” in the eighth character of CNENPLP1 marks a passive participant. Head-office BIC only Claim this profile

Licences and registrations

Held by Currency One Spółka Akcyjna (LEI 2594008XSRT2M3U9SE13). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterPolish Financial Supervision AuthorityLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. Payment institutionPayment Institution 7831684097 Poland Active 2015-07-21 —
  • Money remittance
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • Payment initiation
  • Account information
Search the register ↗
  • Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
  • The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

BIC
CNENPLP1XXX head office
Connection to Swift
Passive participant (no connection)This BIC is registered for identification only. The institution has no direct connection to the Swift network. Messages and payments reach it through a correspondent bank. The “1” in the eighth character of CNENPLP1 marks a passive participant.
Swift GPI
Not on the member list
Payment schemes and systems
SCT · SCT Inst · TIPS
Branch codes
None: head-office BIC only
BIC first registered
2019-01-06
Last updated
2019-01-06

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

1,130,000

customers · This entity · 12 Jun 2024 · company statement ↗

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Privately held

Firm type

FX and business payments

Trades as Walutomat

Ownership
According to press reports, the firm belongs to Piotr Kurczewski, founder of the Przelewy24 payment service, and it has not published its shareholding structure.
Head office
ul. Szyperska 14, 61-754 Poznań, Poland
Company register
KRS 0000402723
Founders
Łukasz Olek · Michał Czekalski · Tomasz Dudziak

Online

Websites & references
currency-one.com ↗
walutomat.pl ↗ Walutomat currency exchange platform (main customer site)
internetowykantor.pl ↗ InternetowyKantor.pl online exchange office
walutomat.com ↗ Walutomat English-language site
media.currency-one.com ↗ press office
Wikipedia ↗
Sources · 18 pages consulted
  1. currency-one.com/
  2. walutomat.pl/
  3. walutomat.pl/umowa-karta-platnicza/
  4. walutomat.pl/bezpieczenstwo/
  5. walutomat.pl/regulaminy/
  6. currency-one.com/currency-one-z-rozszerzona-licencja-knf/
  7. currency-one.com/historia/
  8. currency-one.com/walutomat-uruchamia-karte-wielowalutowa/
  9. currency-one.com/oswiadczenie-w-sprawie-walutomatu/
  10. currency-one.com/dla-akcjonariuszy/
  11. walutomat.com/en/contact/
  12. walutomat.pl/aktualnosci/currency-one-sa-operator-walutomatu-na-nowym-rynku-rusza-wegierska-platforma-
  13. fintek.pl/currency-one-ma-nowego-prezesa-zostal-nim-jacek-kinecki/
  14. cashless.pl/19213-kinecki-walutomat-prezes
  15. cashless.pl/10495-dc24-asi-yetipay-currency-one
  16. cashless.pl/7690-walutomat-internetowykantor-sepa-przelewy-euro
  17. przedsiebiorcaroku.pl/person/michal-czekalski-lukasz-olek/
  18. pl.wikipedia.org/wiki/Currency_One

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Several models
Licensed firm it operates under
Planet Pay sp. z o.o., Poland Agent under art. 2(1) of the Polish Payment Services Act for the card payment services of Planet Pay, which issues the Walutomat Visa card (KNF register IP31/2015)

The KNF authorises the firm as a national payment institution (krajowa instytucja płatnicza), register number IP33/2015, and the EBA register lists it as a payment institution since 21 July 2015. For card payments it acts as the agent of Planet Pay sp. z o.o., a KNF-authorised national payment institution.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Polish Financial Supervision Authority (KNF) Poland National payment institution (krajowa instytucja płatnicza); EBA register ID 7831684097 IP33/2015 In its own name Active walutomat.pl ↗
Polish Financial Supervision Authority (KNF) Poland Payment services agent of Planet Pay sp. z o.o. (IP31/2015) for card payment services — As agent Active walutomat.pl ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm states that funds held for payment transactions are protected in separate accounts at Polish banks and are excluded from the bankruptcy estate.walutomat.pl ↗
Card issuer
Planet Pay sp. z o.o. Poland walutomat.pl ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
Visa Through a partner walutomat.pl ↗
SEPA Credit Transfer Access not stated cashless.pl ↗
SEPA Instant Credit Transfer Access not stated currency-one.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • FX conversion
  • International money transfer
  • Multi currency accounts
  • Domestic payments
  • Debit cards

It runs Walutomat, a peer-to-peer currency exchange platform, and InternetowyKantor.pl, an online exchange office. <cite index="2-1">Walutomat says it sends transfers to 70 countries.</cite> It also offers a business API and eSIM data packages.

It serves customers mainly in Poland under its KNF licence. The firm does not state whether the licence is passported to other EEA states.

