United Kingdom · Payments & e-money

Fire Financial Services Limited

Fire Financial Services Limited is a private limited company incorporated in England and Wales in 2018, with its head office in London. The FCA authorises it as an electronic money institution under reference 900983, and it trades as Fire and fire.com. It is wholly owned by the Irish company of the same name (Fire-EU), which the Central Bank of Ireland authorises as a payment institution and which Colm Lyon ultimately controls. The firm offers sterling and euro accounts, bank transfers, Mastercard debit cards, FX payouts and open banking payments, principally to UK businesses, through a web app and the Fire Payments API.

BICFIFVGB21XXX LEI6488M029H0IA850KMQ79 Licence no.900983 Passive participant (no connection)This BIC is registered for identification only. The institution has no direct connection to the Swift network. Messages and payments reach it through a correspondent bank. The “1” in the eighth character of FIFVGB21 marks a passive participant. Head-office BIC only Claim this profile

Licences and registrations

Held by Fire Financial Services Limited (LEI 6488M029H0IA850KMQ79). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
FCA Financial Services Register - E-Money InstitutionsFCALinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives. Authorised E-Money InstitutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution 900983 United Kingdom Active 2019-06-28 —
  • Payment services
  • E-money / stored value
Search the register ↗

Trading names on the register: fire.com (FCA-EMI), Fire (FCA-EMI)

  • Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
  • The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

BIC
FIFVGB21XXX head office
Connection to Swift
Passive participant (no connection)This BIC is registered for identification only. The institution has no direct connection to the Swift network. Messages and payments reach it through a correspondent bank. The “1” in the eighth character of FIFVGB21 marks a passive participant.
Swift GPI
Not on the member list
Payment schemes and systems
No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
Branch codes
None: head-office BIC only
BIC first registered
2018-12-01
Last updated
2018-12-01

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

7

headcount · This entity · 30 Apr 2025 · annual report ↗

Ownership

Group subsidiary

100% Fire Financial Services Limited (Fire-EU)

Firm type

E-money and accounts

Trades as Fire (fire.com)

Ownership
Fire Financial Services Limited (Fire-EU), an Irish company, owns 100% of the firm. According to the 2025 accounts, Burren Tech Holdings Limited of the Isle of Man owns a majority of Fire-EU and Colm Lyon ultimately controls it.
Direct parent
Fire Financial Services Limited (Fire-EU), Ireland 100%
Ultimate owner
Burren Tech Holdings Limited, Isle of Man
Major shareholder
Fire Financial Services Limited (Fire-EU, Ireland) 100% · 30 Apr 2025
Head office
The Rise, 41 Luke Street, EC2A 4DP London, United Kingdom
Company register
Companies House 11549793
Incorporated
3 Sep 2018
Founder
Colm Lyon

Online

Websites & references
fire.com ↗
business.fire.com ↗ Fire for Business customer sign-in
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗
Sources · 16 pages consulted
  1. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/11549793
  2. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/11549793/officers
  3. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/11549793/persons-with-significant-control
  4. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/11549793/filing-history
  5. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/11549793/filing-history/MzUwMTM0NjcxOWFkaXF6a2N4/document?format=pdf&download=0
  6. register.fca.org.uk/s/firm?id=0010X00004T8diIQAR
  7. fire.com/
  8. fire.com/about/regulatory-status/
  9. fire.com/about/team/
  10. fire.com/about/
  11. fire.com/legal/business-terms-conditions/
  12. fire.com/legal/personal-terms-conditions/
  13. fire.com/legal/how-we-keep-your-money-safe/
  14. fire.com/support/faqs/
  15. centralbank.ie/news/article/fire-financial-services-limited-(clone)---central-bank-of-ireland-issues-war
  16. psr.org.uk/media/gsxk2v21/fps-participants-list-june-2024.pdf

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The FCA authorises the firm as an electronic money institution under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011, reference 900983, since 28 June 2019. Its Irish parent, Fire-EU, holds a separate payment institution authorisation from the Central Bank of Ireland (C58301).

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Financial Conduct Authority United Kingdom Authorised Electronic Money Institution 900983 In its own name Active register.fca.org.uk ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm states that it segregates customer funds from its own assets and safeguards them in designated safeguarding accounts at regulated financial institutions. It states that it does not invest or lend these funds.fire.com ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
Faster Payments Access not stated find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Bacs Access not stated find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Mastercard Through a partner find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Multi currency accounts
  • Domestic payments
  • Payouts and mass payments
  • Debit cards
  • Payment initiation (open banking)
  • FX conversion
  • International money transfer

The firm provides e-money accounts with UK account numbers, Faster Payments and Bacs transfers, Mastercard debit cards, multi-currency payouts and open banking payment acceptance. It sells these mainly to businesses integrating payments through its API. UK-resident individuals can also open personal accounts.

