United Kingdom · Payments & e-money

Mangopay U.K. Limited

Mangopay U.K. Limited is a private limited company registered in England and Wales, with its registered office in London. The FCA authorises it as an electronic money institution under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011, reference 984753. It is wholly owned by AI Stargate (Luxembourg) S.à r.l., and its ultimate parent is Advent International. It provides e-money wallets, pay-in, payout and FX services through an API to UK-based platforms and marketplaces and their users. According to its accounts, it began operating in May 2024.

BICMPAYGB22XXX LEI9845008DDAEF13B82663 Licence no.984753 Reverse billingThe institution is connected to Swift. Messages sent to it are billed to the institution, not to the sender. The “2” in the eighth character of MPAYGB22 marks reverse billing. Head-office BIC only Claim this profile

Licences and registrations

Held by Mangopay U.K. Limited (LEI 9845008DDAEF13B82663). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
FCA Financial Services Register - E-Money InstitutionsFCALinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives. Authorised E-Money InstitutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution 984753 United Kingdom Active 2023-10-26 —
  • Payment services
  • E-money / stored value
Search the register ↗

Trading names on the register: Mangopay (FCA-EMI)

  • Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
  • The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

BIC
MPAYGB22XXX head office
Connection to Swift
Reverse billingThe institution is connected to Swift. Messages sent to it are billed to the institution, not to the sender. The “2” in the eighth character of MPAYGB22 marks reverse billing.
Swift GPI
Not on the member list
Payment schemes and systems
No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
Branch codes
None: head-office BIC only
Other BIC with this LEI
MPAYGB32
BIC first registered
2023-12-02
Last updated
2023-12-02

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

43

headcount · This entity · 31 Dec 2024 · annual report ↗

Ownership

Group subsidiary

100% AI Stargate (Luxembourg) S.à r.l.

Firm type

E-money and accounts

Trades as Mangopay

Ownership
AI Stargate (Luxembourg) S.à r.l. holds 100% of the firm's shares, and the 2024 accounts name Advent International as the ultimate parent.
Direct parent
AI Stargate (Luxembourg) S.à r.l., Luxembourg 100%
Ultimate owner
Advent International, United States
Head office
32-34 Great Marlborough Street, W1F 7JB London, United Kingdom
Company register
Companies House 14111900
Incorporated
17 May 2022

Online

Websites & references
mangopay.com ↗
docs.mangopay.com ↗ developer documentation and support
blog.mangopay.com ↗ group blog
hub.mangopay.com ↗ client dashboard login
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · YouTube ↗
Sources · 15 pages consulted
  1. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/14111900
  2. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/14111900/officers
  3. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/14111900/persons-with-significant-control
  4. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/14111900/filing-history
  5. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/14111900/filing-history/MzQ4OTA1ODQzMmFkaXF6a2N4/document?format=pdf&download=0
  6. mangopay.com/en-gb/legal-notice
  7. mangopay.com/en-gb/safeguarding
  8. mangopay.com/en-gb/terms-and-conditions
  9. eu-central-1-shared-euc1-02.graphassets.com/A6NPNWwURR3aAqvSW3l08z/cmok4mvso6vad08w6zdji2uaq
  10. mangopay.com/en-gb/end-users
  11. blog.mangopay.com/en/home/how-mangopay-holds-and-safeguards-funds-within-the-wallet-ecosystem
  12. docs.mangopay.com/guides/glossary
  13. financialit.net/news/payments/mangopay-granted-uk-e-money-license
  14. itbrief.co.uk/story/zymix-picks-mangopay-for-uk-super-app-wallet-launch
  15. fintechmagazine.com/news/zymix-and-mangopay-the-gen-z-superapp-with-embedded-finance

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The FCA authorises the firm as an electronic money institution under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011 to issue e-money and provide payment services. It serves UK-based platforms under this licence.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Financial Conduct Authority United Kingdom Authorised Electronic Money Institution 984753 In its own name Active register.fca.org.uk ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm states that it holds customer funds in segregated safeguarding accounts at UK banks, separate from its own funds, under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011 and Payment Services Regulations 2017.mangopay.com ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
Faster Payments Access not stated eu-central-1-shared-euc1-02.graphassets.com ↗
Bacs Access not stated eu-central-1-shared-euc1-02.graphassets.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • E-money wallet
  • Payment gateway
  • Payouts and mass payments
  • FX conversion
  • Multi currency accounts

It provides e-money accounts, payment acceptance and payouts through an API to UK-based online platforms, whose users hold the e-money wallets.

It serves platforms based in the UK, while Mangopay S.A. in Luxembourg serves platforms based in the EU/EEA.

Revenue
GBP 45,580This entity · 31 Dec 2024 · annual report ↗
Sells to
Platforms and marketplaces · Consumers · Small businesses · Enterprises
Serves customers in
United Kingdom

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Alexander James Taylor Managing Director, UK; Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Executive
Travolta Mohan Director (Group Treasurer, Mangopay group) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗

Recent events 1 enforcement or investigation item

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Leadership

    Ronen David Benchetrit stepped down as a director of the firm on 11 May 2026.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
  2. Incident

    The firm stated that users of one UK platform saw temporary delays to pending balances and that no balances were lost.

    mangopay.com ↗
  3. Leadership

    The firm appointed Alexander James Taylor as a director on 8 April 2025 after James Cameron Butland resigned on 4 April 2025.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
  4. Leadership

    The firm appointed Travolta Mohan as a director on 15 January 2025, replacing Romain Mazeries, who resigned that day.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
  5. Other

    The firm began operating in May 2024 and received a GBP 1.66 million capital contribution from its parent during 2024.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
  6. Licence

    The FCA authorised the firm as an electronic money institution on 26 October 2023, reference 984753.

    financialit.net ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Head-office record

BIC
MPAYGB22XXX
How the BIC breaks down
  1. MPAYBank
  2. GBCountry · United Kingdom
  3. 22Location · reverse billing
  4. XXXBranch · head office
Branch description
Not recorded in the directory
LEI
9845008DDAEF13B82663
LEI record
View on GLEIF ↗
Licence no. · FCA-EMI
984753
How the LEI was matched
BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives.
Register-entry ID
bffaaba06385

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Register licences
1 entry on 1 register
Activities
  • Payment services
  • E-money / stored value
Licensed in
United Kingdom
Website (register)
mangopay.com ↗
Country · region
United Kingdom · Europe & Central Asia
Trading venues (MIC)
No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
OFAC sanctions
No listing cites this BIC
EU sanctions
No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
Country sanctions
No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

Addresses

Registered address
179 GREAT PORTLAND STREET LONDON W1W 5PL UNITED KINGDOM
Operational address
179 GREAT PORTLAND STREET LONDON LONDON W1W 5PL UNITED KINGDOM

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

Identified by
BIC, with its LEI
Roles in CBPR+
Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents

CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>MPAYGB22XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>9845008DDAEF13B82663</LEI>
</FinInstnId>

Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>MPAYGB22XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>9845008DDAEF13B82663</LEI>
  <Nm>MANGOPAY U.K. LIMITED</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <TwnNm>LONDON</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>GB</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>179 GREAT PORTLAND STREET LONDON W1W 5PL</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

Claim this profile

Work at Mangopay U.K. Limited?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

  1. 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
  2. 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
  3. 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Claim received

Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Credits for this page

  • FCA Financial Services Register - E-Money Institutions—Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
  • Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: mangopay.com (official website) · original.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

Book a demo