Singapore · Payments & e-money

Upbit Singapore PTE. LTD.

Upbit Singapore Pte. Ltd. is a private company incorporated in Singapore in 2018. It operates the Upbit Singapore digital asset exchange. The Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) licenses the firm as a major payment institution for digital payment token services, and the firm announced the licence in January 2024. Its LEI record names Upbit Global Pte. Ltd. of Singapore as its parent, which also holds the Upbit exchanges in Indonesia and Thailand. Dunamu Inc., the South Korean operator of Upbit, has described its ties to the overseas Upbit operators as a partnership without an equity stake.

Licences and registrations

Held by Upbit Singapore PTE. LTD. (LEI 984500A15B9A7757B780). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
MAS Financial Institutions Directory - Major Payment InstitutionMonetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) Major Payment InstitutionPayment Institution Not published by the register Singapore Active — —
  • Payment services
  • Crypto-assets
Search the register ↗
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

100% UPBIT GLOBAL PTE. LTD.

Firm type

Crypto exchange or broker

Trades as Upbit Singapore

Ownership
The firm's LEI record names Upbit Global Pte. Ltd. of Singapore as its direct and ultimate parent, and the firm's January 2024 announcement described it as wholly owned by Upbit APAC Pte. Ltd.
Direct parent
UPBIT GLOBAL PTE. LTD. ↗, Singapore 100%
Major shareholder
UPBIT GLOBAL PTE. LTD. (described as Upbit APAC Pte. Ltd. in January 2024) 100% · 8 Jan 2024
Head office
1 HarbourFront Avenue, #16-02 Keppel Bay Tower, 098632 Singapore, Singapore
Company register
ACRA UEN 201806395D
Incorporated
2018
Founder
Alex Kim

Online

Websites & references
sg.upbit.com ↗ did not load when checked
Wikipedia ↗ group article
Official social accounts
None found
Sources · 7 pages consulted
  1. eservices.mas.gov.sg/fid/institution/detail/420457-UPBIT-SINGAPORE-PTE-LTD
  2. prnewswire.com/apac/news-releases/upbit-singapore-receives-mpi-licence-from-the-mas-302026978.html
  3. prnewswire.com/apac/news-releases/upbit-singapore-secures-in-principle-approval-from-the-mas-301954702.h
  4. finance.biggo.com/news/bskKQp0BrdTHlKtCXL_p
  5. theblock.co/post/271126/upbit-singapore-wins-full-digital-asset-license-mas
  6. digitaltoday.co.kr/en/view/78579/naver-financial-dunamu-share-swap-delayed-again-to-year-end
  7. en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Upbit

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

MAS licenses the firm under the Payment Services Act 2019 as a major payment institution for digital payment token services. MAS granted in-principle approval in October 2023 and the full licence in January 2024.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Monetary Authority of Singapore Singapore Major Payment Institution (Digital Payment Token Service) — In its own name Active eservices.mas.gov.sg ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Not disclosedThe firm's own safeguarding arrangements for customer money and tokens could not be confirmed from its published documents.
Crypto-asset custody
Not disclosedThe firm offers spot trading of digital payment tokens. Its custody arrangements could not be confirmed from its own documents.

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Crypto trading
  • Crypto on- and off-ramp
  • Crypto custody

The firm runs a spot exchange for digital payment tokens, with Singapore dollar deposits and withdrawals via PayNow and FAST. The firm says it serves retail and institutional clients.

The firm serves customers in Singapore under its MAS licence.

Sells to
Consumers · Enterprises
Serves customers in
Singapore

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Other

    Dunamu disclosed at its shareholder meeting that it holds bonds with warrants in Upbit Global, the firm's parent company.

    finance.biggo.com ↗
  2. Licence

    MAS granted the firm a major payment institution licence for digital payment token services.

    prnewswire.com ↗
  3. Licence

    MAS granted the firm in-principle approval for a major payment institution licence.

    prnewswire.com ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

BIC
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
How the LEI was matched
Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address
Elucidate firm ID
09fe20194c11

Profile

Type
Payments & e-money · CryptoPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Main licence class
Payment Institution
Activities
  • Payment services
  • Crypto-assets
Licensed in
Singapore · East Asia & Pacific
First registered
Not published

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

Direct parent
Upbit Global Pte. Ltd. · Singapore9845000A5FC5DBD96675 ↗

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

Addresses

Address on the register
1, HARBOURFRONT AVENUE #16-02 KEPPEL BAY TOWER 098632, Singapore, 098632
Country
Singapore

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

Identified by
Name and postal address, with its LEI
Postal address
Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in two address lines
<FinInstnId>
  <LEI>984500A15B9A7757B780</LEI>
  <Nm>UPBIT SINGAPORE PTE. LTD.</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>098632</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>Singapore</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>SG</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>1, HARBOURFRONT AVENUE #16-02</AdrLine>
    <AdrLine>KEPPEL BAY TOWER 098632</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
  • The address line repeats the town or postcode. Remove the repeat if your payment system rejects it.

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Register for this page

  • MAS Financial Institutions Directory - Major Payment Institution—Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

Book a demo