United Kingdom · Payments & e-money

Spend Ltd.

Spend Ltd. is a private limited company registered in England and Wales and based in London. The FCA authorises it as an electronic money institution under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011, with firm reference number 931540. Since 6 January 2026 it has been owned by Metablock Ventures Ltd, a company incorporated in Bermuda. It offers multi-currency accounts, foreign exchange, cross-border payments and prepaid cards to SMEs, corporates and regulated financial institutions. It traded as Swipe International Ltd until it changed its name on 12 August 2025.

BICSWPIGB2LXXX LEI9845009A03BC77F2F852 Licence no.931540 Connected to SwiftThis BIC is registered as a live address on the Swift network. The institution sends and receives Swift messages under SWPIGB2L directly. Head-office BIC only Claim this profile

Licences and registrations

Held by Spend Ltd. (LEI 9845009A03BC77F2F852). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
FCA Financial Services Register - E-Money InstitutionsFCALinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives. Authorised E-Money InstitutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution 931540 United Kingdom Active 2021-07-22 —
  • Payment services
  • E-money / stored value
Search the register ↗
  • Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
  • The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

BIC
SWPIGB2LXXX head office
Connection to Swift
Connected to SwiftThis BIC is registered as a live address on the Swift network. The institution sends and receives Swift messages under SWPIGB2L directly.
Swift GPI
Not on the member list
Payment schemes and systems
No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
Branch codes
None: head-office BIC only
BIC first registered
2023-12-09
Last updated
2025-09-17

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

2

headcount · This entity · 30 Jun 2025 · annual report ↗

Ownership

Privately held

Metablock Ventures Ltd

Firm type

FX and business payments

Trades as Spend

Standing
The firm changed its name from Swipe International Ltd to Spend Ltd. on 12 August 2025. According to its accounts, Metablock Ventures Ltd of Bermuda acquired the firm on 6 January 2026.
Ownership
Metablock Ventures Ltd, a company incorporated in Bermuda under number 202302517, holds 75% or more of the shares, according to Companies House filings from 6 January 2026.
Direct parent
Metablock Ventures Ltd, Bermuda
Head office
142 Central Street, Clerkenwell, EC1V 8AR London, United Kingdom
Company register
Companies House 12590979
Incorporated
7 May 2020
Former name
SWIPE INTERNATIONAL LTD

Online

Websites & references
spend.co ↗
app.spend.co ↗ customer sign-up and sign-in platform
globalpayments.spend.co ↗ website named in the corporate terms as the account platform
Official social accounts
None found
Sources · 11 pages consulted
  1. spend.co/
  2. spend.co/company
  3. spend.co/corporate-terms
  4. spend.co/business-services
  5. spend.co/terms-conditions
  6. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/12590979
  7. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/12590979/officers
  8. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/12590979/persons-with-significant-control
  9. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/12590979/filing-history
  10. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/12590979/filing-history/MzUwODc4ODk3NGFkaXF6a2N4/document?format=pdf&download=0
  11. register.fca.org.uk/servlet/servlet.FileDownload?file=015b0000006CWmx

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The FCA authorises the firm as an electronic money institution under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011 and the Payment Services Regulations 2017. It issues its e-money accounts and its prepaid card in its own name.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Financial Conduct Authority United Kingdom Authorised Electronic Money Institution 931540 In its own name Active —

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm states that it holds customer funds in safeguarded bank accounts kept separate from its own funds. It does not name the safeguarding bank.spend.co ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
Faster Payments Access not stated spend.co ↗
BACS Access not stated spend.co ↗
CHAPS Access not stated spend.co ↗
SEPA Access not stated spend.co ↗
Swift Access not stated spend.co ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Multi currency accounts
  • International money transfer
  • FX conversion
  • Domestic payments
  • Prepaid cards
  • Payouts and mass payments

The firm describes its offer as cross-border payments and multi-currency accounts in more than 25 currencies. It says the accounts come with dedicated IBANs, a GBP e-money prepaid card and bulk payments.

Its corporate terms require business customers to be domiciled in the UK, and it sends payments to other countries.

Revenue
GBP 187,235This entity · 30 Jun 2025 · annual report ↗
Sells to
Small businesses · Enterprises · Financial institutions · Consumers
Serves customers in
United Kingdom

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Executive
William Brown Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Merger / acquisition

    Metablock Ventures Ltd, incorporated in Bermuda, acquired the firm from APSI Holdings Limited on 6 January 2026.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
  2. Other

    The firm changed its name from Swipe International Ltd to Spend Ltd. by special resolution.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
  3. Leadership

    Richard Anthony Lawson Braham resigned as a director on 28 April 2025, leaving William Brown as sole director.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Head-office record

BIC
SWPIGB2LXXX
How the BIC breaks down
  1. SWPIBank
  2. GBCountry · United Kingdom
  3. 2LLocation
  4. XXXBranch · head office
Branch description
Not recorded in the directory
LEI
9845009A03BC77F2F852
LEI record
View on GLEIF ↗
Licence no. · FCA-EMI
931540
How the LEI was matched
BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives.
Register-entry ID
66fe75997e95

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Register licences
1 entry on 1 register
Activities
  • Payment services
  • E-money / stored value
Licensed in
United Kingdom
Website (register)
spend.co ↗
Country · region
United Kingdom · Europe & Central Asia
Trading venues (MIC)
No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
OFAC sanctions
No listing cites this BIC
EU sanctions
No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
Country sanctions
No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

Addresses

Registered address
142 CENTRAL STREET LONDON EC1V 8AR UNITED KINGDOM
Operational address
142 CENTRAL STREET LONDON LONDON EC1V 8AR UNITED KINGDOM

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

Identified by
BIC, with its LEI
Roles in CBPR+
Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents

CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>SWPIGB2LXXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>9845009A03BC77F2F852</LEI>
</FinInstnId>

Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>SWPIGB2LXXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>9845009A03BC77F2F852</LEI>
  <Nm>SPEND LTD.</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <TwnNm>LONDON</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>GB</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>142 CENTRAL STREET LONDON EC1V 8AR</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

Claim this profile

Work at Spend Ltd.?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

  1. 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
  2. 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
  3. 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Claim received

Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Credits for this page

  • FCA Financial Services Register - E-Money Institutions—Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
  • Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: spend.co (official website).

Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

Book a demo