Cyprus · Payments & e-money
Appla Trading LTD
Appla Trading Ltd is a Cypriot limited company with its office in Larnaca. The Central Bank of Cyprus (CBC) authorises it as a payment institution under licence number 115.1.2.37. It trades as "Appla Payment Institution" and under the appla-x brand. It offers businesses multi-currency accounts with dedicated IBANs, currency exchange, domestic and international payments and a merchant payment gateway. It credits Marshall Jablon as its founder and chief executive.
Licences and registrations
Held by Appla Trading LTD (LEI 9845005AYAEHC6M97507). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.
| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EBA PSD2 RegisterCentral Bank of CyprusLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. | Payment institutionPayment Institution | 115.1.2.37 | Cyprus | Active | 2023-01-27 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
Trading names on the register: APPLA PAYMENT INSTITUTION (EBA-PSD2)
- Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
- Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
- Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
- The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
- BIC
- APTDCY22XXX head office
- Connection to Swift
- Reverse billingThe institution is connected to Swift. Messages sent to it are billed to the institution, not to the sender. The “2” in the eighth character of APTDCY22 marks reverse billing.
- Swift GPI
- Not on the member list
- Payment schemes and systems
- No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
- Branch codes
- None: head-office BIC only
- BIC first registered
- 2025-03-01
- Last updated
- 2025-03-01
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Customers
Not published
Employees
Not published
Ownership
Not published
Firm type
FX and business payments
Trades as appla-x (Appla Payment Institution)
- Head office
- Hana Residence, Office 102, Pavlou Valdaseridi 6, 6018 Larnaca, Cyprus (registered office: Archiepiskopou Makariou III, 82, 1st floor, Mesa Geitonia, 4003 Limassol, Cyprus)
- Founder
- Marshall Jablon
Online
- Websites & references
- appla-x.com ↗
account.appla-x.com ↗ client account registration and login portal - Official social accounts
- LinkedIn ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗
Sources · 11 pages consulted
- lb.lt/en/sfi-financial-market-participants/appla-trading-ltd
- uzraudziba.bank.lv/en/market/payment-service-providers/payment-institutions/service-providers-from-the-eea/f
- bportugal.pt/en/entidadeautorizada/appla-trading-ltd
- appla-x.com/
- appla-x.com/terms-conditions/
- appla-x.com/regulation-compliance/
- appla-x.com/about/
- appla-x.com/leadership/
- appla-x.com/services/
- appla-x.com/partnerships/
- centralbank.cy/en/licensing-supervision/payment-institutions-and-electronic-money-institutions/registers
Authorisation
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Operates under
- Its own licences
The CBC authorises the firm as a payment institution under licence number 115.1.2.37. The Bank of Lithuania register lists it as providing services without a branch in 30 other member states.
| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Central Bank of Cyprus Cyprus | Payment Institution | 115.1.2.37 | In its own name | Active | appla-x.com ↗ |
| Bank of Lithuania Lithuania | Payment institution of an EU Member State providing services in the Republic of Lithuania without a branch | 104022690 | Exemption | Active | lb.lt ↗ |
Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.
Partners and safeguarding
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Safeguarding
- Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm states that it holds client funds in segregated accounts with authorised credit institutions or safeguarding institutions, separate from its own funds.
- Payment schemes and card networks
- Mastercard Direct appla-x.com ↗
Visa Access not stated appla-x.com ↗
SEPA Credit Transfer Access not stated appla-x.com ↗
Swift Access not stated
Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.
Products and markets
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
It serves businesses that trade across borders, with IBAN accounts, conversion between currencies such as EUR, USD, GBP, AED and CHF, payouts and online card acceptance.
It serves clients from Cyprus and has notified cross-border services to other EEA states under its Cypriot licence.
- Sells to
- Small businesses · Enterprises
- Serves customers in 4 countries
- Cyprus · Lithuania · Latvia · Portugal
Leadership
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Chief executive
- Marshall Jablon Founder & CEO
- Executive
- Yiota Panayiotou Executive Director & Managing Director
Recent events
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
-
Leadership
Yiota Panayiotou, formerly the firm's Compliance and AML Officer, became Executive Director and Managing Director.
appla-x.com ↗ -
Licence
The firm started cross-border payment services under its Cypriot licence in Portugal and Latvia, according to their central banks' registers.
bportugal.pt ↗
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
Head-office record
- BIC
- APTDCY22XXX
- How the BIC breaks down
- APTDBank
- CYCountry · Cyprus
- 22Location · reverse billing
- XXXBranch · head office
- Branch description
- Not recorded in the directory
- LEI
- 9845005AYAEHC6M97507
- LEI record
- View on GLEIF ↗
- Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
- 115.1.2.37
- How the LEI was matched
- BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address.
- Register-entry ID
- 024f048a1971
- National bank code
- Bank identifier 923
Profile
- Type
- Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
- Regulation
- Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
- Register licences
- 1 entry on 1 register
- Activities
- Payment services
- Card acquiring
- Licensed in
- Cyprus
- Country · region
- Cyprus · Europe & Central Asia
- Banking supervision
- Not on the ECB's list of supervised entities as of 2026-07-01
- Trading venues (MIC)
- No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
- OFAC sanctions
- No listing cites this BIC
- EU sanctions
- No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
- Country sanctions
- No country programme
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.
Addresses
- Registered address
- 82 ARCHIEPISKOPOU MAKARIOU III MESA GEITONIA FLOOR 1 LIMASSOL (LEMESOS) 4003 CYPRUS
- Operational address
- PINE TREE VIEW FLOOR 1 10 KOSTI PALAMA OFFICE 101 LARNACA 6016 LARNACA CYPRUS
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.
- Identified by
- BIC, with its LEI
- Roles in CBPR+
- Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents
CBPR+
For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>APTDCY22XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>9845005AYAEHC6M97507</LEI>
</FinInstnId>
Full record
Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>APTDCY22XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>9845005AYAEHC6M97507</LEI>
<Nm>APPLA TRADING LTD</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<Ctry>CY</Ctry>
<AdrLine>82 ARCHIEPISKOPOU MAKARIOU III MESA GEITONIA FLOOR 1 LIMASSOL</AdrLine>
<AdrLine>(LEMESOS) 4003</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
Swift’s two address fields do not agree on a town, so the full record gives the address as address lines only.
The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.
National bank codes
Bank identifier · Cyprus
1 code file of 2026-09
| Code | Routes to BIC | Name in the national file |
|---|---|---|
| 923 | APTDCY22 | APPLA TRADING LTD |
Each code shows the name in the national file. Smaller banks often route through a central institution’s BIC. A code can therefore belong to a different bank than the one on this page.
Claim this profile
Work at Appla Trading LTD?
Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.
- 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
- 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
- 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.
Claim received
Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.
The claim was not sent. Try again, or email contact@elucidate.co.
Sources & method
Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.
Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.
Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Credits for this page
- National bank codes—Cyprus (Source: Central Bank of Cyprus).
- EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC
A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.
Book a demo