The firm serves customers in the UK under its FCA authorisation. The Fire group serves Irish and EEA customers through its Irish sister entity.

Revenue
GBP 1.38mThis entity · 30 Apr 2025 · annual report ↗
Sells to
Small businesses · Enterprises · Financial institutions · Platforms and marketplaces · Consumers
Serves customers in
United Kingdom

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Colm Lyon CEO and founder; director and company secretary Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Chair
Michael Smith Michael Smith Chair - Fire UK Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · fire.com ↗
Compliance / MLRO
Chris Townsend Chris Townsend Compliance, Risk & Oversight Officer, MLRO - Fire UK Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · fire.com ↗
Executive
Chris Davies Chris Davies Director - Fire UK (non-executive) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · fire.com ↗
Executive
Mark DeRocher Mark DeRocher Chief Operating Officer (Fire group) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · fire.com ↗
Executive
David Wilson David Wilson Chief Technology Officer (Fire group) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · fire.com ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Leadership

    Patrick Donohoe stepped down as a director and as company secretary of the firm on 20 May 2026.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
  2. Leadership

    The firm appointed Patrick Donohoe as a director and company secretary on 29 September 2025.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
  3. Leadership

    Paul Davey resigned as a director and company secretary on 25 September 2024. Colm Lyon became company secretary.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Regulator warnings

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Impersonation Central Bank of Ireland, Ireland

    The Central Bank of Ireland warned that a clone firm was using the name, address and authorisation number of the Irish sister company Fire-EU in an inheritance scam.

    centralbank.ie ↗
  2. Impersonation Central Bank of Ireland, Ireland

    The Central Bank of Ireland warned that a fraudulent firm was cloning Fire Financial Services Limited, trading as fire.com and Fire.

    centralbank.ie ↗

Entries on regulators’ consumer-warning lists that name the firm or its brand. An impersonation warning is about fraudsters posing as the firm, not about the firm itself.

Identifiers

Head-office record

BIC
FIFVGB21XXX
How the BIC breaks down
  1. FIFVBank
  2. GBCountry · United Kingdom
  3. 21Location · passive
  4. XXXBranch · head office
Branch description
Not recorded in the directory
LEI
6488M029H0IA850KMQ79
LEI record
View on GLEIF ↗
Licence no. · FCA-EMI
900983
How the LEI was matched
BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives.
Register-entry ID
a6fbf17041d4

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Register licences
1 entry on 1 register
Activities
  • Payment services
  • E-money / stored value
Licensed in
United Kingdom
Country · region
United Kingdom · Europe & Central Asia
Trading venues (MIC)
No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
OFAC sanctions
No listing cites this BIC
EU sanctions
No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
Country sanctions
No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

Addresses

Registered address
THE RISE 41 LUKE STREET LONDON EC2A 4DP UNITED KINGDOM
Operational address
41 LUKE STREET LONDON LONDON EC2A 4DP UNITED KINGDOM

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

Identified by
BIC, with its LEI
Roles in CBPR+
Debtor agent, creditor agent or an intermediary agent

CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>FIFVGB21XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>6488M029H0IA850KMQ79</LEI>
</FinInstnId>

Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>FIFVGB21XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>6488M029H0IA850KMQ79</LEI>
  <Nm>FIRE FINANCIAL SERVICES LIMITED</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <TwnNm>LONDON</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>GB</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>THE RISE 41 LUKE STREET LONDON EC2A 4DP</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

This BIC is not connected to Swift. Messages reach the institution through a correspondent bank, so it cannot be the instructing or instructed agent.

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

Claim this profile

Work at Fire Financial Services Limited?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

  1. 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
  2. 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
  3. 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Claim received

Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Credits for this page

  • FCA Financial Services Register - E-Money Institutions—Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
  • Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: fire.com (official website) · original; Michael Smith: fire.com (official website) · original; Chris Townsend: fire.com (official website) · original; Chris Davies: fire.com (official website) · original; Mark DeRocher: fire.com (official website) · original; David Wilson: fire.com (official website) · original.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

Book a demo