Sells to
Consumers · Small businesses · Enterprises
Serves customers in
Poland

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Jacek Kinecki President of the Management Board (Prezes Zarządu) Confirmed 2 Jul 2026 · fintek.pl ↗
Executive
Maciej Przygórzewski Chief Operating Officer (Dyrektor Operacyjny) Confirmed 8 Dec 2025 · currency-one.com ↗
Executive
Miron Miesczak Head of B2B & Partnerships Confirmed 17 Jul 2026 · walutomat.pl ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Other

    Currency One launched Konverz.hu with Hungary's Exclusive Change, which uses Walutomat technology.

    walutomat.pl ↗
  2. Leadership

    Jacek Kinecki, former president of PayPro (Przelewy24), became president of the management board on 1 July 2026.

    cashless.pl ↗
  3. Other

    Walutomat launched a virtual multi-currency Visa card issued by Planet Pay.

    currency-one.com ↗
  4. Licence

    The KNF extended the firm's payment institution licence to cover acquiring, account information and payment initiation services.

    currency-one.com ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Regulator warnings

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Impersonation Polish Financial Supervision Authority (KNF), Poland

    The KNF added Walutomat Sp. z o.o. (KRS 0000606019) to its public warning list. Currency One stated that this company has no connection with it or the Walutomat.pl platform.

    currency-one.com ↗

Entries on regulators’ consumer-warning lists that name the firm or its brand. An impersonation warning is about fraudsters posing as the firm, not about the firm itself.

Identifiers

Head-office record

BIC
CNENPLP1XXX
How the BIC breaks down
  1. CNENBank
  2. PLCountry · Poland
  3. P1Location · passive
  4. XXXBranch · head office
Branch description
Not recorded in the directory
LEI
2594008XSRT2M3U9SE13
LEI record
View on GLEIF ↗
Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
7831684097
How the LEI was matched
BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address.
Register-entry ID
d824d430fe7b
National bank code
Numer rozliczeniowy 60700003

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Register licences
1 entry on 1 register
Activities
  • Money remittance
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • Payment initiation
  • Account information
Licensed in
Poland
Country · region
Poland · Europe & Central Asia
Trading venues (MIC)
No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
OFAC sanctions
No listing cites this BIC
EU sanctions
No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
Country sanctions
No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

Addresses

Registered address
SZYPERSKA 14 FLOOR V POZNAN 61-754 POLAND
Operational address
SZYPERSKA 14 FLOOR V POZNAN 61-754 POZNAN POLAND

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

Identified by
BIC, with its LEI and its PLKNR clearing code
Roles in CBPR+
Debtor agent, creditor agent or an intermediary agent

CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>CNENPLP1XXX</BICFI>
  <ClrSysMmbId>
    <ClrSysId>
      <Cd>PLKNR</Cd>
    </ClrSysId>
    <MmbId>60700003</MmbId>
  </ClrSysMmbId>
  <LEI>2594008XSRT2M3U9SE13</LEI>
</FinInstnId>

Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>CNENPLP1XXX</BICFI>
  <ClrSysMmbId>
    <ClrSysId>
      <Cd>PLKNR</Cd>
    </ClrSysId>
    <MmbId>60700003</MmbId>
  </ClrSysMmbId>
  <LEI>2594008XSRT2M3U9SE13</LEI>
  <Nm>CURRENCY ONE S.A.</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <TwnNm>POZNAN</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>PL</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>SZYPERSKA 14 FLOOR V POZNAN 61-754</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

This BIC is not connected to Swift. Messages reach the institution through a correspondent bank, so it cannot be the instructing or instructed agent.

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

Payment schemes and systems

EPC registers of 2026-09-11 · ECB T2 list of 2026-07-02 · ECB TIPS list of 2026-09-01 · SIX Bank Master valid on 2026-09-28

Scheme or systemSinceRegistered withNote
SEPA Credit TransferISO 20022 messages 2020-04-06 Head office —
SEPA Instant Credit TransferISO 20022 messages 2020-04-06 Head office —
TIPS (TARGET Instant Payment Settlement)ISO 20022 messages — Head office —

SEPA dates are when the institution became ready for the scheme. TIPS entries have no joining date.

An institution missing from T2 may still be reachable through an indirect participant. The ECB’s TIPS list does not separate participants from reachable parties. It includes institutions reachable in Swedish kronor as well as in euro.

“ISO 20022 messages” marks a scheme or system whose rulebook or operator specifies ISO 20022 for messages between participants.

National bank codes

Numer rozliczeniowy · Poland

1 code file of 2026-09-25 · ISO 20022 clearing system code PLKNR

CodeRoutes to BICName in the national fileCity
60700003 CNENPLP1 Currency One Spółka Akcyjna Poznań

Each code shows the name in the national file. Smaller banks often route through a central institution’s BIC. A code can therefore belong to a different bank than the one on this page.

Claim this profile

Work at Currency One S.A.?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

  1. 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
  2. 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
  3. 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Claim received

Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Credits for this page

  • Payment schemes and systems—Source: European Payments Council (EPC) Registers of Participants; matched to BICs by Elucidate. Source: European Central Bank, List of TIPS participants and reachable parties.
  • National bank codes—Poland (Source: Narodowy Bank Polski).
  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
  • Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: currency-one.com (official website) · original.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

Book a demo