- Directory
- United Kingdom
- Sgm- Foreign Exchange LTD
United Kingdom · Payments & e-money
Sgm- Foreign Exchange LTD
Legal name in the LEI recordSGM - FOREIGN EXCHANGE LIMITED
SGM - Foreign Exchange Limited is a private limited company registered in England and Wales, with its head office in the City of London. Since April 2025 the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) has authorised it as an electronic money institution, reference 1012490. Its founder and chairman, Humphrey Percy, holds 75% or more of its shares. Trading as SGM-FX, it offers deliverable spot and forward foreign exchange, international payments and e-money accounts to businesses and private clients.
Licences and registrations
Held by Sgm - Foreign Exchange Limited (LEI 2138002A94VOQHNXKL95). 2 entries on 2 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.
| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FCA Financial Services Register - E-Money InstitutionsFCALinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives. | Authorised E-Money InstitutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution | 1012490 | United Kingdom | Active | 2025-04-03 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
| FCA Financial Services Register - Payment Institutions & RAISPsFCALinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives. | Authorised Payment InstitutionPayment Institution | 510014 | United Kingdom | Cancelled - Authorised PI | — | Ended 2025-04-03 |
|
Search the register ↗ |
- Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
- Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
- Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
- The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
- BIC
- SGFXGB22XXX head office
- Connection to Swift
- Reverse billingThe institution is connected to Swift. Messages sent to it are billed to the institution, not to the sender. The “2” in the eighth character of SGFXGB22 marks reverse billing.
- Swift GPI
- Not on the member list
- Payment schemes and systems
- No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
- Branch codes
- None: head-office BIC only
- BIC first registered
- 2023-01-07
- Last updated
- 2023-01-07
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Ownership
Privately held
Firm type
FX and business payments
Trades as SGM-FX
- Standing
- On 3 April 2025 the FCA cancelled the firm's authorised payment institution permission (reference 510014). The same day it authorised the firm as an electronic money institution (reference 1012490).
- Ownership
- Humphrey Richard Percy, a director and the founder, controls the firm through a holding of 75% or more of its shares and voting rights.
- Major shareholder
- Humphrey Richard Percy
- Head office
- 41 Eastcheap, EC3M 1DT London, United Kingdom
- Company register
- Companies House 04529539
- Incorporated
- 9 Sep 2002
- Founder
- Humphrey Percy
- Former name
- LAWGRA (NO.976) LIMITED
Online
- Websites & references
- sgm-fx.com ↗
sgm.fxtradepad.co.uk ↗ client registration and online trading platform, linked from sgm-fx.com - Official social accounts
- LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗
Sources · 11 pages consulted
- find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/04529539
- find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/04529539/officers
- find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/04529539/persons-with-significant-control
- find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/04529539/filing-history
- find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/04529539/filing-history/MzU0MDIzMDg5NmFkaXF6a2N4/document?format=pdf&download=0
- sgm-fx.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/06/Consumer_Terms_and_Conditions.24.04.2025.pdf
- sgm-fx.com/terms-and-conditions/
- sgm-fx.com/why-sgm-fx/
- sgm-fx.com/contact/
- sgm-fx.com/why-sgm-fx/company-news/
- fca.org.uk/publication/foi/foi5424-information-provided.pdf
Authorisation
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Operates under
- Its own licences
The FCA authorises the firm as an electronic money institution under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011, reference 1012490. According to its terms, its spot and forward FX services are not regulated activities, so FCA protections do not apply to them.
| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Financial Conduct Authority United Kingdom | Authorised Electronic Money Institution | 1012490 | In its own name | Active | sgm-fx.com ↗ |
| Financial Conduct Authority United Kingdom | Authorised Payment Institution (cancelled 3 April 2025) | 510014 | In its own name | Withdrawn or expired | — |
Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.
Partners and safeguarding
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Safeguarding
- Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm states that it keeps customers' relevant funds separate from its own, in a safeguarding account at ClearBank, using the segregation method.
