United Kingdom · Payments & e-money

Tor Currency Exchange Limited

Tor Currency Exchange Ltd is a private limited company registered in England and Wales, with its head office in Penzance, Cornwall. The FCA authorises it as an electronic money institution under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011, with firm reference number 900706. It trades as TorFX, and Redpin Holdings Limited holds 75% or more of its shares. It offers international money transfers, spot and forward currency contracts and multi-currency e-money wallets to private individuals and businesses.

Licences and registrations

Held by Tor Currency Exchange Limited (LEI 213800LLMJPC1Z7M9961). 3 entries on 3 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
FCA Financial Services Register - E-Money InstitutionsFCA Authorised E-Money InstitutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution 900706 United Kingdom Active 2018-03-23 —
  • Payment services
  • E-money / stored value
Search the register ↗
MSB Registrant SearchFinCEN —Money Transmitter / Remittance Not published by the register United States Active 2025-01-03 —
  • Money remittance
  • Currency exchange
  • Other money services
Search the register ↗
FCA Financial Services Register - Payment Institutions & RAISPsFCA Authorised Payment InstitutionPayment Institution 517320 United Kingdom Cancelled - Authorised PI — Ended 2017-06-16
  • Payment services
Search the register ↗

Trading names on the register: TorFX (FCA-EMI, FCA-PSD, FINCEN-MSB), Redpin (FCA-EMI, FCA-PSD)

  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

500,000

customers · Group · 29 Sep 2026 · company statement ↗

Employees

800

headcount · Group · 29 Sep 2026 · company statement ↗

Ownership

Group subsidiary

Redpin Holdings Limited

Firm type

FX and business payments

Trades as TorFX

Ownership
Redpin Holdings Limited holds 75% or more of the firm's shares, according to Companies House. Redpin's investors include Palamon Capital Partners, Corsair and Blackstone Tactical Opportunities.
Direct parent
Redpin Holdings Limited, United Kingdom
Head office
PZ360, St. Marys Terrace, TR18 4DZ Penzance, United Kingdom
Company register
Companies House 05193147
Incorporated
29 Jul 2004

Online

Websites & references
torfx.com ↗
news.torfx.com ↗ news site
blog.torfx.com ↗ blog
partner.torfx.com ↗ partner portal
online.torfx.com ↗ personal customer portal
business.torfx.com ↗ business customer portal
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · Facebook ↗
Sources · 10 pages consulted
  1. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/05193147
  2. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/05193147/officers
  3. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/05193147/persons-with-significant-control
  4. torfx.com/
  5. torfx.com/terms-and-conditions
  6. torfx.com/security-of-funds
  7. torfx.com/about-us
  8. redpincompany.com/media/redpin-launches-following-140m-backing-from-blackstone
  9. palamon.com/news/currencies-direct-relaunches-as-redpin
  10. fintechfutures.com/fintech/redpin-strengthens-leadership-team-with-key-additions

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The FCA authorises the firm as an electronic money institution under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011 (firm reference number 900706). Its earlier FCA authorisation as a payment institution was cancelled in June 2017. The firm's website states that its EU services are provided by Currencies Direct Spain, E.D.E., S.L. The Bank of Spain authorises that company as an electronic money institution (registration number 6716).

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Financial Conduct Authority United Kingdom Authorised Electronic Money Institution 900706 In its own name Active register.fca.org.uk ↗
Financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FinCEN) United States Money services business registration (money transmitter, currency exchange) — In its own name Active —
Financial Conduct Authority United Kingdom Authorised Payment Institution 517320 In its own name Withdrawn or expired —

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm states that it keeps relevant client funds in segregated client accounts, apart from its own funds, as the Electronic Money Regulations 2011 require. It states that deposits and margin calls on forward contracts are not safeguarded.torfx.com ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
Faster Payments Access not stated torfx.com ↗
CHAPS Access not stated torfx.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • International money transfer
  • FX conversion
  • FX hedging
  • Multi currency accounts
  • E-money wallet
  • Payouts and mass payments

The firm sells currency transfers through a personal account manager, online and through an app. These include spot, forward, limit and stop-loss orders, and forward contracts run for up to two years. According to its website, it sends payments to more than 120 countries in more than 40 currencies. Its main uses are overseas property purchases, emigration and business payments.

It serves UK customers under its FCA authorisation and has been registered with FinCEN as a money services business since January 2025. EU and EEA customers are served by its sister company Currencies Direct Spain, E.D.E., S.L.

Payment volume
GBP 10bnforeign exchange and international payments handled per year by the groupGroup · 29 Sep 2026 · company statement ↗
Sells to
Consumers · Small businesses · Enterprises
Serves customers in 2 countries
United Kingdom · United States
Latest funding round
Strategic investment (group level, Redpin Holdings Limited) · GBP 140m Nov 2023Led by Blackstone Tactical Opportunitiesredpincompany.com ↗

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Arnaud Loiseau Director (Chief Executive Officer of the Redpin group) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Executive
Elena Stefani Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Executive
Yoav Flam Director (Chief Technology Officer of the Redpin group) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Leadership

    Nigel Fox resigned as a director of the firm on 23 March 2026, after serving on its board since April 2009.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
  2. Leadership

    The firm appointed Yoav Flam, chief technology officer of the Redpin group, as a director on 27 October 2025.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
  3. Leadership

    Ruchi Arora resigned as a director on 2 July 2025, after being appointed in September 2024.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
  4. Leadership

    The firm appointed Elena Stefani as a director on 25 June 2025.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
  5. Leadership

    Neil Cooper resigned as a director on 6 May 2025 and ceased to be a person with significant control.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
  6. Leadership

    Tracy Jackson resigned as a director on 30 September 2024, after serving on the board since July 2008.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
  7. Funding

    The parent, Redpin Holdings Limited, announced a GBP 140 million strategic investment from Blackstone Tactical Opportunities and named Arnaud Loiseau as group CEO.

    redpincompany.com ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Licence no. · FCA-EMI
900706
Licence no. · FCA-PSD
517320
BIC
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
How the LEI was matched
Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives
Elucidate firm ID
937d577a1871
Merged register entry
9e010d031c43 · FINCEN-MSB

Profile

Type
Payments & e-money · Money service businessPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Main licence class
E-Money / Stored Value Institution
Activities
  • Payment services
  • E-money / stored value
Licensed in
United Kingdom · Europe & Central Asia
First registered
2018-03-23

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

Addresses

Address on the register
Pz360 St. Marys Terrace, Penzance, TR18 4DZ
Country
United Kingdom

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

Identified by
Name and postal address, with its LEI
Postal address
Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line
<FinInstnId>
  <LEI>213800LLMJPC1Z7M9961</LEI>
  <Nm>Tor Currency Exchange Limited</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>TR18 4DZ</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>Penzance</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>GB</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>Pz360 St. Marys Terrace</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Registers for this page

  • FCA Financial Services Register - E-Money Institutions—Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • MSB Registrant Search—Financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FinCEN) · source ↗ as at 24 September 2026
  • FCA Financial Services Register - Payment Institutions & RAISPs—Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

Book a demo