United Kingdom · Payments & e-money

Smart Currency Exchange Limited

Smart Currency Exchange Limited is a private limited company registered in England and based in Hammersmith, London. The FCA authorises it as a payment institution under the Payment Services Regulations 2017. For customers in the EEA, CurrencyCloud B.V. provides e-money issuance and the related payment services. It belongs to Smart Currency Group Limited and is held through SCE Holdings Limited. Its founder and CEO, John Charles Fairbairn Purdy, is the ultimate controlling party. It sells spot and forward foreign exchange, market orders and regular overseas payment plans to private clients. It also serves businesses under the Smart Currency Business brand.

BICSCEHGB2LXXX LEI213800PL15V1KMS75V62 Licence no.504509 Connected to SwiftThis BIC is registered as a live address on the Swift network. The institution sends and receives Swift messages under SCEHGB2L directly. Head-office BIC only Claim this profile

Licences and registrations

Held by Smart Currency Exchange Limited (LEI 213800PL15V1KMS75V62). 2 entries on 2 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
FCA Financial Services Register - Payment Institutions & RAISPsFCALinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives. Authorised Payment InstitutionPayment Institution 504509 United Kingdom Active 2018-03-16 —
  • Payment services
Search the register ↗
HMRC MLR Supervised Business RegisterHMRCLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives. Money Service BusinessMoney Transmitter / Remittance XEML00000172628 United Kingdom Active 2022-04-01 —
  • Money remittance
Search the register ↗

Trading names on the register: Smart Currency Exchange (FCA-PSD, HMRC-MLR), Smart Currency Business (FCA-PSD, HMRC-MLR)

  • Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
  • The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

BIC
SCEHGB2LXXX head office
Connection to Swift
Connected to SwiftThis BIC is registered as a live address on the Swift network. The institution sends and receives Swift messages under SCEHGB2L directly.
Swift GPI
Not on the member list
Payment schemes and systems
No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
Branch codes
None: head-office BIC only
BIC first registered
2018-02-17
Last updated
2025-12-19

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

50,000

customers · This entity · 13 Apr 2026 · company statement ↗

Employees

144

headcount · Group · 28 Sep 2025 · annual report ↗

Ownership

Group subsidiary

100% SCE Holdings Limited

Firm type

FX and business payments

Trades as Smart Currency Exchange

Ownership
SCE Holdings Limited (Companies House 06366493) owns the firm and holds 75% or more of its shares and votes. The ultimate parent is Smart Currency Group Limited, and the ultimate controlling party is John Charles Fairbairn Purdy.
Direct parent
SCE Holdings Limited, United Kingdom 100%
Ultimate owner
Smart Currency Group Limited, United Kingdom
Head office
9th Floor, 1 Lyric Square, Hammersmith, W6 0NB London, United Kingdom
Company register
Companies House 05282305
Incorporated
10 Nov 2004
Founder
Charles Purdy

Online

Websites & references
smartcurrencyexchange.com ↗
smartcurrencybusiness.com ↗ corporate client brand site (Smart Currency Business)
smartcurrencypremier.com ↗ high-net-worth client brand site (Smart Currency Premier)
portal.smartcurrencyexchange.com ↗ client portal
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · Facebook ↗
Sources · 13 pages consulted
  1. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/05282305
  2. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/05282305/officers
  3. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/05282305/persons-with-significant-control
  4. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/05282305/filing-history
  5. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/05282305/filing-history/MzUyNTkyMzc4MmFkaXF6a2N4/document?format=pdf&download=0
  6. smartcurrencyexchange.com/
  7. smartcurrencyexchange.com/legal/
  8. smartcurrencyexchange.com/legal/safeguarding-funds/
  9. smartcurrencyexchange.com/legal/security/
  10. smartcurrencyexchange.com/legal/app-fraud/
  11. smartcurrencyexchange.com/about/meet-the-team/
  12. smartcurrencybusiness.com/about-us/
  13. fca.org.uk/news/warnings/smart-4ex-clone-authorised-firm

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Several models
Licensed firm it operates under
CurrencyCloud B.V., Netherlands issues e-money and provides the related payment services to the firm's EEA customers

The FCA authorises the firm as a payment institution under the Payment Services Regulations 2017 (FRN 504509). HMRC supervises it as a money service business. For EEA customers, CurrencyCloud B.V. provides the services under its authorisation from De Nederlandsche Bank as an electronic money institution. For US customers, Visa Global Services Inc. provides the payment services as a licensed money transmitter (NMLS ID 181032).

