Ireland · Payments & e-money
Freemarketfx Ireland Limited
FreemarketFX Ireland Limited is a private limited company registered in Dublin. The Central Bank of Ireland authorises it as a payment institution under the European Union (Payment Services) Regulations 2018. It is the Irish subsidiary of FreemarketFX Limited, a London-based payment institution trading as Freemarket. The firm provides multi-currency payment accounts with EU IBANs, foreign exchange and cross-border payments to businesses in the EEA. It focuses on regulated gaming, money service and digital asset businesses.
Licences and registrations
Held by Freemarketfx Ireland Limited (LEI 984500B89A5B591BDF59). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.
| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EBA PSD2 RegisterCentral Bank of IrelandLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name and country only. | Payment institutionPayment Institution | C456818 | Ireland | Active | 2023-09-04 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
- Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
- Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
- Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
- The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
- BIC
- FMFXIE22XXX head office
- Connection to Swift
- Reverse billingThe institution is connected to Swift. Messages sent to it are billed to the institution, not to the sender. The “2” in the eighth character of FMFXIE22 marks reverse billing.
- Swift GPI
- Not on the member list
- Payment schemes and systems
- No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
- Branch codes
- None: head-office BIC only
- BIC first registered
- 2024-02-03
- Last updated
- 2024-02-03
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Employees
Not published
Ownership
Group subsidiary
FreemarketFX Limited
Firm type
FX and business payments
Trades as Freemarket
- Ownership
- The firm is a subsidiary of FreemarketFX Limited (Companies House 07289573), whose investors include Baird Capital's Global Private Equity Fund and BHL Holdings.
- Direct parent
- FreemarketFX Limited, United Kingdom
- Head office
- Office 301, Regus House, Harcourt Centre, Block 4, Harcourt Road, D02 HW77 Dublin, Ireland (registered office: The Black Church, Saint Mary's Place, Dublin, D07 P4AX, Ireland)
- Company register
- Companies Registration Office (Ireland) 690987
- Founder
- Alex Hunn
Online
- Websites & references
- wearefreemarket.com ↗
wearefreemarket.com/ie ↗ EU/Ireland country site
help.wearefreemarket.com ↗ client help centre
freemarketfx.github.io ↗ developer portal (API documentation) - Official social accounts
- LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗
Sources · 14 pages consulted
- registers.centralbank.ie/FirmRegisterDataPage.aspx?firmReferenceNumber=C456818®ister=61
- wearefreemarket.com/terms-conditions-for-corporate-clients-v3-ba568d71-cdff-4f60-b0c4-dffd5d6fe363
- wearefreemarket.com/en-gb/about/governance
- wearefreemarket.com/ie/?hsLang=en
- wearefreemarket.com/en-ie/company/about-us
- wearefreemarket.com/about-freemarket-management-team-and-board?hsLang=en-gb
- wearefreemarket.com/terms-and-conditions?hsLang=en-gb
- wearefreemarket.com/privacy-policy
- help.wearefreemarket.com/articles/unsupported-jurisdictions
- wearefreemarket.com/about
- wearefreemarket.com/news/freemarket-granted-central-bank-of-ireland-approval-to-drive-european-expansion
- wearefreemarket.com/news/freemarket-extends-partnership-with-axiym
- bairdcapital.com/portfolio/2023/may/freemarket/
- lb.lt/en/sfi-financial-market-participants/freemarketfx-ireland-limited
Authorisation
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Operates under
- Its own licences
The Central Bank of Ireland authorises the firm as a payment institution under Regulation 18 of the European Union (Payment Services) Regulations 2018. Its permissions cover the execution of credit transfers and the issuing and/or acquiring of payment transactions. The licence is passported on a freedom-of-services basis to 28 EEA states, according to the Central Bank's register.
| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Central Bank of Ireland Ireland | Payment Institution (Regulation 18, European Union (Payment Services) Regulations 2018) | C456818 | In its own name | Active | registers.centralbank.ie ↗ |
Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.
Partners and safeguarding
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Safeguarding
- Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm states that it keeps relevant client funds separate from its own funds and safeguards them under the Irish Payment Services Regulations. Funds are not covered while they are used in an FX transaction, and accounts are not covered by the Deposit Guarantee Scheme.
- Payment schemes and card networks
- SEPA Credit Transfer Access not stated wearefreemarket.com ↗
SEPA Instant Credit Transfer Access not stated wearefreemarket.com ↗
Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.
