United Kingdom · Payments & e-money

Gemba Finance LTD

Gemba Finance Ltd is a private limited company incorporated in England and Wales in 2017. Its head office is at One Canada Square, Canary Wharf, London. The FCA has authorised the firm as an Authorised Payment Institution under the Payment Services Regulations 2017 since 13 March 2019 (FRN 804853). Its founder and chief executive, Alexander Legoshin, holds 75% or more of its shares. Under the Gemba brand it offers businesses multi-currency payment accounts with IBANs, domestic and cross-border payments and currency exchange. It also runs a white-label platform that lets partner firms offer these services under its authorisation. Stripe issues the commercial cards linked to Gemba accounts under its own e-money licences.

BICGEEIGB22XXX LEI2138008LQAHZJRBA1V88 Licence no.804853 Reverse billingThe institution is connected to Swift. Messages sent to it are billed to the institution, not to the sender. The “2” in the eighth character of GEEIGB22 marks reverse billing. Head-office BIC only Claim this profile

Licences and registrations

Held by Gemba Finance LTD (LEI 2138008LQAHZJRBA1V88). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
FCA Financial Services Register - Payment Institutions & RAISPsFCALinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives. Authorised Payment InstitutionPayment Institution 804853 United Kingdom Active 2019-03-13 —
  • Payment services
Search the register ↗

Trading names on the register: GEMBA (FCA-PSD)

  • Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
  • The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

BIC
GEEIGB22XXX head office
Connection to Swift
Reverse billingThe institution is connected to Swift. Messages sent to it are billed to the institution, not to the sender. The “2” in the eighth character of GEEIGB22 marks reverse billing.
Swift GPI
Not on the member list
Payment schemes and systems
SCT
Branch codes
None: head-office BIC only
BIC first registered
2019-06-01
Last updated
2025-05-24

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

39

headcount · This entity · 29 Sep 2026 · company statement ↗

Ownership

Privately held

Firm type

Banking as a service

Trades as Gemba

Ownership
According to Companies House, Alexander Legoshin is the sole person with significant control, holding 75% or more of the shares and voting rights.
Major shareholder
Alexander Legoshin
Head office
Level 39, One Canada Square, Canary Wharf, E14 5AB London, United Kingdom
Company register
Companies House 11040011
Incorporated
31 Oct 2017
Founders
Alexander Legoshin · Vladimir Dereviagin

Online

Websites & references
ge.mba ↗
my.ge.mba ↗ online banking login
docs.ge.mba ↗ API documentation
status.ge.mba ↗ status page
support.ge.mba ↗ help centre
Official social accounts
None found
Sources · 15 pages consulted
  1. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/11040011
  2. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/11040011/officers
  3. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/11040011/persons-with-significant-control
  4. ge.mba/
  5. ge.mba/terms
  6. my.ge.mba/docs/tcagree
  7. ge.mba/pages/team
  8. ge.mba/pages/documents
  9. ge.mba/pages/faq
  10. support.ge.mba/en/articles/5521922
  11. ge.mba/posts/gemba-appoints-former-j-p-morgan-and-goldman-sachs-executive-robert-wade-as-fractio
  12. globenewswire.com/news-release/2026/01/14/3218434/0/en/Gemba-Appoints-Fintech-Veteran-Georg-Hauer-as-Strate
  13. prnewswire.com/news-releases/gemba-ignites-fintech-in-a-box-revolution-launches-on-microsoft--google-mar
  14. ge.mba/posts/gemba-to-join-jpmorganchase-fintech-forward-programme-to-accelerate-innovation-in-f
  15. ge.mba/pages/about

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Several models
Licensed firm it operates under
Stripe Payments UK Limited, United Kingdom Issuer of the Gemba commercial cards and of the e-money held on them for UK cardholders; Stripe Technology Europe Limited issues them for EEA cardholders

The FCA authorises the firm as an Authorised Payment Institution (FRN 804853), and its payment accounts are provided under that authorisation. Partner firms using its white-label platform operate under the firm's authorisation. Its commercial cards are issued by Stripe Payments UK Limited, which the FCA authorises as an electronic money institution. For EEA cardholders the issuer is Stripe Technology Europe Limited, which the Central Bank of Ireland authorises as an electronic money institution.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Financial Conduct Authority United Kingdom Authorised Payment Institution 804853 In its own name Active —

