United Kingdom · Payments & e-money

Moorwand Ltd

Moorwand Ltd is a private limited company registered in England and Wales with its head office in London. The FCA authorises it as an electronic money institution under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011, reference 900709. According to Companies House, Wael Sulaiman Almaree holds 75% or more of its shares. It offers card issuing and BIN sponsorship through its Mastercard scheme membership, as well as GBP and EUR accounts and payments compliance services. Its clients are mainly fintechs, e-money and payment institutions and other businesses. The company was incorporated in 2013 as Moorbank Enterprise Limited. It became UPayCard Ltd in 2014 and took its current name in November 2016.

Licences and registrations

Held by Moorwand Ltd (LEI 213800ORIMBSMAYOE591). 2 entries on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
FCA Financial Services Register - E-Money InstitutionsFCA Authorised E-Money InstitutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution 900709 United Kingdom Active 2018-04-13 —
  • Payment services
  • E-money / stored value
Search the register ↗
FCA Financial Services Register - E-Money InstitutionsFCA Small E-Money InstitutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution 900555 United Kingdom Cancelled - Small EMI — Ended 2017-03-20
  • Payment services
  • E-money / stored value
Search the register ↗
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Privately held

Firm type

Banking as a service

Trades as Moorwand

Standing
The FCA has authorised Moorwand as an electronic money institution since 13 April 2018. The FCA cancelled its earlier small electronic money institution registration (reference 900555) on 20 March 2017.
Ownership
Companies House records Wael Sulaiman Almaree as the only active person with significant control, holding 75% or more of the shares since 3 May 2019.
Major shareholder
Wael Sulaiman Almaree
Head office
Fora, 3 Lloyd's Avenue, EC3N 3DS London, United Kingdom
Company register
Companies House 08491211
Incorporated
16 Apr 2013
Former names
UPAYCARD LTD · MOORBANK ENTERPRISE LIMITED

Online

Websites & references
moorwand.com ↗
wallet.moorwand.com ↗ client account sign-up and login portal
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗
Sources · 15 pages consulted
  1. register.fca.org.uk/s/firm?id=001b000003ZcrWQAAZ
  2. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/08491211
  3. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/08491211/persons-with-significant-control
  4. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/08491211/officers
  5. moorwand.com
  6. moorwand.com/terms-and-conditions/
  7. moorwand.com/resources/faq/
  8. moorwand.com/solutions/digital-banking/
  9. moorwand.com/about-us/meet-the-team/
  10. moorwand.com/about-us/our-partners/
  11. judiciary.uk/live-hearings/moorwand-ltd-appellant-defendant-v-hamblin-and-others-respondents-claimants
  12. ashurstperkinscoie.com/en/insights/moorwand-the-novel-approach-to-quincecare-claims/
  13. 3vb.com/court-of-appeal-restores-first-instance-decision-in-app-fraud-appeal/
  14. cms.law/en/gbr/legal-updates/moorwand-ltd-v-hamblin-ors-court-of-appeal-finds-for-payment-institu
  15. fintech.global/2025/10/06/tap-partners-with-moorwand-to-power-fintech-super-app/

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The FCA authorises Moorwand as an electronic money institution to issue e-money and provide payment services. It issues cards under a licence from Mastercard and sponsors client card programmes under its own authorisation.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Financial Conduct Authority United Kingdom Authorised Electronic Money Institution 900709 In its own name Active register.fca.org.uk ↗
Financial Conduct Authority United Kingdom Small E-Money Institution 900555 In its own name Withdrawn or expired —

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm states that it holds customers' e-money balances at a bank it does not name, in segregated safeguarding accounts kept separate from its own funds. It also states that these balances are not covered by the FSCS.moorwand.com ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
Mastercard Direct moorwand.com ↗
Faster Payments Access not stated moorwand.com ↗
SEPA Instant Credit Transfer Access not stated moorwand.com ↗
SEPA Credit Transfer Access not stated moorwand.com ↗
Bacs (Direct Credit and Direct Debit) Access not stated moorwand.com ↗
CHAPS (inbound only) Access not stated moorwand.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Card-issuing platform
  • Banking as a service
  • Multi currency accounts
  • Debit cards
  • Prepaid cards
  • Domestic payments

It offers BIN sponsorship and card issuing, and Digital Banking accounts with GBP and EUR IBANs over Faster Payments, Bacs, Direct Debit and SEPA. It also sells payments compliance services to fintechs and e-money and payment institutions.

It operates from the UK under its FCA authorisation. It states that it issues GBP and EUR IBANs to clients in the UK and EEA countries, and its corporate cards require UK residence.

Sells to
Financial institutions · Platforms and marketplaces · Enterprises · Small businesses
Serves customers in
United Kingdom

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Luc Gueriane Chief Executive Officer Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · moorwand.com ↗
Compliance / MLRO
Aaron O'Brien Head of Compliance and MLRO Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · moorwand.com ↗
Executive
John Vlassiou Chief Operating Officer Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Executive
Kevin Joe Friedrich Chief Commercial Officer Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Executive
Brian Joseph Lawlor Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Executive
Vicki Louise Gladstone Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Other

    The Court of Appeal allowed Moorwand's appeal in Moorwand Ltd v Hamblin and restored the trial judge's dismissal of an APP fraud derivative claim.

    ashurstperkinscoie.com ↗
  2. Other

    Tap Global Group announced that it was integrating Moorwand's Banking-as-a-Service platform to offer GBP and EUR accounts to its users.

    fintech.global ↗
  3. Leadership

    Moorwand appointed John Vlassiou, its Chief Operating Officer, to its board on 11 September 2025.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
  4. Other

    The High Court held that Moorwand had been put on inquiry and ordered it to restore GBP 160,000 to a fraud-linked customer account.

    judiciary.uk ↗
  5. Leadership

    Gareth Mahoney resigned as a director of Moorwand on 17 September 2024.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Licence no. · FCA-EMI
900709
Licence no. · FCA-EMI
900555
BIC
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
How the LEI was matched
Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives
Elucidate firm ID
b3f72930884f

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Main licence class
E-Money / Stored Value Institution
Activities
  • Payment services
  • E-money / stored value
Licensed in
United Kingdom · Europe & Central Asia
First registered
2018-04-13

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

Addresses

Address on the register
3 Lloyd's Avenue, London, EC3N 3DS
Country
United Kingdom

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

Identified by
Name and postal address, with its LEI
Postal address
Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line
<FinInstnId>
  <LEI>213800ORIMBSMAYOE591</LEI>
  <Nm>Moorwand Ltd</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>EC3N 3DS</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>London</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>GB</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>3 Lloyd's Avenue</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Register for this page

  • FCA Financial Services Register - E-Money Institutions—Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

Book a demo