United Kingdom · Payments & e-money

Klarna Financial Services UK Limited

Klarna Financial Services UK Limited is a private limited company registered in England and Wales, based at 10 York Road, London. The FCA authorises it as an electronic money institution (FRN 1021834) and for consumer credit activities (FRN 987889). It is wholly owned by Klarna Bank AB of Sweden, whose ultimate parent is Klarna Group plc. It provides Klarna's UK consumer services: pay-later and instalment credit, the Klarna balance e-money account and the Klarna Visa card.

Licences and registrations

Held by Klarna Financial Services UK Limited (LEI 984500DBA3BP4C462A15). 2 entries on 2 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
FCA Financial Services Register - E-Money InstitutionsFCA Authorised E-Money InstitutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution 1021834 United Kingdom Active 2025-07-28 —
  • Payment services
  • E-money / stored value
Search the register ↗
FCA Financial Services Register - Payment Institutions & RAISPsFCA Authorised Payment InstitutionPayment Institution 987816 United Kingdom Cancelled - Authorised PI — Ended 2025-09-28
  • Payment services
Search the register ↗

Trading names on the register: Klarna (FCA-EMI, FCA-PSD)

  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

11,000,000

customers · This entity · 30 Jul 2025 · company statement ↗

Employees

17

headcount · This entity · 31 Dec 2024 · annual report ↗

Ownership

Group subsidiary

100% Klarna Bank AB

Firm type

Lending or buy now, pay later

Trades as Klarna

Standing
The FCA authorised the firm as an electronic money institution on 28 July 2025. Its earlier payment institution authorisation (FRN 987816) was cancelled on 28 September 2025.
Ownership
Klarna Bank AB (Swedish registration number 556737-0431) owns 100% of the firm, and Klarna Group plc is the ultimate parent.
Direct parent
Klarna Bank AB, Sweden 100%
Ultimate owner
Klarna Group plc, United Kingdom
Head office
10 York Road, SE1 7ND London, United Kingdom
Company register
Companies House 14290857
Incorporated
11 Aug 2022

Online

Websites & references
klarna.com ↗ did not load when checked
docs.klarna.com ↗ Klarna developer and merchant documentation (group)
investors.klarna.com ↗ Klarna Group plc investor relations site (group)
Wikipedia ↗ group article
Official social accounts
None found
Sources · 14 pages consulted
  1. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/14290857
  2. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/14290857/filing-history
  3. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/14290857/officers
  4. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/14290857/persons-with-significant-control
  5. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/14290857/filing-history/MzQ2ODEzNTg1NWFkaXF6a2N4/document?format=pdf&download=0
  6. register.fca.org.uk/servlet/servlet.FileDownload?file=015b0000006CWmx
  7. investors.klarna.com/governance/Governance-Oversight/default.aspx
  8. cdn.klarna.com/1.0/shared/content/legal/terms/en-GB/general_conditions_account
  9. docs.klarna.com/acquirer/klarna/resources/marketing-tools/partner-marketing-legal-guidelines/united-kingd
  10. investors.klarna.com/News--Events/news/news-details/2025/Klarna-receives-FCA-authorisation-paving-way-for-cash
  11. investors.klarna.com/News--Events/news/news-details/2025/Klarna-Launches-Flexible-Debit-Card-and-Digital-Walle
  12. klarna.com/international/press/klarna-receives-fca-authorisation-to-provide-regulated-payments-and-c
  13. lei.bloomberg.com/leis/view/984500DBA3BP4C462A15
  14. en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Klarna

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The FCA authorises the firm as an electronic money institution (FRN 1021834) and for consumer credit activities (FRN 987889). According to Klarna, its Pay in 3 and Pay in 30 days products have been regulated by the FCA as deferred payment credit under FRN 987889 since 15 July 2026.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Financial Conduct Authority United Kingdom Authorised Electronic Money Institution 1021834 In its own name Active investors.klarna.com ↗
Financial Conduct Authority United Kingdom Authorised firm for regulated consumer credit activities (including deferred payment credit from 15 July 2026) 987889 In its own name Active docs.klarna.com ↗
Financial Conduct Authority United Kingdom Authorised Payment Institution (cancelled) 987816 In its own name Withdrawn or expired —

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Not disclosedIts Klarna balance terms state that funds received for e-money are safeguarded under the UK rules for electronic money institutions, but they do not name the method or the safeguarding bank.cdn.klarna.com ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
Visa Access not stated investors.klarna.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Buy now, pay later
  • Lending
  • E-money wallet
  • Debit cards
  • Domestic payments

The firm is the UK lender for Klarna Pay in 3, Pay in 30 days and financing, and it issues the Klarna balance e-money account and the debit-first Klarna Visa card.

It serves UK-resident consumers aged 18 and over, and its 2024 accounts state that all revenue came from the UK.

Revenue
GBP 183.5mThis entity · 31 Dec 2024 · annual report ↗
Sells to
Consumers
Serves customers in
United Kingdom

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Executive
Abby Charlotte Vickers Head of Klarna Financial Services UK; Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Executive
Niclas Peter Neglén Director (Chief Financial Officer of the Klarna group) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Executive
Daniel Messenger Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Executive
Michael Cuong Vi Tran Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Licence

    The firm's Pay in 3 and Pay in 30 days products came under FCA regulation as deferred payment credit on 15 July 2026.

    docs.klarna.com ↗
  2. Leadership

    Camilla Giesecke stepped down as a director on 1 May 2026, after Michael Tran was appointed a director on 20 April 2026.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
  3. Leadership

    Niall Kilkenny stepped down as a director of the firm on 31 December 2025.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
  4. Other

    Klarna launched the Klarna balance e-money account and the debit-first Klarna Visa card in the UK on 16 October 2025.

    investors.klarna.com ↗
  5. Licence

    The FCA authorised the firm as an electronic money institution (FRN 1021834) on 28 July 2025.

    investors.klarna.com ↗
  6. Licence

    The FCA authorised the firm for consumer credit and payment services, and it took over Klarna's UK consumer business from Klarna Bank AB.

    klarna.com ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Licence no. · FCA-EMI
1021834
Licence no. · FCA-PSD
987816
BIC
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
How the LEI was matched
Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives
Elucidate firm ID
7dcf9d8bf392

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Main licence class
E-Money / Stored Value Institution
Activities
  • Payment services
  • E-money / stored value
Licensed in
United Kingdom · Europe & Central Asia
First registered
2025-07-28

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

Addresses

Address on the register
10 York Road, London, SE1 7ND
Country
United Kingdom

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

Identified by
Name and postal address, with its LEI
Postal address
Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line
<FinInstnId>
  <LEI>984500DBA3BP4C462A15</LEI>
  <Nm>KLARNA FINANCIAL SERVICES UK LIMITED</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>SE1 7ND</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>London</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>GB</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>10 York Road</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Registers for this page

  • FCA Financial Services Register - E-Money Institutions—Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • FCA Financial Services Register - Payment Institutions & RAISPs—Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

Book a demo