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm states that as a UK payment institution it segregates clients' funds and uses them only to carry out clients' payment instructions. Funds moved onto a commercial card are safeguarded by the card issuer, Stripe.support.ge.mba ↗
Card issuer · Safeguarding bank
Stripe Payments UK Limited United Kingdom my.ge.mba ↗
Card issuer · Safeguarding bank
Stripe Technology Europe Limited Ireland my.ge.mba ↗
Settlement bank
ClearBank United Kingdom ge.mba ↗
Settlement bank
JPMorgan ge.mba ↗
Settlement bank
Dukascopy Bank Switzerland ge.mba ↗
Settlement bank
UBS Switzerland ge.mba ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
Faster Payments Access not stated ge.mba ↗
Bacs Access not stated ge.mba ↗
CHAPS Access not stated ge.mba ↗
SEPA Access not stated ge.mba ↗
TARGET2 Access not stated ge.mba ↗
Swift Access not stated ge.mba ↗
Visa Through a partner my.ge.mba ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Banking as a service
  • Multi currency accounts
  • International money transfer
  • Domestic payments
  • Payouts and mass payments
  • FX conversion
  • Prepaid cards

The firm offers payment accounts with IBANs in 16 currencies, including GBP, EUR, USD, CAD and CHF, with bulk payouts and account-to-card payouts. Its white-label platform lets partners launch branded banking portals under its authorisation. Stablecoin payouts and open banking are described as pilots.

The firm serves customers from the UK under its FCA authorisation. It offers international payments and issues Stripe commercial cards to cardholders in the UK and the EEA.

Sells to
Platforms and marketplaces · Small businesses · Enterprises · Financial institutions · Consumers
Serves customers in
United Kingdom

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Alexander Legoshin CEO and Founder; Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · ge.mba ↗
Chief financial officer
Denis Reznik Denis Reznik CFO Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · ge.mba ↗
Executive
Ugis Latsons COO; Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Founder
Vladimir Dereviagin Co-founder; Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Executive
Robert Wade Robert Wade Fractional Chief Revenue Officer Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · ge.mba ↗
Executive
Parveen Dhanda Parveen Dhanda co-COO Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · ge.mba ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Other

    The firm announced the launch of instant cross-border payouts to bank cards.

    ge.mba ↗
  2. Leadership

    The firm appointed Robert Wade, formerly of J.P. Morgan, as Fractional Chief Revenue Officer.

    ge.mba ↗
  3. Leadership

    The firm appointed Georg Hauer, former General Manager of N26, as strategic advisor for UK, EU and US expansion.

    globenewswire.com ↗
  4. Other

    The firm listed its white-label banking platform on the Microsoft Commercial Marketplace and Google Cloud Marketplace.

    prnewswire.com ↗
  5. Other

    The firm was selected for the JPMorgan Chase Fintech Forward Programme, a 12-week accelerator developed with EY.

    ge.mba ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Head-office record

BIC
GEEIGB22XXX
How the BIC breaks down
  1. GEEIBank
  2. GBCountry · United Kingdom
  3. 22Location · reverse billing
  4. XXXBranch · head office
Branch description
Not recorded in the directory
LEI
2138008LQAHZJRBA1V88
LEI record
View on GLEIF ↗
Licence no. · FCA-PSD
804853
How the LEI was matched
BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives.
Register-entry ID
a11dee3e4afd

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Register licences
1 entry on 1 register
Activities
  • Payment services
Licensed in
United Kingdom
Website (register)
www.ge.mba ↗
Country · region
United Kingdom · Europe & Central Asia
Trading venues (MIC)
No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
OFAC sanctions
No listing cites this BIC
EU sanctions
No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
Country sanctions
No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

Addresses

Registered address
UNITED KINGDOM
Operational address
1 CANADA SQUARE CANARY WHARF LONDON LONDON E14 5AB UNITED KINGDOM

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

Identified by
BIC, with its LEI
Roles in CBPR+
Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents

CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>GEEIGB22XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>2138008LQAHZJRBA1V88</LEI>
</FinInstnId>

Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>GEEIGB22XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>2138008LQAHZJRBA1V88</LEI>
  <Nm>GEMBA FINANCE LTD</Nm>
</FinInstnId>

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

Payment schemes and systems

EPC registers of 2026-09-11 · ECB T2 list of 2026-07-02 · ECB TIPS list of 2026-09-01 · SIX Bank Master valid on 2026-09-28

Scheme or systemSinceRegistered withNote
SEPA Credit TransferISO 20022 messages 2020-04-13 Head office —

SEPA dates are when the institution became ready for the scheme.

An institution missing from T2 may still be reachable through an indirect participant.

“ISO 20022 messages” marks a scheme or system whose rulebook or operator specifies ISO 20022 for messages between participants.

Claim this profile

Work at Gemba Finance LTD?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

  1. 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
  2. 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
  3. 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Claim received

Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Credits for this page

  • Payment schemes and systems—Source: European Payments Council (EPC) Registers of Participants; matched to BICs by Elucidate.
  • FCA Financial Services Register - Payment Institutions & RAISPs—Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
  • Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: ge.mba (official website) · original; Denis Reznik: ge.mba (official website) · original; Robert Wade: ge.mba (official website) · original; Parveen Dhanda: ge.mba (official website) · original.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

Book a demo