- Safeguarding bank
- ClearBank United Kingdom
- Payment schemes and card networks
- Faster Payments Access not stated sgm-fx.com ↗
CHAPS Access not stated sgm-fx.com ↗
Bacs Access not stated sgm-fx.com ↗
SEPA Credit Transfer Access not stated sgm-fx.com ↗
Swift Access not stated sgm-fx.com ↗
Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.
Products and markets
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
SGM-FX offers spot, forward, limit and OCO currency trades only for commercial, non-speculative purposes. It also offers international transfers, e-money accounts with a virtual IBAN and open-banking payment initiation. Each client has a dedicated account manager, and the firm does not sell cash.
The firm serves clients from London under its UK authorisation. Its 2026 accounts attribute almost all group turnover to the United Kingdom. Clients in the EU are served by its Maltese subsidiary, SGM Foreign Exchange Malta Limited.
- Revenue
- GBP 7.01m
- Sells to
- Small businesses · Consumers · Enterprises
- Serves customers in
- United Kingdom
Leadership
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Chief executive
- Mireille Percy Chief Executive Officer
- Chair
- Humphrey Richard Percy Chairman and Founder
- Compliance / MLRO
- Patrick McDonagh Money Laundering Reporting Officer
- Executive
- Jamie Pritchard Finance Manager and Director
- Executive
- Charles Porter ECS Department Manager and Director
- Executive
- William John Purdy Director
Recent events
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
-
Other
The firm capitalised EUR 586,000 owed to it by its subsidiary, SGM Foreign Exchange Malta Limited.
find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗ -
Leadership
The firm appointed William John Purdy and Constantine Thanassoulas as directors.
find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
Head-office record
- BIC
- SGFXGB22XXX
- How the BIC breaks down
- SGFXBank
- GBCountry · United Kingdom
- 22Location · reverse billing
- XXXBranch · head office
- Branch description
- Not recorded in the directory
- LEI
- 2138002A94VOQHNXKL95
- LEI record
- View on GLEIF ↗
- Licence no. · FCA-EMI
- 1012490
- Licence no. · FCA-PSD
- 510014
- How the LEI was matched
- BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entries: Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives.
- Register-entry ID
- 6e4ff6cd08b3
Profile
- Type
- Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
- Regulation
- Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
- Register licences
- 2 entries on 2 registers
- Activities
- Payment services
- E-money / stored value
- Licensed in
- United Kingdom
- Website (register)
- www.sgm-fx.com ↗
- Country · region
- United Kingdom · Europe & Central Asia
- Trading venues (MIC)
- No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
- OFAC sanctions
- No listing cites this BIC
- EU sanctions
- No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
- Country sanctions
- No country programme
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.
Addresses
- Registered address
- 41 EASTCHEAP FLOOR 1 41 EASTCHEAP LONDON EC3M 1DT UNITED KINGDOM
- Operational address
- 41 EASTCHEAP FLOOR 1 LONDON LONDON EC3M 1DT UNITED KINGDOM
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.
- Identified by
- BIC, with its LEI
- Roles in CBPR+
- Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents
CBPR+
For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>SGFXGB22XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>2138002A94VOQHNXKL95</LEI>
</FinInstnId>
Full record
Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>SGFXGB22XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>2138002A94VOQHNXKL95</LEI>
<Nm>SGM- FOREIGN EXCHANGE LTD</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<TwnNm>LONDON</TwnNm>
<Ctry>GB</Ctry>
<AdrLine>41 EASTCHEAP FLOOR 1 41 EASTCHEAP LONDON EC3M 1DT</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.
Claim this profile
Work at Sgm- Foreign Exchange LTD?
Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.
- 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
- 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
- 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.
Claim received
Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.
The claim was not sent. Try again, or email contact@elucidate.co.
Sources & method
Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.
Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.
Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Credits for this page
- FCA Financial Services Register - E-Money Institutions—Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- FCA Financial Services Register - Payment Institutions & RAISPs—Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
- Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: sgm-fx.com (official website).
Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC
A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.
Book a demo