Products and markets
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
The firm offers business payment accounts with EU IBANs, FX by scheduled batch or real-time pricing, and payments in over 30 currencies, according to its website. It does not accept cash or card funding.
It serves business customers in Ireland and, under its Irish licence, provides services in 28 other EEA states on a freedom-of-services basis.
- Payment volume
- GBP 4bntransactions processed
- Sells to
- Enterprises · Small businesses · Financial institutions
- Serves customers in 30 countries
- Ireland · Austria · Belgium · Bulgaria · Croatia · Cyprus · Czechia · Denmark · Estonia · Finland · France · Germany · Greece · Hungary · Iceland · Italy · Latvia · Liechtenstein · Lithuania · Luxembourg · Malta · Netherlands · Norway · Poland · Portugal · Romania · Slovakia · Slovenia · Spain · Sweden
- Latest funding round
- growth capital investment May 2023Led by Baird Capital Global Private Equity Fund
Leadership
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Chief executive
-
Michael Buckley
Interim CEO, Chief Operating Officer (PCF-42) and Chief Information Officer (PCF-49), FreemarketFX Ireland
- Executive
-
Stefano Rossi
Chief Risk Officer, Freemarket Ireland
- Chair & chief executive
-
Andrew Adams
Chief Executive Officer and Chairman (Freemarket group)
- Chief financial officer
-
Andy Wilson
Chief Financial Officer (Freemarket group)
- Compliance / MLRO
-
Geoff Close
Chief Risk Officer (Freemarket group)
- Founder
-
Alex Hunn
Founder and Non-Executive Director (Freemarket group)
Recent events
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
-
Other
The Freemarket group announced a strategic investment in Axiym, a settlement-liquidity provider it has partnered with since late 2024.
wearefreemarket.com ↗ -
Licence
The Central Bank of Ireland authorised the firm as a payment institution on 4 September 2023, under reference C456818.
registers.centralbank.ie ↗
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
Head-office record
- BIC
- FMFXIE22XXX
- How the BIC breaks down
- FMFXBank
- IECountry · Ireland
- 22Location · reverse billing
- XXXBranch · head office
- Branch description
- Not recorded in the directory
- LEI
- 984500B89A5B591BDF59
- LEI record
- View on GLEIF ↗
- Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
- C456818
- How the LEI was matched
- BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name and country only.
- Register-entry ID
- ed8e7b11bbd0
Profile
- Type
- Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
- Regulation
- Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
- Register licences
- 1 entry on 1 register
- Activities
- Payment services
- Card acquiring
- Licensed in
- Ireland
- Country · region
- Ireland · Europe & Central Asia
- Banking supervision
- Not on the ECB's list of supervised entities as of 2026-07-01
- Trading venues (MIC)
- No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
- OFAC sanctions
- No listing cites this BIC
- EU sanctions
- No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
- Country sanctions
- No country programme
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.
Addresses
- Registered address
- THE BLACK CHURCH SAINT MARY'S PLACE DUBLIN D07 P4AX IRELAND
- Operational address
- REGUS HOUSE, HARCOURT CENTRE OFFICE 301 BLOCK 4 HARCOURT ROAD DUBLIN DUBLIN D02 HW77 IRELAND
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.
- Identified by
- BIC, with its LEI
- Roles in CBPR+
- Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents
CBPR+
For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>FMFXIE22XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>984500B89A5B591BDF59</LEI>
</FinInstnId>
Full record
Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>FMFXIE22XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>984500B89A5B591BDF59</LEI>
<Nm>FREEMARKETFX IRELAND LIMITED</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<TwnNm>DUBLIN</TwnNm>
<Ctry>IE</Ctry>
<AdrLine>THE BLACK CHURCH SAINT MARY'S PLACE DUBLIN D07 P4AX</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.
Claim this profile
Work at Freemarketfx Ireland Limited?
Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.
- 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
- 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
- 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.
Claim received
Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.
The claim was not sent. Try again, or email contact@elucidate.co.
Sources & method
Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.
Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.
Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Credits for this page
- EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
- Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: wearefreemarket.com (official website) · original; Michael Buckley: wearefreemarket.com (official website) · original; Stefano Rossi: wearefreemarket.com (official website) · original; Andrew Adams: wearefreemarket.com (official website) · original; Andy Wilson: wearefreemarket.com (official website) · original; Geoff Close: wearefreemarket.com (official website) · original; Alex Hunn: wearefreemarket.com (official website) · original.
Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC
A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.
Book a demo