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Financial Conduct Authority United Kingdom Authorised Payment Institution 504509 In its own name Active smartcurrencyexchange.com ↗
HM Revenue & Customs United Kingdom Money Service Business (Money Transmitter / Remittance) XEML00000172628 In its own name Active —

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm says it holds client funds in a designated client account at Barclays Bank plc or Lloyds Bank plc, kept separate from its operating accounts. According to its 2025 accounts, GBP 9.5 million of client money was additionally covered by an insurance-backed safeguarding product.smartcurrencyexchange.com ↗
Safeguarding bank
Barclays Bank plc United Kingdom smartcurrencyexchange.com ↗
Safeguarding bank
Lloyds Bank plc United Kingdom smartcurrencyexchange.com ↗
Safeguarding bank · Partner
CurrencyCloud B.V. Netherlands smartcurrencyexchange.com ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
Faster Payments Access not stated smartcurrencyexchange.com ↗
CHAPS Access not stated smartcurrencyexchange.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • International money transfer
  • FX conversion
  • FX hedging

It arranges bank-to-bank currency transfers, forward contracts of up to 12 months, market orders and regular payment plans. Each client gets a dedicated account manager. It focuses on overseas property purchases, emigration and other large or recurring transfers, and it does not handle cash or travel money.

It serves mainly UK-based clients under its FCA authorisation and has offices on the Costa Blanca and the Costa del Sol in Spain. Services for EEA and US customers are provided by CurrencyCloud B.V. and Visa Global Services Inc. respectively.

Revenue
GBP 28.2mGroup · 28 Sep 2025 · annual report ↗
Sells to
Consumers · Small businesses · Enterprises
Serves customers in 2 countries
United Kingdom · Spain

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Charles Purdy Founder & CEO Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · smartcurrencyexchange.com ↗
Chief financial officer
Jonathan Andrews Jonathan Andrews Finance Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · smartcurrencybusiness.com ↗
Compliance / MLRO
Richard M'Crystal Richard M'Crystal Director of Risk and Compliance/MLRO; Company Secretary Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · smartcurrencybusiness.com ↗
Executive
Alex Bennett Alex Bennett Managing Director, Smart Currency Business; Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · smartcurrencybusiness.com ↗
Executive
Trevor Charnley Managing Director of Smart Currency Exchange Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · smartcurrencyexchange.com ↗
Executive
Jana Harris Director; Managing Director of Your Overseas Home Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

The research found no fines, investigations, security incidents, licence changes or corporate events from the last three years.

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Regulator warnings

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Impersonation Financial Conduct Authority, United Kingdom

    The FCA warned that an unauthorised entity called SMART 4EX was posing as the firm, using its reference number and details.

    fca.org.uk ↗

Entries on regulators’ consumer-warning lists that name the firm or its brand. An impersonation warning is about fraudsters posing as the firm, not about the firm itself.

Identifiers

Head-office record

BIC
SCEHGB2LXXX
How the BIC breaks down
  1. SCEHBank
  2. GBCountry · United Kingdom
  3. 2LLocation
  4. XXXBranch · head office
Branch description
Not recorded in the directory
LEI
213800PL15V1KMS75V62
LEI record
View on GLEIF ↗
Licence no. · FCA-PSD
504509
Licence no. · HMRC-MLR
XEML00000172628
How the LEI was matched
BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entries: Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives.
Register-entry ID
d864b9fbb02d

Profile

Type
Payments & e-money · Money service businessPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Register licences
2 entries on 2 registers
Activities
  • Payment services
  • Money remittance
Licensed in
United Kingdom
Country · region
United Kingdom · Europe & Central Asia
Trading venues (MIC)
No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
OFAC sanctions
No listing cites this BIC
EU sanctions
No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
Country sanctions
No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

Addresses

Registered address
1, LYRIC SQUARE, 9/ F LONDON W6 0NB UNITED KINGDOM
Operational address
1 LYRIC SQUARE FLOOR 9 LONDON LONDON W6 0NB UNITED KINGDOM

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

Identified by
BIC, with its LEI
Roles in CBPR+
Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents

CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>SCEHGB2LXXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>213800PL15V1KMS75V62</LEI>
</FinInstnId>

Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>SCEHGB2LXXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>213800PL15V1KMS75V62</LEI>
  <Nm>SMART CURRENCY EXCHANGE LIMITED</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <TwnNm>LONDON</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>GB</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>1, LYRIC SQUARE, 9/ F LONDON W6 0NB</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

Claim this profile

Work at Smart Currency Exchange Limited?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

  1. 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
  2. 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
  3. 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Claim received

Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Credits for this page

  • FCA Financial Services Register - Payment Institutions & RAISPs—Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • HMRC MLR Supervised Business Register—HM Revenue & Customs (HMRC) · register ↗ as at 24 September 2026
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
  • Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: smartcurrencyexchange.com (official website) · original; Jonathan Andrews: smartcurrencybusiness.com (official website) · original; Richard M'Crystal: smartcurrencybusiness.com (official website) · original; Alex Bennett: smartcurrencybusiness.com (official website) · original.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

Book a demo